We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Alta Strada Foxwoods
Reserve with OpenTable
Alta Strada Foxwoods is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 32 Restaurants in Mashantucket
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 2
Bohemia, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed at the MGM grand at Foxwoods and ate here for dinner. I was super disappointed with the food. The homemade pasta was ok, but my peas that were in the dish were undercooked and the sauce was bland and boring. Loved the mascaporeo dessert but the dinner itself was pretty bad.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    63
    26
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
81 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Elegant, modern Italian”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have eaten here several times, and it has always been excellent. This location is a clone of the original Alta Strada in Wellesley, Mass., with which we're also very familiar. it's similar, but they have subtracted a few of the more cutting-edge apps and added a number of more traditional ("Old-School") Italian entrees (e.g., Chicken Parm) to the menu to suit the crowd here at Foxwoods. No matter, it's all well-prepared and delicious. I would particularly recommend the mussels, prosciutto, or veal meatball apps, any of the pastas (made here), or any of the pork or veal entrees. Pizzas also excellent. Note: when they say something is "spicy", they mean it (ok with me, but take note.). Generous portions (I always leave here feeling happily stuffed.). Professional, friendly, attentive and generally rapid service. Overall, a great meal and a nice experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Elegent resturant with a hash house atmoatmosphere”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Excellant food, every thing we had was well prepared. The Shrimp Scampi appetizer, the Zuppa de Pesche and the mushroom ravioli were all very good. Since we had 8 pm show tickets we didn't have time for coffee and dessert. The only draw back was the chef yelling out orders in the open kitchen. We were sitting a reasonable distance from the kitchen but he shouted loud enough to disturbed conversation. The room.was well designed with the tables reasonsbly spaced which enhanced how loud he was yelling. Maybe he has watched too much Hell's Kitchen

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Gourmet pizza that hits the spot!”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

*I originally posted this to the wrong restaurant- also begins with an "A":
Missed the breakfast buffet here (have you noticed there are no clocks in casinos?), so sat at the bar for a quick lunch. This is the same menu as their late night nosh menu- lots of nice looking stuff. The hand crafted pizzas looked good, I was torn between the Bianca and the wild mushroom/truffle so I asked the bartender. She said both were really good but definitely go with the mushroom, I did and paired with a nicely chilled white wine. Both were excellent. The pizza was scrumptious- no sauce, delicious large pieces of wild mushroom, mozzarella, parmesan, and the right touch of truffle. Crust thin and chewy. Absolutely delicious!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LifeInTheGoLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious hand crafted gourmet pizza”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Missed the breakfast buffet here (have you noticed there are no clocks in casinos?), so sat at the bar for a quick lunch. This is the same menu as their late night nosh menu- lots of nice looking stuff. The hand crafted pizzas looked good, I was torn between the Bianca and the wild mushroom/truffle so I asked the bartender. She said both were really good but definitely go with the mushroom, I did and paired with a nicely chilled white wine. Both were excellent. The pizza was scrumptious- no sauce, delicious large pieces of wild mushroom, mozzarella, parmesan, and the right touch of truffle. Crust thin and chewy. Absolutely delicious!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LifeInTheGoLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alta Strada Foxwoods also viewed

Mashantucket, Mystic Country
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
Mashantucket, Mystic Country
 

Been to Alta Strada Foxwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing