We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fine little hotel . . . with a too soft bed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Meriden
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Stayed one night as Hilton HHonors platinum. Hotel was clean and tidy, very nice staff. The room renovations are great, especially for business travelers. My one complaint was the mattress. Extremely soft. Could not have slept on it for more than one night. If you need a firm mattress, ask when booking here. I expect some of the rooms have newer bedding. Still, given the overall experience, this was a fine property.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled on business
Thank MizLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 549 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2009

I have stayed here before and enjoyed my stay. Now that the renovations are complete, this is definitely the place to stay if you are in Meriden. The rooms are a little on the small side but they are nicely decorated and have comfy beds and are kept very clean. The bathroom has a granite countertop and plenty of toiletries. The breakfast has a good selection of hot and cold items. The 24 hour coffee/tea service and complimentary newspapers are all nice plusses. The heater/AC unit is a little on the noisy side.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kishsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

Just like most Hamptons, this hotel is very nice. The hotel is going through a major renovation due to the Hampton hotel chain creating a new prototype for their rooms. The renovated rooms have cherry wood furniture (desk, closet, chest of drawers). Of course you have the free breakfast, so that's definitely a plus. About the only thing that would make the room better is a flat screen tv, as the hotel hasn't quite caught up with the times in that regard.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank gatorchomp31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

I recently threw my best friend a bridal shower at the hotel. We also stayed there for the weekend. The sales director and other staff were so helpful, as I was planning the shower from Florida!. Everyone that I dealt with went above and beyond. The space was perfect for the shower and the room was so comfortable. I would definitely stay there again if ever I am in the area.

Stayed: July 2008
Thank Mandie9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2008

We stayed here while looking at Wesleyan College. I really enjoy Hampton Inns and this was no exception. They have great beds, free internet, a nice breakfast, hot beverages anytime you want them - all lovely perks. Sometimes, after a long day, the best surprise is no surprise, and this Hampton Inn is no exception, and that makes it exceptional!!!

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2007

I stay at this property fairly often and am always satisfied. The staff is very pleasant and the breakfast is excelent. Management is readilly available to speak to travelers. The rooms are consistantly clean, although the heating/air conditioning units vary from room to room, some better than others (not a huge deal, however). Highly recomended.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Brendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

This is a very average Hampton Inn. As a Hampton Inn fan that is not a bad thing. It shows some wear but is friendly and well run. It is convenient to the highway and has numerous restaurants within a short drive.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Historiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meriden hotels
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Meriden

Address: 10 Bee St, Meriden, CT 06450-4732 (Formerly Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: $66 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Meriden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience all that Meriden has to offer! The pet-friendly, family-friendly Red Roof Inn Meriden is located just off I-91 and is within 3 miles of the Meriden Amtrak Station. Also within walking distance is U.S. Army National Guard Recruiting. There is a lot to do and see here in Meriden such as golfing at Hunter Memorial Golf Course, taking a scenic walk at Giuffrida park, seeing the waterfall and Castle Craig at Hubbard Park or visiting nearby college campuses such as Wesleyan University, Quinnipiac University and Yale University! We welcome you to come stay with us at Red Roof Inn Meriden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Meriden Hotel Meriden
Meriden Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing