We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty Food, good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cedars Steak House

Cedars Steak House
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Mashantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Rt 2 and 214
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
219 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Tasty Food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Make a reservation for a weekend night! Always a long wait otherwise. Wait staff friendly and attentive. Steak was tender and very tasty. Drinks were well made. A nice dining room. A good experience!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    108
    58
    38
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Suffield, Ct
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lunch in the Lounge”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hit the lounge for lunch. Food decent, service okay but not spectacular, and the atmosphere is really nothing. Lots of noise as there are tvs above the bar and lots of guys watching sports.

Menu had changed since my last visit...many items the same, but the one really liked had been removed. We had an order of calamari to start (absolutely excellent) followed by a salad with chicken (greens were old) and my hubby had a burger and fries (burger dry even tho ordered rare to med rare.

I would recommend if you want a couple of drinks and watch a game but I would not recommend if you wanted to have a quiet luncheon in a dull atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tucsonorbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
214 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Such a nice surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We went to Cedars for a light dinner and sat in the lounge. It was very crowded and yet the service, (Wendy) was excellent. We had a couple of Mnhattans and they were about the best I have ever had. The blend of whiskey and vermouth was on point and there was extra given in the shaker. Always a plus!
My husband had clam chowder and a shaved prime rib sandwich. The chowder was think and creamy and it was a large portion. He said that the sandwich was great. He had had the sandwich in the past and really enjoyed it as well. I had a cheeseburger and it was cooked to perfection, medium rare, and was excellent. The sweet potato fries were super as well. It was a $25.00 off coupon night so this attributed to the early crowd but the meal, the service, and the setting were great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
95 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“always great service, food at the bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We came in about 8pm on a Tuesday night...no reservations...and decided to find a seat at the bar...initially packed...but got seated in about 5 minutes. At first, no one saw us...but then 2 bartenders came rushing over...and great service took place the rest of the night. We decided on their buttered lobster roll...and Calamari initially...all top quality and delivered hot and fresh. Great value in a place that could perhaps give less and charge more (not that we would come if they did)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tastyeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool Ambiance, Great Food, Nice Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Cool Ambiance, Great Food, Nice Staff.
Nice romantic Dinner with my wife. Prices really suit the food and drinks.
Looks like all those around us enjoyed, too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cedars Steak House also viewed

Mashantucket, Mystic Country
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 

Been to Cedars Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing