We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not THAT bad”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Reviewed November 11, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as part of a weekend convention - we did not choose the hotel and were not responsible for making the travel arrangements. Based on other traveller's reviews, we were a bit worried, but we needn't have been. The hotel does appear to have been recently renovated. The lobby looked very inviting and there is a restaurant/bar attached to the hotel. The rooms were pleasantly decorated in mostly neutral colors. All I would say is that the bathroom's renovation, if it was ever done, was slightly less than perfect -it appeared that they might have cut some corners on the bathrooms as the floor tiles were badly chipped in some areas. Also, that was the first time in a long time that I have seen acoustic tiles in a bathroom, and the ones near the shower head were in need of replacement. But - it wasn't GROSS, it was just a bit worn looking. The shower itself was pleasant and the water was always hot when needed. The hotel supplies hair dryers in the bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable - no complaints there.
The staff were all very pleasant and willing to accommodate us, and the food served to us all weekend was very good. Room services is available but we did not use it. The air conditioning in the room was adequate and not too noisy (even though it was November, it was needed as the bathrooms are not vented outside). We didn't use the pool or the workout room so we cannot comment on them.
The hotel is located in a research park/light industrial area not too far from the highway, and we did not have any trouble locating it. There are signs which clearly point out the direction of the hotel along the main road. Parking is self-parking and we did not feel that we were in an unsafe area.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDDNOSMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 275 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2008

Worst 3 night stay I have ever experienced. This hotel is NOT newly renovated as touted on their website. Carpets in the hallway and room were very dirty and bathroom ceiling stained. Room looked very worn and tired generally. It is badly in need of renovating and updating. Only redeeming point was the bed which was reasonably comfortable. I will not be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank fcad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

This hotel was awful. The first room had a hole in the wall and then had a burn hole in the comforter. Dirty!!! The staff was rude. I asked for a new room and was given a room where the remote did not work. I was very upset. STAY AWAY

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ryanlakeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2008

We are a large party that checked into the hotel for a wedding. The hotel was about a mile off the highway. However, it had a very small sign in front of the driveway (maybe 1.5 feet across) that was lit, and a larger sign on the corner that wasn’t lit, so be sure to keep your eyes open if you arrive after dark. The hotel had a portico and ample parking. Check-in and check-out were very smooth. The lobby is spacious with a gas fireplace to greet visitors.

My parents, my husband, our 3 month old baby, and I requested 2 adjoining rooms. My parents ended up with 2 double beds (#304) and we got a queen sized room (#306) that was outfitted for a handicapped occupant (we weren’t). The room was spacious, but the bathroom didn’t have a counter and the closet was at the level of a wheelchair, so we couldn’t hang dresses or long coats. The room looked exactly like the photos on the hotel’s website. Everything was relatively clean. We requested a crib for our 3 month old, and it was delivered promptly and with a sheet and blanket.

The bedroom came with a TV (not flat screen, but w/ all the usual cable channels), dresser, desk, chair (lounge, not desk chair), footrest, and bed. There was a coffee maker with both in room cups as well as paper travel cups. The hotel gave us one complimentary bottle of water. The bathroom contained toiletries from Caswell-Massey in verbena scent. The shower had an extended rod for comfort. Our room was quiet – no traffic sounds or elevator noise, despite being near the elevator.

The hotel has free wireless internet. It was a bit slower than we are accustomed to, but otherwise was easy to use. There was a working ice machine on our floor. The hotel had a pool, which some members of our party enjoyed.

We visited the hotel’s restaurant for a beer after dinner. There was a moderately lively karaoke scene, with a bent towards country music. The choice of beer was excellent. We went on Sunday morning for brunch, but weren’t impressed by the buffet. Try instead a restaurant called Huxley’s Bookstore Café about a mile away – the food was excellent all around. There are also gas stations, a Dunkin Donuts, and other restaurants within 2 miles of the hotel.

Note: the elevator inspection document was registered to Ramada. Guess Sheraton bought this hotel from Ramada at some point within the last inspection period.

Things we didn’t like:
- There was a very moldy drop ceiling tile above our shower. Supposedly the rooms were renovated – why couldn’t they replace this?
- The heater in the bedrooms was a wall unit and was absolutely sweltering. Everyone in our party (5 rooms) had to turn the heat off. This was in Feb during ~20 degree Fahrenheit weather overnight. The fan in the heater was a bit noisy as well.
- The beds in several of our rooms caved towards the middle.
- The shower in our room had luke-warm water, not hot, despite putting the valve to the hottest setting.

Overall, this hotel was decent but not very exciting. We wouldn’t object to staying here again, but would definitely look around to see if there is anything more exciting in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tangek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

I was attending a wedding near-by and this is the hotel that the bride/groom booked for out-of town guests. It was a horrible experience! We arrived promptly at check-in time but had to wait in the lobby for almost 2 hours because the clerk said our rooms were not ready. We pleaded with the desk clerks explaining that we needed to get into our rooms as the wedding was starting shortly and we needed to get ready. They could care less and were extremely rude. I tried to speak with the manager but was told there was no manager on duty (yeah, right!!). I would definitely NOT reccomend this hotel to anyone...In addition to the incompetent staff, the carpets were filthy and the rooms were not as nice as they look in the pictures.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank deedee725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2006

I travel to CT for work and was excited to find this hotel. This hotel might look new outside and in the lobby but the rooms are a huge disappointment. The a/c, heater unit is below the window and is very very noisy and inconsistent. I had to turn it off to get a quiet nights sleep. As a platinum Starwood guest if my room was an upgrade I'd hate to see a regular guest room. The bathroom was not exceptionally clean or big. The shower head sprayed water everywhere. The tub was stained and did not drain the water. The towels were not soft. The room decor is outdated and tired looking. The bed was adequate and the staff is nice. The TV like most Sheratons has limited channels. I ordered room service and was disappointed in the food quality, quantity and especially the presentation. For well over $100 a night this hotel is a very poor value.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fdipace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2005

I was expecting a middle of the road hotel and that's what I got. The Lobby area was large, and largely empty of furniture and decoration - looked bare. So I had low expectations when going to my room. But the room was comfortable and well appointed, clean and organized - with a cozy bed and fine bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CincyOHTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
3.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
0.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
2.6 mi away
Courtyard New Haven Wallingford
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Meriden
Red Roof Inn Meriden
#1 of 10 in Meriden
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Meriden

Address: 275 Research Pkwy, Meriden, CT 06450-8300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: $95 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Four Points by Sheraton Meriden is centrally located at the crossroads of Connecticut; we're in the middle of one of the fastest growing industrial parks in the state. Quinnipiac University, Yale University, Wesleyan University, Gouveia Vineyards, and the Chevrolet (Oakdale) Theater are all a short drive away. Meriden Connecticut is a great place to visit in the summer with Historic Hubbard Park and Mirror Lake close by. Lake Compounce Theme Park is a short drive away offering plenty of family friendly activities including the Anchor Bay Water Park. In the mood for some golf? Check out the nearby TPC River Highlands in Cromwell, Connecticut. Talk about cozy. Come and relax in our comfortable guest rooms featuring the Four Points by Sheraton Four Comfort Beds, 27" televisions featuring cable, free wireless internet, individual climate control, radio/alarm clock, coffee maker and room service! In addition all guests can enjoy, our Business Center, Free parking, our luxurious, heated indoor pool, exercise room/facilities and our 100% smoke-free environment. Planning a meeting or event? We offer 18 different meeting space venues as well as audio/visual equipment and Technicians! Hang out in our newly-opened Silver City Sports Bar and Grille. Catch the game on one of 14 large or plasma screen TVs. Personal table speakers will make sure you don't miss a minute of the action. Gather your friends and family and join in the fun while enjoying a tasty treat from the family-friendly menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points Meriden
Four Points Meriden Hotel Meriden
Meriden Four Points

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing