We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the ordinary”

California Pizza Kitchen
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Mashantucket
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out of the ordinary”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Wonderful food and service. This was my first time at this California Pizza. Nice menu selection. Hard to choose what I wanted to eat. Ended up with very good chicken alfredo. I would certainly choose this again. It was plentiful to say the least. Not just a pizza joint.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJM1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    56
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I love the Tortilla soup! Very good service, and quick! My husband and I went here for dinner before the Alan Jackson concert on September 7th and the service was fast, friendly, and very good. Will absolutely visit here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A must if you are at Foxwoods.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Great for a good meal and terrific drinks if you can pull yourself away from the casinos while at Foxwoods. The pizza is great as are the Blue Hawaiins.we have been here many times and find the service very good and extremely friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joel1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So glad we stopped in!!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

After the liquid pool party we were looking for a nice place to sit down and eat! So glad we glad this place a try !! The wait was supposed to me 10- 15 minutes so we sat at the bar! The bartender poured be an Asian plum martini and it was wonderful !! Best drink if the day-- a must try !! We only waited a few minutes and our table was ready! The pizza was very good --- we shared the basil pizza & pepperoni! Great food & service!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheerdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Creative menu but service in need of attention”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I ordered takeout because the rest of my party was still out in the casino. The takeout counter is smack in the middle of the restaurant and there is no waiting area. I left for the ten minutes I was told the order would take, then came back and stood where I saw other people standing waiting for their orders. Smack in the middle of the restaurant. Finally kind of hunkered down in an empty booth to keep out of the way of servers running around. Hostess came up with a party of two and told me to move because they needed the booth for diners. I looked around at 15 to 20 empty tables and moved. I went to her station and asked her where I should be waiting for takeout. She told me it's not their "policy" to have people wait at tables and they were going to get busy. I looked at all the empty tables, noted them to her, and again asked where I should be waiting for my takeout order. She didn't have an answer for me. So I went back to the takeout counter and stood smack in the middle of the restaurant. Maybe they should have a small waiting area or give a more realistic time frame, like the half hour it really took.
As for the food, we had their version of hummus- white bean - not all that great, it was runny and the accompanying pita was on the sweet side. Wild mushroom pizza was good, nice assortment of sautéed mushrooms. Chicken lettuce wraps were described as spicy - ginger soy, were also very sweet. Butter cake for dessert- dense and unappealing, almost had a playdoh like texture. We would definitely do back for the pizza, bit never again for takeout, and if the same hostess is there I am turning right back around. She is horrible and really in the wrong business.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LifeInTheGoLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed California Pizza Kitchen also viewed

Mashantucket, Mystic Country
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 

Been to California Pizza Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing