We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food with great service and ambiance”
Review of Altnaveigh Inn

Altnaveigh Inn
Ranked #11 of 64 Restaurants in Mansfield
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
535 reviews
349 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Very good food with great service and ambiance”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Just a short distance from the UCONN campus this inn's restaurant makes you feel like you are up in Vermont at the classic country inn. Nice selection of food and wine served by a great staff. On the Saturday night we went there was an live guitarist/singer with a great range of music.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“elegant food, incredible staff”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

The staff at the Altnaveigh Inn welcomed me and immediately solved two major issues with grace. Then, dinner arrived for me and my friend of over 40 years. We have eaten spectacular meals all over the world and agree that the Altnaveigh ranks with the best. The salmon, sea bass, vegetable plate, coconut shrimp, salad, and POPOVERS! were all excellent.
I hope this place never changes!! Many, many thanks to Gail and her team. They are truly the best. I will be back for sure.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Square NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Altnaveigh Never Disappoints!!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Altnaveigh for 8 years while our daughters attended UCONN. Our family celebrated many occasions here from Family Weekend to Easter to graduation... Wonderful memories. We have been away for the past 2 years but visited on Saturday night for a special birthday dinner. The food was exceptional as was the service and the ambience....Ramon's music was another treat! The inn is a very special place...try it... You will love it!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heenehacnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing food in a wonderful environment.”
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We recently dined here with a large group of friends. The entire party commented on how delicious the food was - appetizers, salads, dinners and desserts. Everything is individually prepared and was cooked perfectly. The service was phenomenal. Our waiter - Andrew - was attentive and personable. The atmosphere was perfect and the music - solo guitarist - was a wonderful accompaniment. Looking forward to returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SBW2270
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food and great music”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We had birthday dinner at Altnaveigh. Everything we ordered were excellent and what a beautiful presentation. They had live entertainment. The day we were there the singer was very good. We recommend this place to everyone. Finally, Storrs has a nice place to dine.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Meena R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altnaveigh Inn also viewed

 
Mansfield, Mystic Country
 

Been to Altnaveigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing