We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice room in a fabulous casino” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Tower at Foxwoods

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice room in a fabulous casino”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

The rooms at the MGM Foxwood casino are large and comfortable. The bathroom is a standout. A walk in shower and large bathroom with all conveniences make it a lovely place to rest after see a show or gambling.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CB-Mass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    442
    164
    82
    87
See reviews for
188
656
44
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here for one night and got a great rate! The hotel is modern and bicely appointed. We asked for and received a room on a high floor, (27). The room was small but serviceable. the bathroom was large and the water pressure was great. we had a wonderful view of the forest and the sunset was magnificent.

The casino was smokey but fun and the cocktail service was frequent and pleasant. We even won our $$ back!

The club at Foxwoods had a fun house band, good drinks and a dancing crowd. We stayed out much later than we should have but we had fun!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I've now stayed here and down the road at the Mohegan Sun. (Never stayed at the 'original' Foxwoods or any of the other properties.) MGM rooms were roughly equivalent to Mohegan Sun, and more expensive. Where they win out, however, was the hotel seems better run. For instance, we had a reservation for 3 rooms and they were easily able to give us 3 rooms right next to each other. Had an ordeal down the road a few months back trying to achieve the identical thing. Maybe it was a slow week-end, who knows...?

Crowd here was also somewhat more well-heeled than down the road (which actually made the casino LESS fun IMHO.) Dining choices are OK, but also more limited here. There are 3 steakhouses on the property, but not ONE seafood place. They must realize this, and it's something they should fix.

The biggest drawback is one of the rooms reeked badly of smoke. The other 2 were fine. (I thought they had great sprays/technologies to deodorize rooms these days...definitely not the case here...)

Is it worth the premium price? Probably only if you plan on getting drunk (which is a valid enough reason.) Otherwise there are plenty of good options (national chains, etc.) 10-15 minutes away.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a view of the woods. Otherwise, you'll have a view of the roof of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikebern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

So it was our second stay here to attend a concert. Valet parking available but if you choose the self parking option (park at the opposite end that you came in to use the stairs that drop you to the immediate front desk area, as the elevators are at the opposite end, but drop you into a corridor that empty's to the casino and shops making you walk that much further to get to the front desk). In the grand lobby you'll find the concierge, bellman and front desk. The line appears long for check-in, but moves quickly. We were given a room on the 22nd floor, facing west (even side). This appears to be the better view, as it overlooks the rolling hills and forests/reservation. The east side (odd rooms) face the roofs, parking garage and route 2. The room reserved was a king bed (which we look forward to as it is very comfortable) with a moderate sized flat screen tv (with excellent channel selection with pay channel options). A desk and upright chair was nearby. A keypad combo lock is installed in a nightstand drawer. HVAC is easy to use and set. The bathroom is inviting with a large sliding barn style door separating the bathroom from the rest of the room. Well lit mirrored sink area and large tiled shower with fancy glass door. A toilet nearby with a telephone, but no door or even a pocket door separating the toilet from the rest of the bathroom. Room service available. A hairdryer is offered.

There aren't many choices for dining on the ground floor of the MGM Grand, as you'd have to walk over to the Grand Pequot Tower or Great Cedar area for more choices for any meal.

In the warmer months, MGM Grand does have a nice outdoor pool (see other reviews), but this being the winter months, our only choice was the indoor pool located on the 3rd floor in the spa (as told to by Maria when I phoned the resort). The pool/spa is open from 630 AM to 1000 PM, but as I attempted to use the pool in the morning, I was told by the Spa staff at their desk that I need to provide a photo ID & $25 for spa usage. Now this didn't include any spa services (massage, pedicure), just what ever is on the Spa floor, what a crock. Don't intend on staying here with your family in the winter months hoping for a little get away with indoor pool usage. Maybe try the Grand Pequot for their indoor pool on the rooftop level that was free the last time we stayed there.

Room Tip: The higher always the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, NY
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

My cousin and I went for the weekend. There were a few good restaruants and the spa was decent. However, we don't smoke and therefore spent very little time in the casinos.
The hotel was very clean and the employees very friendly. The rooms were nicely sized.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PamandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

The hotel is very comfortable, bathrooms are very roomy and i appreciate the fact that they have handicapped accessible double rooms. However I will never understand why hotels insist on putting the physically challenged and elderly on the roof, we were in a room on the 26th floor. Do these people realize that the challenged and elderly get extremely nervous when they stay that far from the ground? With that being said i'll move along. I usually have an awful time sleeping when I stay at any hotel but the bed was so comfortable that I slept very well, the room was clean, the bathroom was large and easily accessable. The only fault that I found wit the hotel is that there wasn't very much of a choice of places to eat unless you ventured to other properties. We ended up eating all of our meals in Juniors, which was fine but bear in mind it's a deli. Shopping was extremely limited also. We went to a concert and i wasn't all that impressed with the security staff as where we were sitting we had to endure every incident that security had to deal with. In all the hotel was fine for what we needed it for overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemini27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from a 3-night stay. We did a road trip from Toronto and stayed over night night just outside Albany. Drove straight home on the way back which was an easy 8 hour drive until we hit the crazy traffic outside Toronto!

Loved this whole complex which is enormous. Kind of like one of the mega cruise ships -- minus the ocean! There were quite a few families staying at Foxwoods though I'm not sure what the little kids did other than play some of the video games in the arcade. It's really not a place for lkids in my opinion. Even in the summer, the pool area isn't wonderful but for my husband and I, the resort was wonderful. Yes, the MGM is a bit of a trek to the other parts of the Foxwoods property but with a giant escalator and moving sidewalk it really wasn't too bad. It took us about 10 minutes to get from the MGM to the other hotels.

Casinos were big but not enormous but we stayed most of the time in the MGM casino which was nice enough and not "tiny" by any stretch of the imagination even though some other TA critics have said that. I was even lucky enough to win my money back (plus some) on the last night which was very nice. Great comps, too. If you use the player's card, they will double the amount of credits that you have to pay for your hotel room. Ended up a very cheap trip for us :-)

Restaurants -- we only ate in Juniors (good food any time of the day) and the Scorpion Bar. All the meals were big enough to share.

Loved the little town of Mystic and took a road trip to Providence, RI. Had never been there before and it's a gorgeous city. Would like to spend more time there maybe in the spring or summer.

The double room at the MGM was quite small but for the amount of time we spent in there it was fine.

Would definitely stay here again next time my husband feels like doing another road trip.

Room Tip: Unless you stay there during when the fall colours are in full bloom, I don't think it matters a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashantucket
6.6 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Pequot Tower
Grand Pequot Tower
#2 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
Great Cedar Hotel at Foxwoods
#3 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Two Trees Inn
Two Trees Inn
#4 of 4 in Mashantucket
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Tower at Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Tower at Foxwoods

Property: The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
Address: 350 Trolley Line Boulevard, Mashantucket, CT 06338-3830 (Formerly MGM Grand at Foxwoods)
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Mashantucket
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mashantucket
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Tower at Foxwoods 4*
Number of rooms: 826
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying at the AAA Four Diamond Fox Tower is everything you've imagined. As soon as you step into the circular lobby, all your senses become engaged. You see the modern design. You hear the upbeat music. You can't wait to taste, touch and experience all the incredible shopping and entertainment options. And it gets even better when you arrive at your beautifully appointed room and meet our ever-accommodating team. A visit to the incomparable G Spa and grand outdoor pool make the fantasy complete. The Fox Tower isn't just a hotel. It's a dream come true. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Fox Tower at Foxwoods reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Hotel Mashantucket
Mgm Grand At Foxwoods Mashantucket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing