We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very expensive”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Altnaveigh Inn

Altnaveigh Inn
Ranked #9 of 64 Restaurants in Mansfield
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Eutopia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

The food is good but not worth the sky-high price.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriental_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We all deserve a treat sometimes. Lovely old inn with very personal attention and exceptional food quite often.

Helpful?
Thank Dianne1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful place for a celebration!”
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Best steak I've had anyplace. My children still talk about the lava cake which is like no other we've ever tasted. Service is exceptional!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ladyfalcons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Creative food, but very expensive.”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Although someone else was paying the bill, I was still conscious of the fact that the cheapest entree was $28! But the food was absolutely delish. All of the meals were innovative (except for a vegetarian dish concocted special which was mostly fried - although nicely presented) with various sauces and tastes. I liked the salad with fresh strawberries so much I copied it (as much as possible) at home a few days later for guests! Our waitperson could have been a bit friendlier, but she did have a table of 10 who were more interested in talking with each other than eating! I liked the orchids served on the dishes. Too pretty to eat though!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smlnmyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrs, Connecticut
Level Contributor
119 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Special Place for a Special Occasion”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We went to the Altnaveight to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We received wonderful service and food. This is a wonderful restaurant for a special occasion. Dinner prices are a bit high for more regular visits. The food is excellent quality and well prepared. The menu changes with the seasons and the chef is creative but in a down to earth (delicious) way. The service was excellent - our water glasses were kept filled and the waiter was professional and engaging.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bballfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Altnaveigh Inn also viewed

 
Mansfield, Mystic Country
 

Been to Altnaveigh Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing