We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
“OMG!!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is by far one of the worst pet friendly hotels I have ever stayed at. The place was dirty, it smelled like overdeodorized stale cigarette smoke, and the furniture was early american dorm room. The kitchenette had 1 fork, 1 spoon and a dishwasher, obviously pieced together from spare parts. There were burn marks in the table, so this room at one point was obviously a smoking room. There was a hole in the door to the bedroom, the shower was an abomination! NEVER again....DON'T STAY HERE!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pswotton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit A, General Manager at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Pswotton,

I recently received a copy of your review of the Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham- Meriden. I would like to give you my most heartfelt apology regarding the part of your stay that was not satisfactory.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly. I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Wyndham brand location in the future.

Regards,
Amit Arora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    176
    103
    49
    34
See reviews for
189
83
69
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PAWLING
1 review
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had a nice stay at Hawthorn. Only negative was the our original room had a toilet that was running. So we were offered the adjacent room and unfortunatly we heard the toilet running from the original room the entire stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Margaret,

We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your toilet in your original room. However we are very glad that we had a room so close by to offer you in replacement. Unfortunately by the time the issue was reported to us, our maintenance department had left for the night, and the problem could not be fixed until the next morning. I do apologize if the sound in the next room caused you any disturbance that night.

We are happy to hear that you did have a nice stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Sabrina Paige
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hurricane Sandy displaced a lot of people and I was one of them. As anyone can imagine, having to leave home during a stressful time is difficult, but staying at the Meriden Hawthorn Suites was like a home away from home. I loved that there was a kitchenette that included dishes and pans, all I needed to do was add food (there was a nice selection of microwave food available at the hotel to cook in room too!) The staff, despite being incredible busy, greeted everyone with a smile and was most helpful. Grace under fire is a true measure of proficiency in my book! The room was very clean and comfortable, the bath quite large! not the ordinary little space I've experienced in other hotels. Nice pluses are the free laundry and exercise room!
Location! Location! Location! One of the best things about the Meriden Hawthorn Suites is its located midstate CT and access to any highway or parkway is only moments away.

Room Tip: Pets are allowed in room and this location has a nice area to walk dogs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Susz,

Thank you so much for all your wonderful comments. We love to hear how much our guests enjoy their stays with us. While the power outage must have been terrible for you and your family we are glad that you found a home away from home with us here at the Hawthorn. We all hope for no more storms or power issues this year, but if you do ever find the need for another hotel for yourself or your friends we welcome you to stay with us again.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property!

Sabrina Paige
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is great for the long stays that my job requires. Tania at the front desk is great, she is also very knowledgeable and helpful. The room is spacious and comfortable. If you are on the road like I am, you tend to get bored with eating out at restaurants all the time. It was nice to be able to cook for myself on the 2 burner stove, if I had leftovers I could just put them in the full size refrigerator.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to review our hotel and your stay with us. Its always wonderful to hear good reviews and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us here at the Hawthorn. We do hope to have you back soon.

Once again, thank you for reviewing our property.
Sabrina Paige
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW BERN
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Staff,room and location was just what I wanted this trip. Staff,room and location was just what I wanted this trip. Staff,room and location was just what I wanted this trip. Staff,room and location was just what I wanted this trip. I should have the required 100 character review now.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Kenneth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel. We are very glad to hear that the hotel was up to your expectations. Every review helps us to stay on-top of the guest satisfaction and ensure future pleasant stays. If you are in the area in the future we would welcome you to stay with us again.

Once again, thank you for reviewing our property we hope to see you again soon.
Sabrina Paige
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
0.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Property: Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Address: 1151 E Main St, Meriden, CT 06450-4819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of home at our recently renovated Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden pet-friendly hotel, located off Interstate 91, in the center of the business districts of Meriden, Wallingford and Cromwell. Our Meriden, CT hotel is the best choice for extended stay travelers with convenient amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens and over-sized executive desks in every suite. We're pleased to offer our guests deluxe, newly renovated accommodations for a relaxing business trip or visit to the Hartford, CT region, as well as host three Manager Receptions every week. Break a sweat in our fitness center or enjoy free hot breakfast in our renovated breakfast room daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Meriden Hotel Meriden
Candlewood Meriden
Meriden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing