We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Friendly staff, pointed me in the right direction to find a late night restaruant after my late check in. Family enjoyed the chocolate chip cookies. Breakfast was good variety...eggs, bacon, cereals, fruits, toast, juices, etc. Located away from main highway so room was quiet, we all slept well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1travelingDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    44
    30
    10
    6
See reviews for
53
16
11
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed one night room was clean and large. The heater was a bit loud but didn't notice much sound from other guests maybe I got lucky? Hotel staff was friendly and the complimentary breakfast was simple and appreciated. The hotel internet connection latency proved to be too slow for reasonable gaming (which is reasonable to expect) but plenty quick for browsing the web/video. Did not manage to try the pool/work out room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreyGrimrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Nice hotel a little out of way, nice room for family of 4. We stayed in suite with pull out bed from couch. Plenty of room for all of us and a good night sleep. No one at front desk when we checked in with sign saying be right back (little strange), we had to request blanket and stopped by front desk with sign again. Breakfast was nice and family was full for 4 hr drive home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brentb1166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We are a family of 5 and stayed for one night in a room with 2 queen beds and a sitting area - the middle tier of rooms. The woman at the check in desk was very friendly and my kids happily helped themselves to a cookie while we checked in. I asked for a quiet room (as I'm a light sleeper) and she made sure that we were in an area with few other guests.

The room itself was gigantic, which was really helpful with the kids. Everything was very clean and fresh looking, no real signs of wear. One nice touch is that the pillows are labeled as soft, medium and firm, so you can find exactly what you like. The beds were *very* comfortable.

We normally stick the three kids in one bed but they were squabbling, so we moved one kid to the pull out couch. If you want to use this, ask for sheets ahead of time as we didn't find any in the room. It was really nice to have the extra space so everyone could sleep comfortably.

We took advantage of the pool in the morning, which was small but warm and perfect for the kids. We also really enjoyed the breakfast area - considering it's not a restaurant, the food was pretty decent. Some things I remember on the buffet: scrambled eggs (obviously microwaved), plenty of bacon, biscuits and gravy, the infamous pancake machine, bagels and muffins, juices, coffee and tea, a fridge with a few kinds of yogurt and hard boiled eggs, cereal and milk, and a bowl of apples to take on the way out. Pretty nice for a free buffet!

All in all, I think this place is a great value - plenty of space, nice staff (did I mention the woman at the buffet? She was super nice to my kids and helped them with the pancake machine - she was just supposed to be cleaning and stocking the buffet but was totally friendly and helpful, how nice!) and solid breakfast. This is our second time staying here when we visit family in Meriden and it's now our favorite place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms with two queens and a separate sitting area are located in the center of the building clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank msfiasco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

So let me begin by saying the hotel staff was very friendly and inviting. The hotel overall is very nice and modern. There were however 3 main issues. 1) The floor is so thin it sounds like elephants are walking above you. 2) The floors in the common areas (Elevators, Hallways are at best FILTHY!!!!) They need a major cleaning possibly even replacing. 3) There is only one restaurant that is close to the hotel. Most are about 10 miles away. Overall I would definitely stay here again but I would ABSOLUTELY ask for a third floor room.

Room Tip: ABSOLUTELYask for a third floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbi4729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Robbi4729,

Thank you for taking the time to write our location a review. I am glad that you found our staff service accommodating enough for your needs and hotel ambiance inviting. Please accept my sincerest apology for any inconvenience caused by the noise and issues with cleanliness. We will address these points and I hope when you would return you would see the improvements made.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Amazinly large rooms, perfect for morning yoga! Tiny little bathrooms though.
We're Priority Club members and when 3 of us checked in we got ONE complimentary bottle of spring water. Since wholesale they cost about twenty cents that felt a little funny.
But overall, it's fine for an Express Hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a typical Holiday Inn Express, a hotel perfectly located for our recent tours of several New England colleges. What makes most hotels of this brand a good bet is: they always have free Wi-Fi; they usually have two queen size beds; they are usually new or newer-builds; they usually have free parking; they have a free breakfast; and they are reasonably priced.

What made the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Meriden spectacular was that they returned some jewelry I had forgotten to pack. After leaving the hotel that morning, my daughter and I were standing with other parents and rising seniors at the Yale tour, when I noticed another mom with a strand of pearls. I raised my hand to my own neck to discover I had forgotten mine at the hotel! I couldn't do anything about it at that moment, since we were in the middle of the college tour.

A short while later, during lunch, my phone rang. It was the hotel manager calling to tell me they had found my pearl necklace and wanted to ship it to me. Needless to say, I was delighted that the housekeeper had 1) found the jewelry and 2) been honest in returning it. And I was pleased they had contacted me so quickly. In fact, the necklace was home before we were!

I'm ashamed to admit, I forgot to leave a tip for the housekeeper that morning; fellow travelers, please remember to leave tips for the housekeepers... they are hard-working and, as my experience shows, honest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zipdedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXMeriden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review. I am so proud of my housekeeping staff; they are truly amazing and care deeply about our hotel and guests. I am pleased to hear that you received your necklace so quickly. Please come back to see us again! Cheryl Sullivan, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meriden
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Meriden - Wallingford
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Hartford Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Meriden
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
Radisson Hotel Cromwell
#2 of 4 in Cromwell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Meriden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden
Address: 2104 N Broad St, Meriden, CT 06450-2412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Meriden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Meriden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand-new Holiday Inn Express conveniently located off I-91 and Route 15 in central Connecticut. Our richly appointed spacious state-of-the-art guest suites offer free Wi-Fi, wet bar with microwave and mini-fridge. The separate living area makes our suites perfect for business travelers, families, or long term assignments. Brand new 32 digital flat screen TVs are just another special touch sure to make your stay enjoyable. If traveling on business our hotel is a short drive to numerous businesses like Northeast Utilities, Aetna, Hartford Convention Center, Bristol Meyers Squibb, and other business parks on Research Parkway In Wallingford. Bradley International, Brainard, and Tweed Airports are also close by. We are situated near Wesleyan and convenient to many prestigious schools and colleges including Yale, Rosemary Choate Hall, Wesleyan, Quninnipiac and Central Connecticut State University to name a few. Leisure travelers have numerous and varied attractions to enjoy. You can catch a live concert at the Chevrolet Theatre, take a roller coaster ride at Lake Compounce, enjoy Broadway style performances at The Bushnell, see where Mark Twain lived and stroll around the botanical gardens of Hubbard park. Nearby shopping malls include Westfarms and Westfield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Meriden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Meriden
Holiday Inn Express Meriden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing