We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Magical Night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox Tower at Foxwoods

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Fox Tower at Foxwoods to your Saves list
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 Trolley Line Boulevard, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Moreno Valley, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Magical Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Last year we stayed at the MGM Grand at Foxwoods for our 25th wedding anniversary. We had such a great time we did it again this year. The entire Foxwoods property is an amazing place but the MGM is just a bit nicer. We stayed in Director Suite what an amazing room probably one of the nicest rooms we have ever stayed in. Check in was fast, easy and very friendly. The staff left us chocolate strawberries in our room for our wedding anniversary, just like last year nice touch. My only regret is that we only stayed for one night, maybe next year two nights!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newport_Bound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    412
    152
    79
    80
See reviews for
166
627
40
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trois-Rivières
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've been here for the second time this year in december 2012. Again we were not disappointed. The room are good size and really clean. Last time we were on floor 24th on forest side. This time we were on 29th floor road side. I do prefer forest side because the only thing you can see is trees every were. It is calm. For people who prefer action, the road side would be better. If you are a casino player it is a very good place. You can have access to 2 others casinos without going outside. You have to go to Mohegan sun casino which is about 20 minutes drive. Good time and a lot of fun!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish_Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed at the MGM the weekend of DEC 7-9 with my family for my mom's 60th birthday party. We wanted to make it special and thought Foxwoods would be a perfect place to celebrate! I was hoping to get an upgrade on our room to make it special for my mom, so I wrote to them explaining that it was her 60th birthday. Right away I got a response and they were able to upgrade us to a beautiful suite with a separate sleeping area and living room. I got in contact with Susan A. Evarts who seems to do all the planning for these type of things. Susan was amazing, she responded quickly to all my emails, and went out of her way to make this trip truly wonderful. She beautifully decorated the room, with a welcome birthday sign, window decorating, and even flower petals on the over-sized king size bed. I could tell that making us happy was her number one priority. She also can help with dinner reservations, suggestions, shows, activities, etc. After our most recent stay I would recommend this hotel to anybody, and advise you to contact Susan if you want someone to make your experience one to remember. I plan on coming back sometime in the near future for another big anniversary, birthday, or event. 5 stars!!

Room Tip: Suites are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefCon1, Chef Concierge at The Fox Tower at Foxwoods, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, Ms.P I am very proud to be a part of a team that is committed to exceeding our guest's expectations. We are thrilled to have worked with you to make your mom's 60th birthday "GRAND". I look forward to the opportunity to have you and your family return to MGM and Foxwoods in the near future.

In the Spirit of Hospitality~
Susan Evarts
Chef Concierge
MGM Grand at Foxwoods
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
146 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The rooms at the MGM Foxwood casino are large and comfortable. The bathroom is a standout. A walk in shower and large bathroom with all conveniences make it a lovely place to rest after see a show or gambling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB-Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night and got a great rate! The hotel is modern and bicely appointed. We asked for and received a room on a high floor, (27). The room was small but serviceable. the bathroom was large and the water pressure was great. we had a wonderful view of the forest and the sunset was magnificent.

The casino was smokey but fun and the cocktail service was frequent and pleasant. We even won our $$ back!

The club at Foxwoods had a fun house band, good drinks and a dancing crowd. We stayed out much later than we should have but we had fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've now stayed here and down the road at the Mohegan Sun. (Never stayed at the 'original' Foxwoods or any of the other properties.) MGM rooms were roughly equivalent to Mohegan Sun, and more expensive. Where they win out, however, was the hotel seems better run. For instance, we had a reservation for 3 rooms and they were easily able to give us 3 rooms right next to each other. Had an ordeal down the road a few months back trying to achieve the identical thing. Maybe it was a slow week-end, who knows...?

Crowd here was also somewhat more well-heeled than down the road (which actually made the casino LESS fun IMHO.) Dining choices are OK, but also more limited here. There are 3 steakhouses on the property, but not ONE seafood place. They must realize this, and it's something they should fix.

The biggest drawback is one of the rooms reeked badly of smoke. The other 2 were fine. (I thought they had great sprays/technologies to deodorize rooms these days...definitely not the case here...)

Is it worth the premium price? Probably only if you plan on getting drunk (which is a valid enough reason.) Otherwise there are plenty of good options (national chains, etc.) 10-15 minutes away.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a view of the woods. Otherwise, you'll have a view of the roof of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

So it was our second stay here to attend a concert. Valet parking available but if you choose the self parking option (park at the opposite end that you came in to use the stairs that drop you to the immediate front desk area, as the elevators are at the opposite end, but drop you into a corridor that empty's to the casino and shops making you walk that much further to get to the front desk). In the grand lobby you'll find the concierge, bellman and front desk. The line appears long for check-in, but moves quickly. We were given a room on the 22nd floor, facing west (even side). This appears to be the better view, as it overlooks the rolling hills and forests/reservation. The east side (odd rooms) face the roofs, parking garage and route 2. The room reserved was a king bed (which we look forward to as it is very comfortable) with a moderate sized flat screen tv (with excellent channel selection with pay channel options). A desk and upright chair was nearby. A keypad combo lock is installed in a nightstand drawer. HVAC is easy to use and set. The bathroom is inviting with a large sliding barn style door separating the bathroom from the rest of the room. Well lit mirrored sink area and large tiled shower with fancy glass door. A toilet nearby with a telephone, but no door or even a pocket door separating the toilet from the rest of the bathroom. Room service available. A hairdryer is offered.

There aren't many choices for dining on the ground floor of the MGM Grand, as you'd have to walk over to the Grand Pequot Tower or Great Cedar area for more choices for any meal.

In the warmer months, MGM Grand does have a nice outdoor pool (see other reviews), but this being the winter months, our only choice was the indoor pool located on the 3rd floor in the spa (as told to by Maria when I phoned the resort). The pool/spa is open from 630 AM to 1000 PM, but as I attempted to use the pool in the morning, I was told by the Spa staff at their desk that I need to provide a photo ID & $25 for spa usage. Now this didn't include any spa services (massage, pedicure), just what ever is on the Spa floor, what a crock. Don't intend on staying here with your family in the winter months hoping for a little get away with indoor pool usage. Maybe try the Grand Pequot for their indoor pool on the rooftop level that was free the last time we stayed there.

Room Tip: The higher always the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
0.3 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 stars 416 reviews
6.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.0 of 5 stars 1,742 reviews
0.3 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
0.3 mi away
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
#3 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Tower at Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower at Foxwoods

Property: The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
Address: 350 Trolley Line Boulevard, Mashantucket, CT 06338 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower at Foxwoods 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the AAA Four Diamond Fox Tower is everything you've imagined. As soon as you step into the circular lobby, all your senses become engaged. You see the modern design. You hear the upbeat music. You can't wait to taste, touch and experience all the incredible shopping and entertainment options. And it gets even better when you arrive at your beautifully appointed room and meet our ever-accommodating team. A visit to the incomparable G Spa and grand outdoor pool make the fantasy complete. The Fox Tower isn't just a hotel. It's a dream come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fox Tower at Foxwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing