We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't do this again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    173
    101
    48
    32
See reviews for
186
79
68
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I didn't know that the hotel was under construction when I booked. The lobby is in a hotel room and the entire first floor was torn up or dust covered. The room I stayed in appeared to be remodeled. Kitchenette. Very efficient room space. One double bed. Clean. OK for short term stay.

Room Tip: Ask if remodeling is complete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reynsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa B, Operations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel, we value all feedback that we get from our guests. We are undergoing renovations on the first floor at this time and trying to keep up with any dust or debri that is left behind so it does not impact our guest. I am glad that you found the room and amenities to be satisfactory. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed 1 night of longer trip. Easy to find, convenient to I-91 and Wilbur Cross.

Hotel is undergoing major renovation of lower floors, must follow labyrinth to lobby.

Stayed in renovated room on 3rd floor. Very clean, great TV (but no lineup!) and internet. Full kitchen with icemaker, utensils, etc. Room and bed quite comfortable and (slightly) larger than most extended-stay hotels.

Rate was very good for one night, probably better if you're staying long-term. Didn't try the breakfast.

Lower floors a mess, but will probably improve once renovation complete.

Room Tip: Elevator a long walk from lobby, which is a long way from entrance. May wish to avoid if physically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa B, Operations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the amenities that you used. Unfortunately, with the renovations our lobby was a bit difficult to find. We put up a number of signs to try and alleviate this problem, however, it could be a bit confusing. We hope to see you back soon now that our renovations are complete so you can experience all of the new upgrades we have!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Buy a bottle of Clorox before stay here. I stayed here overnight while I was doing renovation on my floors. There was trash in my pails and the carpet needed to be vacuumed. Everything felt dirty to me. Yes the hotel is renovating but that's no excuse for the condition the room was in. Also I had no wifi as advertise. Management said they have a new system and there working on it. This place needs to clean up there act .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jvec70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa B, Operations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Jvec70

Thank you for staying with us during your stay and I am sorry you did not find the accommodations acceptable. It is unacceptable to find the room in the condition you did and it is being addressed currently with our housekeeping staff. It is true that we have had some issues with our Wifi, however, over the past couple of weeks we have changed providers and our guests have found that the wifi is much faster and can browser with fewer problems. We hope you will give us another shot after our renovations are complete, please let me know if there's anything else I can assist you with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Very friendly, competent and professional staff. Ian, Ana and Tanya stood out and made my stay outstanding. Coffee was great; to go items were plentiful and fresh. Nice gym and laundry. The kitchens were large with full refrigerators and cook top ovens. Be sure to ask for a remodeled room. Be sure to order in Zorba's pizza...absolutely fantastic and New York style.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa B, Operations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Scott

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel and letting us know how much you enjoyed our stay. I would like to also thank you for acknowledging our wonderful staff! We strive to make everyone happy and comfortable. Please let us know if you need any future reservations or if you travel anywhere else in the country that we may be able to help you find accommodations for. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were told that there was some remodeling being done but it should be co posted by the time we stayed..Not! Rooms smelled, bought febreeze and used half the bottle before we could stay there. Everything was just gross.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
1 Thank Gary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa B, Operations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Gary,

Our hope is for every guest to walk through the doors and feel like they are at home, I am sorry to hear that you did not feel this way. When our renovations were started we were given a tentative completion date; however, there's always a chance of a delay. Unfortunately, this is out of our control. I did pass along the comments about the housekeeping in your room and passed them on to our housekeeping supervisor. We hope that you will come back to stay with us in one of our newly remodeled rooms and to enjoy our new hot breakfast, coming soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Address: 1151 E Main St, Meriden, CT 06450-4819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of home at our recently renovated Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden pet-friendly hotel, located off Interstate 91, in the center of the business districts of Meriden, Wallingford and Cromwell. Our Meriden, CT hotel is the best choice for extended stay travelers with convenient amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens and over-sized executive desks in every suite. We're pleased to offer our guests deluxe, newly renovated accommodations for a relaxing business trip or visit to the Hartford, CT region, as well as host three Manager Receptions every week. Break a sweat in our fitness center or enjoy free hot breakfast in our renovated breakfast room daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Meriden Hotel Meriden
Candlewood Meriden
Meriden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing