We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steamed Cheeseburgers”

K LaMay's Steamed Cheeseburgers
Ranked #5 of 138 Restaurants in Meriden
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Athens, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Steamed Cheeseburgers”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

After having eaten at Teds for many years I tried K LaMay's burger and now have a new favorite steamed cheeseburger. The burgers at K LaMay's are a little larger than many other steamed cheeseburgers and the I also found that the cheese was more flavorful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    22
    11
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steamed Cheeseburger Heaven”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've been here twice this month. Delicious cheeseburger- dripping with melted cheese. Fast friendly service. For a quick burger- Can't go wrong here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great steamed cheeseburgers, no restrooms”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Meriden is the center of the cheeseburger universe and this place is a standout. The owner learned his craft at his current competitor, Teds. He's learned a lot because he's giving his guru a run for his money. K Lamay won Connecticut magazines best burger award recently and it's well deserved.
Make sure you use McDonalds restroom down the street before you get here because they don't have public restrooms.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rambomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“She screamed, “Oh, this is good!!!””
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stopped by after picking fruit at Lyman Orchard in Middlefield - - it is only about a 15 minute drive away. We have heard about the steamed cheeseburgers for awhile now. When I did a search, I found 2 different burger joints both in Meriden - - Ted’s Restaurant and this one K LaMay’s. Ted’s was on a couple of Food Network/Travel Network Shows. But for some reason, we choose K LaMay’s. When we showed up we saw the sign that said “Voted by Connecticut Magazine as the best burgers in the State.” OK, I’m feeling great. When we walked in, I saw 4 tables w/6 chairs and 3 bar chairs at the counter with two workers standing behind the counter. All I could think of is - - boy did I make a mistake. But we were here and the Magazine said they were the best - - so why not. We ordered 3 Cheeseburgers, one hamburger, and some chicken nuggets for my grandson. As I was waiting for the burgers to come out, I saw the sign “No Public Restrooms”. Not a good sign when you are on Lasix to help you get rid of the excess water in your body. Again I thought - - boy did I make a mistake.

After about 10 minutes, the 1st cheeseburger came out. All I know is that our 34 year old daughter yells out, “Oh, this is good!!! I don’t think I can go back to a regular burger again.” Our 35 year old bites hers and says, “Damn, Jen. You’re right, this $h!t is good.” And my wife agreed. I had the regular burger - - nice and tasty. They are a bit large - - about 1/3 of a pound to order accordingly. I think the cheeseburgers are better than the regular burgers. My kids thought that it was the cheese that really won them over. In fact, they sell their cheese in a small refrigerator on the side. All I know is that my 34 year old daughter is going to have a long commute to buy these burgers because she lives in North Carolina. A really simple burger joint with not too many frills - - you may be surprised at the taste - - we were. Enjoy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut, United States
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Meriden CT is known for steamed burgers, but the best are made at this small restaurant. The burgers are perfectly cooked, delicious. Service is excellent and cordial.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed K LaMay's Steamed Cheeseburgers also viewed

 

Been to K LaMay's Steamed Cheeseburgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing