We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Dioramas for Kids; Overpriced Admission for Adults”

Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Pequot Museum, located in an ancient cedar forest minutes away from Foxwoods Resort Casino, is the largest Native American museum of its kind in the world.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Dioramas for Kids; Overpriced Admission for Adults”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

My 4 yr old really enjoyed the dioramas here, mainly the caribou hunt and village life scene. The wolves, giant beaver and mastodon was also appreciated. The museum has a lot to see, but those are the big highlights for the pre-school set. They also have an observation tower that was kind of fun for a pre-schooler but I don't know why they bothered with it, as it just overlooks some scrubby CT countryside of no note. I have to take a star off b/c the admission price for an adult was $20 (hey, maybe skip the useless observation tower and charge less for admission), there was no bathroom on the first floor where you enter (major design flaw) and the dining facilities were closed when we visited. Instead we popped over to the Foxwoods Casino for a bite. The Casino facility itself is dated and worn, and unfortunately has the sad and depressed air of a lot of these type of casinos. I didn't want to take my small children there but there weren't many other options close by.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DCMANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    57
    14
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Worth a visit....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very well done museum. Very educational. This place is best for people wanting to learn about the native Americans. I don't think it is the best spot for young children or non-English speakers. It is a really solid educational experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ctelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't miss this museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

A great museum, you can discover the Pequot culture and the challenges that they has to live with . The exhibit are impressive, and very real, you feel like than any moment the figures are going to say "hi" . To enjoy the whole museum, you have to dedicate about 5 hours. Great place I will be back,

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Izay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, NH
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Well worth the admission price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stopped by this museum a while ago late in the afternoon and at that time the person behind the counter told us we might not have enough time to see the exhibits before the museum closed, so we decided to return another time. Are we glad we waited as we definitely needed more than an hour to see the museum. This place is huge and, while the setup is different, it reminded us of a kiva and the layout overview looks like the head of an animal, though we didn't check this out with anyone. We found it very informative about the Mashantucket Pequot tribal history as well as general education about Native American culture and history. We particularly enjoyed the engaging, audio-directed Indian village experience. You walk around the exhibit and see three dimensional replicas of Native American people engaged in activities such as hunting, gardening, socializing, visiting a medicine man, fishing from a canoe, and building a wigwam. The designers put a tremendous amount of work, thought, and research into the exhibits. Many archeological artifacts are on display, including ancient artifacts unearthed just feet away from where Foxwoods Casino now stands. The accounts of the interactions between the Native Americans and European colonists were interesting and also disturbing. They give a true appreciation for what the Native American people had to endure. There is an outdoor area of an old homestead re-creation that looked interesting but we chose not to visit due to the cold weather. To complete the experience, we wished the restaurant served traditional Native American cuisine. Staff was helpful and friendly, grounds well maintained and integrated with the surrounding natural setting. We highly recommend this to both adults and children.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JBWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great experience!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

I had no expectations going in except to learn more and I did. The exhibits were very enriching. I got to meet some Native American artisans as well. That was really neat!!

Helpful?
Thank Simpleenici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center also viewed

 

Been to Mashantucket Pequot Museum & Research Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing