We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Devpur Homestay.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kutch
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Devpur Homestay Kutch
Ranked #1 of 6 Kutch B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I would like to say that it really justifies it's name.. Homestay.. Great experience, good food and very kind hospitality. We were group of 8 adult and a kid and enjoy our stay for a night with them...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dakshesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Dear Friends,
It was a great pleasure having you here with us at Devpur. Wish you had stayed longer. Many thanks for visiting and the generous review.
Happy New Year 2013!
Yashodhara and Krutarthsinh Jadeja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 151 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

It was indeed homely atmosphere with friendly and ever ready to help host family. Smiling faces making you feel part of the family. Great place to stay, good food, location close to Lakhpath, Narayan Sarovar, Koteshwar. The evening pooja with the family was an awesome experience. We stayed for one night and would love to go back when we go to Bhuj the next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IrineR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Hello Friends, Thank you so much for the review and kind words. You are ever welcome to Devpur and Kutch. Stay for a longer duration and we will be happy to suggest a good itinerary so that you don't need to travel to much. Best wishes for the Christmas season.
krutarthsinh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Of all the places, why would I ever want to go to Kutch! I wanted a reclusive place, away from huddle of the city. I had a business trip to Ahmedabad. Would have been easier from Mumbai though. And by the way Gujarat is a dry state. I emailed the hosts and bang i got a well mannered gentleman ringing me on the phone. he spoke good english and we got along well. His name was krutharth and occassionally his wife yashodhara came online to ensure that I had no difficulties in planning my trip.

So i boarded the Delhi Bhuj Ala Hazrat Exp from Ahmedabad, reached Bhuj. the hosts had arranged a taxi with a placard for me. It took another hour to the location. The roads were good and sights were interested. Upon reaching the marvellous fort named Darbargadh, i received a warm welcome, tilak and welcome card. Of course, I could not miss the garland which made me feel like a Maharajah. :-) The hosts went into details, the beds were clean and comfortable, room bright and spacious, towels clean, soap was thankfully not medimix! I took the Jhalawar room which had a quiet split airconditioner. It was good to unwind.

To unwind in the Darbargadh, there were many courtyards. Good to spent time reading or paint. They served non vegetarian meals cooked under personal supervision of Krutharth's lovely wife Yashu. Both hosts, I learnt during discussion had royal lineage. And that made all the difference - to be in the company of royals. The dining room had the old world charm. Not to mention there is a school in the campus.

You cant bring your own booze though :-) I wish I had come with family and friends. Some time in future, I must definitely go once again.

Cant thank the hosts Krutharth and Yashodhara for the wonderful time, the stories of Kutch, all of which made my trip very memorable.

Room Tip: jalawar room is airconditoned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajesh221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Thank you so much for visiting and staying with us at Devpur. It was absolutely delightful having you stay with us. Your sense of humour reminds me of School days' P G Wodehouse! Once again both of us thank you very much for the kind words and you must come to Devpur and stay for a longer time with family.
Krutarthsinh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We had booked four nights at Devpur homestay this Diwali vacation (November, 2012).
This was a totally unknown destination and we were very skeptical. The place is good 40 km from Bhuj town, but do not fret, the owner Mr. Krutarthsinh Jadeja was ever too willing to escort us down there. Driving through a well tarred road (Gujarat has very good ones) just 10 kms before Nakhatrana, an ornate gate welcomed us to the quaint Devpur village. Meandering through the dusty roads crowded with cattle herds we reached a small hillock where a huge, carved wooden gate opens into a sprawling heritage place of Devpur Homestays. We were given traditional welcome by the ever smiling family members and shown to our room, which is 1000 sq. ft. in area consisting of a living room, a master bedroom, and a spotlessly clean bathroom with an extended dressing room. The place is furnished with 100 years old teak wood antique furniture and various curios of that period consisting of some beautiful paintings and embroideries done by the former family members, brass and copper lanterns and vessels and an old air gun too. The building is a fusion of Kutchi and Greeco-Roman architecture. Each and every corner of the building is so beautiful that we spent almost the entire evening clicking pictures of the ornate jharokhas, carved doors, painted wooden ceilings etc.

It was time for dinner, which was served in the family dinning hall. We loved eating the homemade Kutchi preparations and they loved serving. Once retiring back to our room, noticed a small library stocked with coffee table books on Kutch, which were quite helpful for the trip.

The ringing of the temple bells and morning bhajans woke us up and we went for a morning walk to the village. We were impressed by the respect we got from the village folks as guests of The Darbar. After an elaborate breakfast over an unending chats with Mr. Jadeja, we proceeded to explore Kutch as per the well-planned itinerary prepared by Mr. Jadeja and also to some other interesting known places and some more interesting unknown places as well.

I can summarize, we just did not stay in Kutch but lived in Kutch with the family. I would suggest that you just pack up your bags and go to the charming heritage Devpur homestay to experience a memorable stay with a lovely and lively family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nimesh_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Oh dear! I am totally humbled. Many thanks for joining our family this Diwali and we hope to serve many other discerning travellers at Devpur. All i can say is thank you for giving us the opportunity.
Thank you. Thank you.
krutarthsinh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

In one of our most memorable trips, we spend this Diwali with the royal family of Devpur. Being late in deciding to savour Khusboo Kutch ki - all our apprehensions were immediately dispelled by the assuring response of Krutarthsinhji. An extremely down to earth person, he planned the entire itinerary which comprised several hidden treasures of Kutch which are usually outside the common tourist circuit viz. Fossil Park, the rich handicraft centres of Kutch, Lala Bustard Sanctuary to name a few.
He also provided critical inputs for visiting different places and making our road journey from Ahmedabad comfortable.
We were greeted with the most traditional welcome and the suite is not only spacious , clean and comfortable - but also adorned with the sublime motifs on the roofs, paintings of the students of the White Eagle School- being run at the palace compound. And to our amazement - there was even a nice collection of books and mags for one to unwind !!
The palace is in the midst of the village and set in serene surroundings- the clear dark sky was a treat to watch. The temple of Goddess Kali- the family deity inside the compound makes the place even more venerable. The food was hot , tasty and delicious and our little daughter thoroughly enjoyed the Diwali fireworks and playing hide and seek with the little prince and princess. The jharokhas of the palace are beautiful - though the palace bears some signs of the devastating earth quake of 2001 like many other heritage buildings of Kutch.
We used to debate and chat just like a family on various subjects over dinner and Krutarhsinhji is an expert of Kutch- be it anything.He made our trips to various places so easy and comfortable !!
I was moved when noticing my sore throat , his mother immediately sent hot water with salt - just like as my mother would have done.
Darbargarh Devpur is the ideal place to explore Kutch based in serene surroundings away from the hustle and bustle of Bhuj and one can always feel at home. Kutch can not be explored in 3-4 days and we certainly will be back again to our " home " at Kutch

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sourishganguly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you so very much for your review and full marks. It was a pleasure spending Diwali with your good family. Once again thank you and hope to see you again sometime.
Krutarthsinh Jadeja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Devpur for us was a home away from home for the past 5 days during Diwali festivities. Krutarth and his gracious family extended their warm hospitality. Truly made our trip very special and memorable. Krutarth had also offered us his extensive knowledge about the area throughout our trip to put the itinerary together before and during our stay - was very helpful and could have not done without. After a long day out exploring the tribal villages and various temples in a vast land, it was good to "come home" to a comforting zone that no other lodging even 5-star hotels could have offered. Highly recommended for a couple, family with children or even with friends. You will experience the true Indian hospitality.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank taitai-a m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review and it was delightful to have you both and your wonderful children stay with us this Diwali. The family here equally enjoyed your warm company and the fireworks & camel cart ride in the village. Wish you all the very best in life, always.
Krutarthsinh Jadeja
Devpur Kutch

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Absolutely relaxing stay at devpur home stay. We had entire "sixteen pillar" room to ourselves. Krutarthsinhji gives excellent touch to every arrangement. One of the best Post Navratri Trip We had.

Our Trip to Dhinodhar and Mata No madh was well organised. We wished our three days trip to extend, work calls!!!! Excellent place to rewind and recharge. Very interesting architecture and murals on celings. Real heritage place, with all modern amenities. Delicious meals. Some of the items on menue were unique.

Around fifty k.m to mandvi made it easy for us to cover other parts of kutch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IKGOHIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DevpurHomestay, Owner at Devpur Homestay Kutch, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thank you so much for staying with us and it was a great pleasure having you all join for the Navratri Puja and Havans. Do make this your annual pilgrimage and look forward to seeing you soon. Once again many thanks for this generous review.
Krutarthsinh Jadeja

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kutch
19.8 mi away
Regenta Resort Bhuj
Regenta Resort Bhuj
#4 of 19 in Bhuj
285 reviews
63.6 mi away
Hotel Shiv by Shivanta
21.6 mi away
Click Hotel Bhuj
Click Hotel Bhuj
#2 of 19 in Bhuj
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Hotel Oasis
Hotel Oasis
#1 of 19 in Bhuj
117 reviews
22.6 mi away
City The Village Resort
51.5 mi away
Toran Resort
Toran Resort
#1 of 3 in Kutch
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devpur Homestay Kutch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devpur Homestay Kutch

Address: Darbargadh | Devpur Jakhwali, Kutch 370675, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Gujarat > Kutch District > Kutch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kutch
Price Range: $15 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Devpur Homestay is located in a century old heritage Darbargadh (small Fort) in Devpur, locally known as Devpar (Yaksh), in Kutch Gujarat. Devpur is located 40 kms west of Bhuj on State Highway No.42 towards Lakhpat. The Homestay has the Jhalawar Suite, the Sorthambha Suite and the Verisalji Suite. There is also the Lal Bungalow Annexe Room. Devpur Homestay offers home cooked, healthy and hygienic Indian and Continental cuisine. Hosts Krutarthsinh and Yashodhara Kumari will personally take care of the Guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing