We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
Randolph, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Good Location”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed on our way to and from NYC, Very nice, clean enough, Friendly front desk, good breakfast. Walls seemed a little thin, we were in rm 211, but really not loud enough to be a problem. Could use another business computer in the lobby but otherwise a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demerwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Demerwl:

Thank you so much for posting your experience about your stay at The Hampton Inn Meriden-Wallingford. We are a great stopping point on the way to and from NYC, with our location right off the highway it makes it an easy stop. Breakfast is an important meal and I'm delighted to hear ours lived up to your expectation. I'm sorry our walls seemed a little thin, but glad it wasn't a huge impact on your overall experience. Thank you again for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

My best,

Laura Arneson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    170
    78
    31
    9
See reviews for
181
94
43
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Location can't be beat, just off I-91 and Merritt Parkway. Property is well maintained.

Check-in was wonderful. I'd arrived very early, around 11:30, and didn't expect to be able to check-in but they accommodated me. I had a king bed which, apparently, is the quiet side of the hotel. I had no problem with noise, internal or external, and I'm sensitive to that. Room was well appointed, typical Hampton, but not worn at all and had a modern HD flat screen TV with cable. Bathroom was small but otherwise OK.

I stayed using Hilton Honors points. Usually, Hilton properties undervalue the points relative to Marriott but this location was an excellent value, whether using points or paying cash.

Overall, I was pleased with the property and would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillygwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Level Contributor
151 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

It's hard to beat the free morning breakfast offered at the Hampton Inns, but this one went well beyond the norm and not only offered a hot breakfast, but friendly service also. This hotel is easy to get to. The only downside was the lack of close quality resturants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al168Trenton_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed at the Hampton Inn, Meriden, during a business trip. The property is well maintained and clean. The carpets, furniture and electronics were in excellent condition and clearly up to date. I will gladly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Knowing this hotel is adjacent to a noisy highway, I requested a quiet room. But I didn't think to note that I didn't care if the room had a king bed or two beds. Little did I know that all of the rooms with 2 beds are on the highway (VERY noisy) side of the hotel. And the quiet side has all king beds.

When I called that afternoon to double check on the room, I found that the only room left was "noisy" side. The clerk was pleasant enough, but tried to convince me that the top floor room would be quiet, since the highway noise faded out at that height. Seemed a bit fishy to me, having stayed in far too many highway hotels. I should have cancelled then and there and found another hotel.

I took a chance. Arrived and found the room was incredibly noisy and also seemed to be full of some sort of horrible air freshener covering up what was obviously a room that had been full of smoke. Again, I realize this happens, but I couldn't stay in that room. The young man at the desk was very understanding and patient. He found the phone number of another nearby Hampton for me, but it was full too.

As a last resort, he moved me to a room on the first floor. Fortunately no smoke, no air freshener and even though it was on the highway side, it was marginally quieter. Running the bathroom fan was enough to drown out some of the highway noise.

The hotel has been renovated in the past few years, the rooms are quite nice, clean and up to date. I certainly would stay here again, if I could be guaranteed a room away from the highway.

Room Tip: Call ahead and make sure your room is away from the highway!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ldygrdnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Free breakfast, great location to the highway and no noise. I love that they wash the comforters. Unfortunately they use a frangrance in the room that is so overwhelming and wreaks havoc with my allergies. I had to chase a cleaning lady down everyday to ask her not to use it in my room because the desk staff doesn't remember to tell them and there's a different cleaning lady everyday. I would have rated them higher if it wasn't for that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinnie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have stayed here several times and can report a consistent experience; quiet, clean rooms, decent breakfast and good service. Will always be my 'go-to' hotel in this area. I try and use Hampton Inn's whenever I can and this certainly meets expectations

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VT4Me2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford

Property: Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
Address: 10 Bee St, Meriden, CT 06450-4732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Hotel Meriden - Wallingford is a 100% renovated, new boutique style, Hilton brand hotel - located at a convenient mid-Connecticut crossroads near Middletown, Wesleyan University, Cromwell, Cheshire, New Haven, North Haven and Hartford. Also near Quinnipiac University in Hamden. We deliver a consistent, reliable and great value experience for any length of stay. We pride ourselves on our sense of community, environmental awareness, local flair and flexibility with travel needs. WELCOME! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Meriden Hotel Meriden
Meriden Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing