We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but smelly room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Meriden
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed one night on our way from DC to Maine. Front desk staff was very helpful but our room smelled musty and more. Room was a little dated and can use updating but still didn't have to smell like it wasn't cleaned in months. If you are sensitive to smell this place is not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 547 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Daily changes not only of linens but of the covers of the duvets covering the beds was an extra nicety. The remainder of our expectations were met or exceeded. Breakfast was fairly routine and the area was well attended and cleaned as needed.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Below average for Hampton Inns that we'd stayed at previously, but overall much better than other discount motel chains. Breakfast area was very small, no guest laundry, room A/C and fridge a bit noisy. The room was alos a bit musty-smelling. Beds clean and comfortable, and friendly/helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Lawrence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Needed overnight accomendations for a softball and got a room on short notice. According to the website, it was recently renovated and it showed. Room was clean and comfortable. Free breakfast was a perk!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice location, the most friendly staff!! Problems are that the even numbered rooms face the Interstate and are noisey at night. The breakfasts could be much better! They rotate the same meals every other day - while the day with sausage and cheese omlettes is great, the day with the western omlettes and horrible home fries is the pits!! The "fresh" fruit bowl is actually from a bag of frozen fruit and tastes like the bag!! The pastry, muffins, bagels and everything else are quite good as is the coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank talon6904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The rooms and the cleaniness of the hotel is very well kept. The staff treat you as if you are family instead of a guest. Remember faces - if not names - and always greet me with a welcoming smile. I have enjoyed my stay here and continue to be a repeat customer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Felisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

The tiny lobby that doubled for the breakfast/coffee area took me aback upon first checking in. While Both the bedroom and bathroom, were extremely small they were very well designed and every inch was used to aid comfort. They were also very clean. However. more than a day or 2 would not have worked very well. The closet, rather a large wardrobe with only 5 hangers was tight at best. My bed was very comfortable, however my husband complained that the side of his was worn or broken and he rolled towards the middle all night. The breakfast was typical motel fare. However the breakfast service and seating areas were tiny with people jockeying around to avoid bunking into one another. The price tag for this @ 152.00 in Meriden Ct. was, I feel a bit steep.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Louis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
3.1 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Meriden

Address: 10 Bee St, Meriden, CT 06450-4732 (Formerly Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: $66 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof Inn Meriden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience all that Meriden has to offer! The pet-friendly, family-friendly Red Roof Inn Meriden is located just off I-91 and is within 3 miles of the Meriden Amtrak Station. Also within walking distance is U.S. Army National Guard Recruiting. There is a lot to do and see here in Meriden such as golfing at Hunter Memorial Golf Course, taking a scenic walk at Giuffrida park, seeing the waterfall and Castle Craig at Hubbard Park or visiting nearby college campuses such as Wesleyan University, Quinnipiac University and Yale University! We welcome you to come stay with us at Red Roof Inn Meriden! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof Inn Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Meriden Hotel Meriden
Meriden Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing