We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every child should visit this place; adults too”

Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pequot Museum, located in an ancient cedar forest minutes away from Foxwoods Resort Casino, is the largest Native American museum of its kind in the world.
STAMFORD
Level 6 Contributor
302 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Every child should visit this place; adults too”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We brought our 8-year-old and 3-year-old here for spring break and can only say they loved it, and the three hours we alloted weren't long enough for them. Having read other reviews, we asked for a tour guide, who took us on an hour-long walkthrough of the museum so we'd have a good overview and could come back to the exhibits on our own. Of course, the Indian village at the bottom level was the most exciting place to visit (although the Insect Exhibit was a close second). The sculptures of the Indians are unbelivable, so life-like. After spending an hour or so in the village, using the free audiophones, we took a lunch break. Good food, fair prices. We closed off our day going up the tower, with it's beautiful overview of the countryside. In fact, the only negative for the whole day was the gift shop, which offers some attractive items, but seems to be half empty. And did I mention free parking? This is a place every child, and adult, should visit ... you won't regret it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RALPH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    60
    14
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very interesting.”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Definitely worth a visit. Very interesting. Can see in a couple of hours but really need a good 1/2 day to visit. Very nicely done museum of high quality and substance. Great for all ages! Highly recommend if you are in this area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WorldUSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
181 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Spent an afternoon at the museum and I thought it was really interesting. They had a Hawaiian dancing show - ouch that hurt because it was a cold day in December! I really enjoyed seeing the current Native American artifacts that artists are working on. They are so beautiful - the pots are amazing. I also enjoyed learning the history of the area. The only reason I didn't get it 5 stars is because I had a hard time finding a shuttle to the museum and also a hard time getting one on the way back. I don't know if they were having an off day or what.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida, Usa
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Pequot Museum in Mashantucket CT. is located in the ground close to the Foxwoods Resort & Casino. The museum is great with lots of information about the history of the native American Indians that lived there and New England. They have various rooms where you can watch videos, lots of interactive displays fun for kids. If you really want to see it all take your time don't rush very interesting. They have a tower that has a view that you don't want to miss you can see well beyond the forest and the grounds of Foxwoods Resort. The Hotel has a buy one get one free and also a shuttle that take you there. If you want to get away from the casinos and all that is the place to visit. After your done with your exhibit don't forget to go to the gift shop very neat items

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, CT
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Really interesting”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We ended up spending the entire day at the Museum. Unfortunately I couldn't get my wife up in the observation tower, that was really cool.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank robstainedglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center also viewed

 

Been to Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing