We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    177
    104
    50
    34
See reviews for
191
83
69
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had stayed there before, under the previous ownership. Wyndham certainly seems to be refurbishing, though keeping prices reasonable. Will be better once they get beakfast organized, though since we all have suites it's maybe not a priority. Can't argue with the location, which is a major reason we like it: 3 minutes to I-91 or Wilbur Cross Parkway.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruswarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time out and writing a review for your recent stay with us at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. You're correct in mentioning all the refurbishments we're implementing at our hotel. In order to be compliant with the Wyndham Brand standards we will soon be offering full hot breakfast and daily housekeeping refresh service.

Some of these features are going to be available as early as beginning of June. We are aiming to be the leaders in Hospitality and reviews like yours will help us achieve those goals. Thank you again and we look forward to hosting you during your next visit to Meriden, CT.

Sincerely.............
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed in the hotel about 12 days. I arrived at the hotel an was met by a staff member name IAN. THIS staff member was very professional, help me with any situation that came up,,and took pride in his work. I would stay in this hotel again and would recommend to my company the same. THE rooms have a comfortable atmosphere. " APRIL 5 till APRIL 17" (VINCENT 322)

Room Tip: " THE third floor was great for me ' ( room 322)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincent m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Vincent,

Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review about your stay at the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham. I'm glad to hear that Ian was professional and courteous to you during your stay. We all do take great pride in working with Wyndham, but the ultimate joy is reading reviews such as yours that encourage us to continue delivering a great guest experience.

We look forward to seeing you again during your next trip at the Hawthorn Suites in Meriden, CT.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My daughter & I stayed here while visiting Wesleyan College. After reading these reviews I was concerned about cleanliness but it was very clean, spacious and we loved the full kitchen! Staff was very helpful with my requests.
We did stay on the 4th floor and the hallway did smell of cigarette smoke. The room, however, was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank mbb5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Meri-beth,

Thank you so much for taking the time and writing a review for your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay while visiting your Daughter at Wesleyan University. We do pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms at an affordable price.

We do have some smoking room on the 4th floor which are in a small section towards the end of the corridor. I do apologize for that and are taking steps towards finding a way to eliminate any smoke smell entering the corridors.

Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you back again at the Hawthorn Suites in Meriden, CT.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed in the hotel for two nights. I arrived after 9:00 pm to the hotel and was given keys to my room. However they did not work. Went back done and got another set. Again, they did not work. Went back down and got a third set. These ones opened the door and how I wished they had not. There were dirty dishes in the sink, the bed was not made and there was some funky smell in the room. Back down again and I was given a different room. This one was much better.

The hotel is not a four or five star hotel. It is one that seems to caters to out-of-state workers who will be staying there for several days if not weeks. Both mornings when I left for my meetings, there were guys checking in at 8:00 am after a night of work. The room has a kitchen, which was nice. While the hotel seems rough, it is not from negelect, It is from heavy use. One can tell the staff is doing everything they can to make the stay enjoyable. Each morning there was juice, muffins and energy bars. When I checked out I was given a bag of goodies for the road trip

Will I stay here again? Most likely, but not with my family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dad-n-son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyssa B, Operations Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay here at the Hawthorn Suites in Meriden.
It is our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

I am glad we were able to correct the problems that you experienced upon check in and you enjoyed the rest of your stay. I also wanted to inform you that we will be undergoing renovations this summer to give our hotel a refreshed and updated appearance. Along with the renovations we will be adding a hot breakfast and business center. We hope to see you back so you may experience our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Address: 1151 E Main St, Meriden, CT 06450-4819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of home at our recently renovated Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden pet-friendly hotel, located off Interstate 91, in the center of the business districts of Meriden, Wallingford and Cromwell. Our Meriden, CT hotel is the best choice for extended stay travelers with convenient amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens and over-sized executive desks in every suite. We're pleased to offer our guests deluxe, newly renovated accommodations for a relaxing business trip or visit to the Hartford, CT region, as well as host three Manager Receptions every week. Break a sweat in our fitness center or enjoy free hot breakfast in our renovated breakfast room daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Meriden Hotel Meriden
Candlewood Meriden
Meriden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing