We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Tower at Foxwoods

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impressed !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2010

I couldn't wait to write this review. We just got back and I don't have a bad thing to say about the MGM Grand Hotel at Foxwoods. My wife and I stayed one night and I got a good mid-week deal of $71 for a double queen deluxe 18th floor. {I was asked for my preference on room location, low or high}. No frills, or extras like the spa just an overnighter and a little gambling. Lady luck was with me and I even left with a little extra money.

You can valet park or self park. Pretty simple, I selfed parked and it wasn't a bad walk at all. Check in went very smooth, no surprises. The pleasant female that checked me in told me everything I needed to know and answered all my questions. She even told me what to watch out for so I don't get charged extra! But my biggest impressions was the hospitality and cleanliness. I've heard of some horror stories about casino hotels so I was prepared for a dirty smoke laden room and nasty rude jerks but I was pleasantly surprised that neither existed. I never smoked in my life and I smelled no hint of it other than in the casino. The casino was gross, but what do you expect from Connecticut. They have non-smoking areas but they're useless.

Our room was spacious and spotless and the beds were clean and comfy with extra pillows. The elevators were quick and clean and there were no security issues. There are cameras in the hallways and corridors for your protection so at no time did I not feel safe. {And there were some scary looking folk around} If you're on a budget, like I was, be sure not to touch the room snacks or order room service. You can spend money if you want to, and they make it easy to do so, but just use some common sense and you'll have no problem.

The main casino is a little bit of a walk but there is a walking escalator along with stair escalators to ease the trip. There are tons of things to see and do other than gamble in the Foxwoods main casino. There is an all you can eat buffet and it set me back a whopping $31 for the two of us! Like I said, you can spend money if you want but at no time did I feel pressured to spend more money . I went on the cheap and we had a blast. I've been to Mohegan and the same room was $100 more. Oh well, their loss. Mohegan is now a distant memory.

I'm sure with the crowds on the weekends, things will change, like the room price, but if you're bored mid-week and want something to do, I wouldn't hesitate to throw some money at the MGM Grand at Foxwoods

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinbb58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    459
    175
    84
    88
See reviews for
197
689
45
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (372)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopewell Jct, NY
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

I stayed here from my birthday though the price was 300 dollars a night on the weekend. They do get you when you stay on the weekend because its a discount during the week. The hotel was nice and clean. The main area had alot of restraunts and then as you entered the casion in the hotel there was other places to eat depending on how much you were looking to spend. There was also alot of shops, the casion wasn't as big as the normal foxwoods casion is. At night you have to deal with the loud music when the night club is going. It does get crowded and there is alot of people so make sure you know what you want to do and plan out your day. If you don't feel like hanging out in the casion there, there is a walk way that connects both hotels so u can go between them which is a nice idea. The only bad thing about this hotel is there was a concert in foxwoods and people were coming over from it to the mgm grand. We actually had a guy follow us in the elevator drunk off his butt and not even press a floor then try and follow us into our room. We called seceruity right away they were quick and repsonsive. I think when they check to make sure you stay there they check people. Not just show your card because it seems like anyone can just get by them. Also the second time we went up to the room a drunk women on a scooter came on the elevator had no idea what she was doing. She could not even handle the scooter or knew where she was going. I think that security should be alittle more protective of the people who stay there and be more alert to who goes up. The rooms were nice, could of been bigger, the view we had was nice. The beds were allright, the steam shower was nice. It's a nice place to visit for a few days, the winter time is alittle different then if you were to go in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supachic311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

Room was great although we did not appreciate the expensive pressured snack machine placement in the room. Room was clean and large the bathroom was huge. loved the shower!! Liked that we checked in early and they asked what floor we would prefer.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sstravels19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2009

I visited the G Spa and MGM Grand and thought it was excellent. I purchased a day pass for $25 which allowed me too use the indoor pool, work out facility, men's spa areas (lounge which included drinks and snacks, luxurious showers with multiple shower heads, whirlpool tub, steam and sauna. It was wonderful, relaxing, clean and well maintained. By the end of a couple hours here I felt as though I had had a massage, relaxed and revived- at a fraction of the cost. If anyone is considering G Spa at the MGM Grand vs. The Grand Spa at Foxwoods, I have been to both and would recommend the G Spa. It is bigger, cleaner and nicer overall. I did not stay at the hotel overnight, unfortunately. I wish I did!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bchall5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyack, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

Spent Christmas Day at MGM and Foxwoods, had a great time....... all until checkout. After receiving our email confirmation for a $109.00 room rate we were surprised to learn upon checkout our room was $202.00 . Seems like they passed a bill , inknowingly to my girlfriend with the higher rate and she signed. We trusted the fact that the confirmation would prove the correct rate. We were wrong. A pleasant experience turned into a not so pleasanty experience. That will be the last time I go to Foxwood, next time it will be Mohegan Sun. Check your bills

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob_nyack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed at the MGM Grand on Christmas Eve for one night. We paid $99 for the standard ("deluxe") room. The building is brand new, and we were impressed from the minute we entered the lobby. The check-in line was long, and one of the employees made awkward conversation with us while we were waiting, so the check in process wasn't completely painless.
Our room was very nice--we liked the showerheads and the room had one of the biggest hotel bathrooms i've had. The room was reasonably clean, and the wi-fi was easy to set up. My only complaint was that the room didn't have one of those binders that hotel rooms usually have outlining the amenities. I had to do detective work to find out answers to simple questions like "When is checkout time?" and "How do you get from the MGM Grand to the main Foxwoods building?" when that information should have been readily available to me in paper form. Also, I keep a travel journal, and there were no pens in the room. That may not sound like a big deal, but I've stayed in both disgustingly cheap and very upscale hotels, and they've all had pens.
Overall though, the hotel, casino and shops are very nice. We didn't have time to try the spa or the restaurants (except Junior's, for breakfast the next day), but it was the kind of hotel that made me want to stay longer, and I usually don't feel that way about casinos. You really feel like you want to spend time at the spa, the pool, the restaurants. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melhojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2009

My brother and I met up in Foxwood MGM after 10 years of not seeing each other. I am from Florida, I have a condo cleaning business in Florida, and I know how rooms should be cleaned. The room on the 30th floor we got was nice, but DIRTY as can be. Sticky film on glass tops of dresser and nightstand. Dust so thick you could tell the room had been empty a very long time, or the hosekeeper needs to be fired. And, to top it all off, my brother and I had trouble sleeping due to the sheets. We don't know what caused it, but after 3 hours of scratching at ourselves, we had housekeeping come to change the sheets, at 3 a.m. And, we complained and was just told sorry and blew us off. When we were leaving we found something on the top shelf of a closet, what looked like a spilled soda that had been there so long, we have pictures of all this. No one did anything about it. Just got a 2p.m. checkout. Mohegan Sun is 100% better as service, cleanliness, conceirge, and caring about their customers. I had stayed at Mohegan, but with the new MGM I suggested to my brother to stay there. Save your money, go to Mohegan, THEY CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank callalillyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
0.3 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
#3 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
0.3 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Tower at Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower at Foxwoods

Property: The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
Address: 350 Trolley Line Boulevard, Mashantucket, CT 06338-3830 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower at Foxwoods 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the AAA Four Diamond Fox Tower is everything you've imagined. As soon as you step into the circular lobby, all your senses become engaged. You see the modern design. You hear the upbeat music. You can't wait to taste, touch and experience all the incredible shopping and entertainment options. And it gets even better when you arrive at your beautifully appointed room and meet our ever-accommodating team. A visit to the incomparable G Spa and grand outdoor pool make the fantasy complete. The Fox Tower isn't just a hotel. It's a dream come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fox Tower at Foxwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing