We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not MGM Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Ventura, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not MGM Quality”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is NOT a property owned by MGM International. Don't be fooled. The staff is not up to MGM standards. They gave my room away after I telephoned after midnight and asked them not to. I was assured my room would not be given away as "They honor all reservations." After driving all night, I had no room when I arrived at 10 am and I was told I was a "no show" and therefore I "canceled" notwithstanding the fact that I called to prevent this very thing from happening.

I am disappointed MGM licenses their good name to this imposter. This property does NOT reflect true MGM quality or service and MGM should definitely rethink this license.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dionna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    471
    181
    86
    90
See reviews for
202
706
47
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed at the MGM while at foxwoods for a concert. LOVED the room. Super comfortable bed. The layout was a little different...everything was on one side of the room pretty much. Allowing the room to be fairly narrow. This didn't keep me from liking it though. The bathroom had this huge (heavy) sliding door, but it was laid out very nice inside. No tub in my room, but the showerhead was to die for. Higher quality soap, shampoo. High quality, fluffy towels. (All that stuff makes a difference ya' know)

Of course Foxwoods has great casual and fine dining restaurants. There's plenty to do besides gaming. Cabanas and a bar at the pool made it feel like a little slice of Vegas. Highly recommended weekend getaway for couples!

Room Tip: Scour the different travel sites to find the best rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dansville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent 5 days at Foxwoods for our 40th anniversary. Our room at the MGM was beautiful and very spacious,. We were on the 23rd floor overlooking the forest and the pool. Great shower and nice king bed. The resort is very modern and can be pricey, especially on weekends. We also played the golf course which was in really good shape and fun to play.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djr6648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feeding Hills, ma, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It was my parents 51st anniversary ( july 14th), and my sister and brother thought that we would put our money together and send our parents on a mini vacation to MGM Grand at Foxwoods. We made the nessesary arangements and gave them the gift certificate to the hotel. Upon trying to check in they were denied entrance to the reserved room,( they were given the papers for the room) they were denied....said that the credit card didnt come back with a comfermation on the reservation, but the next hour after being turned away they ran the credit card and it was excepted, Meanwhile, they went to Mohegan Sun and had a great time.....

Room Tip: dont go to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Quick 1 night stay at MGM Grand @ Foxwoods, it is a little on the high end side, price wise but it was worth it. The hotel is nice, great bathroom & shower. Beds were very comfortable. Short walk to the main casino & shops. Shops & restaurants and casino right outside the elevators to the hotel. Rooms are clean and nicely set up. Will stay at this hotel again in the future when I visit Foxwoods. A little tip, sign up for the rewards card, it is free to sign up. For every dollar you spend on the games you earn a point on the card. The points can be used at the hotel and restaurants and I think the shops too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeLimo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've been to MGM Grand at Foxwoods several times. I love foxwoods better than Atlantic City overall because it seems much cleaner and less trashy. Don't get me wrong I do enjoy Borgata, Harrahs, and Caesars at Atlantic City also but I like the MGM more. I love the pool here and the restaurants. I think the crowd is better here also.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miguel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I am sitting in room 27118 as I write. I can not wait to leave tomorrow. We have been to FOXWOODS many times. This trip stinks. We were offered a free room at Foxwoods. We were then offered an upgrade for $50 to move up to a suite. Big mistake.
First it is 97 degrees out. We came here to escape the heat. We asked for a quiet room. We were place next to an elevator and next to the housekeeping room. We did not realize how noisy it was until after we unpacked. We did complain immediately about the "suite". This is just a slightly bigger room. Not worth an upgrade fee.
After an evening of gambling we came back to a hot room. The AC was set at 60 degrees. Ps....we won at the casino. We were too tired to move.
When using the bathroom, the light kept going out leaving me in the dark.
The bed has sheets that are too small, so they did not cover the mattress. There were lights on the TV that stayed on when then tv was off. We had to cover them with towels.
It was not a restful night.
The noise started very early. Not good for a casino hotel. The next day our keys stopped working. We had to wait 45 minutes to get new ones. We told them about the lights, AC, and noise. They did offered to move us, but honestly the thought of packing up and moving to a different room does not sound fun.

We went to the desk yesterday. Never accept an "Upgrade" from this place. It is a scam. The place is also empty. We were told they were sold out so the upgrade was a great deal.

Room Tip: Do not take the upgrade to a suite. It is NOT a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
0.2 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
481 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
2,683 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
#3 of 4 in Mashantucket
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
539 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
3.8 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Tower at Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower at Foxwoods

Property: The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
Address: 350 Trolley Line Boulevard, Mashantucket, CT 06338-3830 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower at Foxwoods 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the AAA Four Diamond Fox Tower is everything you've imagined. As soon as you step into the circular lobby, all your senses become engaged. You see the modern design. You hear the upbeat music. You can't wait to taste, touch and experience all the incredible shopping and entertainment options. And it gets even better when you arrive at your beautifully appointed room and meet our ever-accommodating team. A visit to the incomparable G Spa and grand outdoor pool make the fantasy complete. The Fox Tower isn't just a hotel. It's a dream come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Fox Tower at Foxwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing