We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
East Greenbush, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The overall stay was nice. However the a/c did not work as well, and possibly had mold in the room, which I'm allergic to, and when we got back home I ended up calling out of work, and going to my doctors for antibiotics.

Check-in, though my fiance and I were early, (which we did apologized for and we gave the option to come back ) the person at the desk, sighed and rolled her eyes as she looked at her computer, "yeah I guess you can check in early" was her response. She gave us our card keys and, briefly told where are room was located, and asked for the customer behind us what they wanted. She was efficient but less than friendly.

The breakfast spread was actually really great! The employee who was tending the kitchen was very helpful and pleasant, as she fixed and reloaded the batter for the pancake machine. Which honestly--was EPIC!!

Overall the cleanliness of the room and kitchen, the housekeepers, and location of the hotel was fairly good. Just the customer service of the desk staff could use some fine tuning.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlRia12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I first want to thank you for your feedback on your recent stay and send my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay. I can assure you these issues will be addressed. I thank you once again and do hope you give us another opportunity to have you as our guest.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    45
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
54
16
12
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel had ONLY 1 person responsible for the whole hotel! No security or any other person outside of the front dest attendant, who was hiding in the back...I called for blankets and sheets for the sofa, he told me he does not have blankets, and he can't bring the sheets because he was alone...I went down to pick up the the sheets, waited about 1.5 minutes for him to get out of his hiding place...and I asked again, are you sure you don't have blanket?!...he replied: yes, but I can't get them cause I'm alone here! I asked are you the only person responsible for the whole hotel?! Yes, he replied!...I offered to go pick up the blanket myself...he than went and got me a blanket!
In the morning he refused to help the breakfast attendant to set up the breakfast, despite the fact that the morning receptionist was there, and he knew that the breakfast staff was late...he told the breakfast attendant (who was in tears asking for help), that this is not his job..."it's like if I asked you to do the checkout for me..." Wow, what a lazy bum!!! They need to go over some "teamwork" training ! Needles to say my daughter and I had to skip breakfast and go to DD!
I would not go back to this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romance4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Valued customer,

I first want to send my sincere apology for the poor customer service that you received during your recent stay with us. I also want to say that I agree on the the team work and can assure you that this situation with my staff has been addressed. I thank you for your feedback as any feedback is truly appreciated and will be utilized to better our staff and guest's experience.

Warm regards,
Angela Sanchez, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is a great basic hotel and very new. The service is good, rooms are clean and for this area that is saying a lot. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Meriden. It is off the beat and path. If your looking to eat, continue north past the hotel for about 4 miles, a bunch of stuff there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jim2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear valued customer,

I want to thank you for your feedback and to say that it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our location. Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Meriden. We look forward to having you again with us.

Warm regards,
Angela Sanchez, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel is great! They have a Great breakfast each morning, heated indoor pool and free cookies!!! Also, stores such as Walmart and Target are about 10-20mins away. The staff were good also. The rooms are spacious and very clean!! My husband and two kids loved the pool so much they went straight after breakfast. They also have a fitness center which has two treadmills and a bike. The price was very reasonable for the weekend and the hotel is well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latonia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I live in town and I came here because my son had been dying to swim. The room was clean and very modern. The pool however was freezing! So I spent $130 to swim and we weren't even able too! I did mention it to the reception desk but they said there wasn't much they could do. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. Would come back again if pool was warmer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brittney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Brittney B,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We are delighted you found our rooms clean and modern. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations to all of our guests. It is disappointing to hear the condition of our swimming pool did not live up to your expectations. Nevertheless, your input have been shared with our management team for review.

While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great place and excellent value. Stayed there on a leisure trip on my way to Maine and I enjoyed that this was a very clean place to stay. Wonderful free continental breakfast was also served. Would definitely stay here again if I would be in the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L0uiesM0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just stopped for an overnight trip and found this hotel extremely convenient. My room was clean, well stocked with towels and toiletries, and was very quiet. We were on the second floor, away from the elevator, and our "view" consisted of looking at the Comfort Inn just next door. But I didn't care. I was just there to sleep, shower and change and get on my way. The check in clerk was extremely nice and I wished I had gotten her name. We were very early, yet she looked and gave us a room right away. She even said that she was putting us away from a baseball team which was staying in the hotel that weekend. I just have three things that I would have changed, and that would be the noisy fan in the bathroom, no snack vending machine just a coke machine, and the breakfast could have been better, but I wasn't really expecting much along those lines. I was surprised that there was hot eggs and sausage and not just coffee and donuts. Parking was great and noise level was mininum. Even from the noisy highway! Didn't use the pool, but it look like it would have been nice if I'd remembered and brought my suit! I would definitely stay here again. The rate was very below average and that alone was a double plus! I don't think you could go wrong using this hotel at all. BTW, just up the road there are malls, and miniature golf courses, drug stores, restuarants galore!

Room Tip: Don't expect too much for breakfast. There were eggs, sausage, cereal and muffins. The pancake m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMacsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
3.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Address: 2104 N Broad St, Meriden, CT 06450-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand-new Holiday Inn Express conveniently located off I-91 and Route 15 in central Connecticut. Our richly appointed spacious state-of-the-art guest suites offer free Wi-Fi, wet bar with microwave and mini-fridge. The separate living area makes our suites perfect for business travelers, families, or long term assignments. Brand new 32 digital flat screen TVs are just another special touch sure to make your stay enjoyable. If traveling on business our hotel is a short drive to numerous businesses like Northeast Utilities, Aetna, Hartford Convention Center, Bristol Meyers Squibb, and other business parks on Research Parkway In Wallingford. Bradley International, Brainard, and Tweed Airports are also close by. We are situated near Wesleyan and convenient to many prestigious schools and colleges including Yale, Rosemary Choate Hall, Wesleyan, Quninnipiac and Central Connecticut State University to name a few. Leisure travelers have numerous and varied attractions to enjoy. You can catch a live concert at the Chevrolet Theatre, take a roller coaster ride at Lake Compounce, enjoy Broadway style performances at The Bushnell, see where Mark Twain lived and stroll around the botanical gardens of Hubbard park. Nearby shopping malls include Westfarms and Westfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Meriden
Holiday Inn Express Meriden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing