We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ct vacation.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is the best location if you are visiting Meriden, Wallingford, Southington and Bristol. Having the access of I91 and I691 is great. Even while shopping at Corbins Corner and Clinton Crossings did not take long to get there.

The only drawback was that there were not any sports channels on the TV's other than ESPN. My husband enjoys baseball and football and this hotel lacks this accommodation. The TV's could be upgraded as well. Picture quality was not that great.

Would recommend this hotel with families as it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Marge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property. I am so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our central location was helpful with your travels!

I am sorry to hear that the sports channel selection was not up to your expectations. Currently we do offer 5 different sports channels and are looking into the possibility of adding additional channels next year during the renovation of the hotel, which will include all rooms receiving new 32” Flat Panel HD-TV’s that should help make those football games more enjoyable.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we do hope to see you and your family again soon.


Thank you,
Hawthorn Suites Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

537 - 543 of 552 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was advertised as having a free breakfast. Out of the week of my stay they had granola bars, juice and muffins once or twice. The rest of the time it was gone by 730am. It is unfair to your guests to advertise a benefit that you do not provide.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our breakfast. Currently we are only offering a continental breakfast of muffins, granola bars, juice & coffee. This breakfast is available daily from 6am-9am and is re-stocked regularly by our front desk agent. We will ensure that it is checked on more-frequently to reduce any barrenness and inconveniences.

Next year, once our renovations are complete, this property will be offering a standard Hawthorn Suites hot breakfast buffet daily. It will offer something for everyone: eggs, bacon, freshly made waffles, and more. And even if you like to keep it simple with coffee, cereal and fruit, we'll have all that, too!

Thank you,
Hawthorn Suites Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This room was roomy but definitely needed to be updated. And the carpeting was very dirty. Even though it was a non-smoking room, there were still smokers on the floor and at times we could smell the smoke. When are motels going to realize than we request non-smoking, we mean the whole floor, everything..not just the room? The smell of smoke travels everywhere. Come on....it's time to stop catering to the smokers!!!!! And no breakfast?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
1  Thank LUCINDA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabrina P, Director of Sales at Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. Our property just recently became a Wyndham hotel on August 1st and has yet to make a complete renovation. We do plan for renovations to begin early next year. This will include rooms receiving new carpeting, granite kitchen counter-tops, bathroom vanities and mirrors, bedding packages and 32” Flat Panel HD-TV’s. All of the public areas will also be receiving renovations.

We do currently serve a continental breakfast consisting of muffins, granola bars, juice water and coffee every morning from 6-9am. After renovations we will be offering a hot breakfast buffet.

I also do apologize for any dissatisfaction due to the smoking rooms. We do have a small amount of smoking rooms, all located on the 4th floor in order to ensure that the smell & smoke doesn’t travel upward into other guest rooms. Our 1st, 2nd and 3rd floors are all completely 100% non-smoking. We will however be implementing an official non-smoking hotel room policy as of October 1st. Any non-smoking guest rooms that are smoked in will be subject to penalization. We hope that this will ensure the deterrence of any smoking on any non-smoking floors so that no future guests will be inconvenienced.


Thank you,
Hawthorn Suites Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was happy with the accommodations. Great to have a refrigerator, microwave, ets. But it would have been nice to have coffee packets available for every morning, not just for the first one.
The filling of the pillows was lumpy and sparse.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank BRIGITTE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I enjoy staying at this particular hotel on business trips - the hotel staff are welcoming, the facilities are complete and accessible, the room is equipped for longer stays. I had real difficulty finding the hotel Web site online to check for availability before my trip because I did not realize it had changed ownership (and name). Upon arriving, I was happy to see the same cheerful staff who always greet me. Although I was disappointed there was only decaf coffee available in the room, I appreciated the complimentary juice I picked up on my way out the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights. Got a clean room with a comfortable queen bed and a kitchenette area. Booked in advance and got a 15% discount. The front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful in suggesting restaurants . A great rate for a good clean roomy bedroom.

Ask for a room facing the parking lot and you might cut down on the noise of the Fire station that is near by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophr t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This Hawthorne Suites does not have many frills, but it does the basics quite well. My room was quiet, with a comfortable queen bed, kitchenette, and other listed amenities. The ice maker worked! Front desk staff were uniformly friendly and helpful through the three day stay. A three day stay qualified for a great rate, making this place a terrific bargain. Would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the parking lot (facing east) are likely to be quieter than the rooms facing Main...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrueBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
0.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
3.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Wallingford-Meriden
3.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wallingford / Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden

Address: 1151 E Main St, Meriden, CT 06450-4819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range: $96 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the comforts of home at our recently renovated Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden pet-friendly hotel, located off Interstate 91, in the center of the business districts of Meriden, Wallingford and Cromwell. Our Meriden, CT hotel is the best choice for extended stay travelers with convenient amenities like free Wi-Fi Internet access, fully-equipped kitchens and over-sized executive desks in every suite. We're pleased to offer our guests deluxe, newly renovated accommodations for a relaxing business trip or visit to the Hartford, CT region, as well as host three Manager Receptions every week. Break a sweat in our fitness center or enjoy free hot breakfast in our renovated breakfast room daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Meriden Hotel Meriden
Candlewood Meriden
Meriden Candlewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing