We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff uninformed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Staff uninformed”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I stayed here with my daughter in March. The hotel seemed nice enough when we checked in. The walls are extremely thin , so thin, that I heard the people in the next room snoring all night!The carpets could use some cleaning.
At check in we were told in lieu of "snacks" I would be given extra points on my IHG membership. In checking I now find out that not to be true and i was told that we were given a bottle of water instead (which we never received). We actually bought some at the vending machine.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I first want to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express- Meriden for your most recent stay. I also want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as we welcome all feedback. Our feedback from our guest are very important and most valued. Anything to help us inprove in areas that made need improving. Thank you once again and hope to have you back with us again.

Warm Regards, Managment and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    30
    11
    6
See reviews for
54
16
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

After driving through the blizzard from NYC for over 4 hours it was nice to settle here for the evening. The Staff is always friendly, everything is clean and they even had the driveway which is steep cleared by morning! I usually fill the entire box on reviews but what more can I say other than this location does things right and you will get a good night's rest here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MStover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I first want to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express- Meriden for your most recent stay. I also want to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback as we welcome all feedback. Our feedback from our guest are very important and most valued. Anything to help us inprove in areas that made need improving. Thank you once again and hope to have you back with us again.

Warm Regards,
Manager and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel after reading many of the reviews. The front desk could not have been nicer and all the staff was friendly and helpful. The room was large and clean with a desk and couch. Refrig and microwave were nice to have. The part I like the best was the sink was separate from the toilet/shower so several people could get ready in the morning at the same time. Wifi was fast and reliable. Breakfast was typical - don;t expect gourmet, but there were choices and it was well stocked. The only complaint was that the rooms are not well insulated from noise. You can hear everything from the next room as well as from the hallway.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to thank the time to thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Meriden. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback as this helps to improve our hotels performance in the areas see fit. We thrive everyday for improvement and look forward to having you as our guest again.

Warm Regards,
General Manager and Staff here at the Holiday Inn Express Meriden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We thought we were going to be happy at the Holiday Inn in Meriden but it just did not happen that way. Our check in was smooth which was great after being on the road for 9 hours during the rain storm.

We proceeded to our suite to find the room to be satisfactory very roomy. We got the kids in bed because it was around 4:30am when we arrived at the Holiday Inn. We slept well no disturbance was to be found
(not until Friday night in which we would surprisingly find out)

We left the hotel later that morning to spend time with family and friends. We returned later in the day after 4pm to find our room with beds not made. There was no housekeeping service to be found which led me to make my own bed for two days while we look at our dirty towels to be picked up after Thanksgiving Day.

Front Desk was called but stated no MOD on duty, no way to reach her stated the front desk clerk. I asked for customer service # the Front Desk clerk put me on hold while she magically was able to locate the MOD after my request of customer service for Holiday Inn. Their explanation why service was missed was due to our checking in at 4am on Wednesday morning the day before Thanksgiving. Service was deemed not needed in their system told to us by MOD. I will leave that there!. Who are they to tell us when we will get service and not especially when it comes to cleaning the bathroom, making the beds, emptying the trash. They wanted to move us to another room a clean room what an inconvenience to ask me to pack up everything with our two kids and move to another room that was clean because they had no one to clean our room as well as reduce our rate by $20 a night.

Long story short, we stayed in the room took the $20 reduction but paid for it on Friday night when our neighbors from the room next to us decided to have a party with their friends. Smoke coming into our room while our two children slept and music pounding thur wall. Called the Front Desk, complained multiple times nothing was done.

We were done. We packed our bags this morning at 3:30am and we left that Hotel from Hell, excuse my language. There is no excuse for Poor staff, and poor mgt.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Kimberly S,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
245 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We found the hotel to be centrally located. The front desk staff were very friendly.

The breakfast area was clean and bright. The food was the generic industrial breakfast. The coffee was pretty good and there was some fresh fruit. The staff worked hard to make sure all of the stations were well stocked.

The mattress was not good. The bathroom fan was loud and quite dusty.

Wifi / internet connection was good.

Overall - ok. good value. Good staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Double64Double
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

What more do want for a cheap stay? Big rooms, seemingly newer. No hassles at all. Bathroom fan is loud and automatic with the light, so you can't hear yourself shave when the light is on, but minor. Location is easy to find and continue on your destination. Sort of a strange strip of highway with lots of dingy hotels nearby. Don't know why there is so many, but Holiday Inn is a beacon in the drab scene.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 7 nights on business in late september. The hotel is very clean, rooms also very clean. Breakfast is great. I just have a couple of comments.
Firstly there is no fridge in the room and the plug in the bath is the worst i have come across in a hotel, there's no chance of a soak after work.
Would i stay again.......absolutely YES

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

I want to thank the time to thank you for staying with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Meriden. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback and most of all for choosing our hotel for your stay while in Meriden. We hope to have you back with us again.

Thank you once again from the staff & management here at the Holiday Inn Express Meriden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
3.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Address: 2104 N Broad St, Meriden, CT 06450-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand-new Holiday Inn Express conveniently located off I-91 and Route 15 in central Connecticut. Our richly appointed spacious state-of-the-art guest suites offer free Wi-Fi, wet bar with microwave and mini-fridge. The separate living area makes our suites perfect for business travelers, families, or long term assignments. Brand new 32 digital flat screen TVs are just another special touch sure to make your stay enjoyable. If traveling on business our hotel is a short drive to numerous businesses like Northeast Utilities, Aetna, Hartford Convention Center, Bristol Meyers Squibb, and other business parks on Research Parkway In Wallingford. Bradley International, Brainard, and Tweed Airports are also close by. We are situated near Wesleyan and convenient to many prestigious schools and colleges including Yale, Rosemary Choate Hall, Wesleyan, Quninnipiac and Central Connecticut State University to name a few. Leisure travelers have numerous and varied attractions to enjoy. You can catch a live concert at the Chevrolet Theatre, take a roller coaster ride at Lake Compounce, enjoy Broadway style performances at The Bushnell, see where Mark Twain lived and stroll around the botanical gardens of Hubbard park. Nearby shopping malls include Westfarms and Westfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Meriden
Holiday Inn Express Meriden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing