We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blast from the past”

Shady Glen Dairy Store - East
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Blast from the past”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Forget these new retro driveins. This dairy bar is a real relic. Service may be a bit slow, but it is worth waiting for. And the ice cream is genuine. So drop in and relax and see what life used to be like.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    55
    26
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly, a shady burger”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

What's in the burger? Sorry, but this place was rank. They give you a thimball sized paper cup for water. The meat on the burger was awful. Plain, tasteless fries. Had a scoop of ice cream the size of a marble. For two people my bill came to 31.00!!! They didn't take cards (cash only) but conveniently had an ATM which charged me an additional 2.00 withdrawl fee. I could have eaten at a fine restaurant for what I paid at Shady Glen. It was just so not worth it

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chopper187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, NY
Level Contributor
175 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Ice Cream never tasted so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

This neat little shop was featured on Diner, Drive Ins and Dives and the rave review of their very unique cheeseburgers made my husband eager to try this place out. We were on our way home from Providenc RI and stopped here for a quick Sunday lunch. The place is spotless, the staff is friendly and efficient and the food was really good. We both tried the cheeseburger and found them to be juicy and cheesy. My husband had a vanilla milkshake that was so rich and creamy and not like anything he has had in long time. I had to try the raspberry ice cream for dessert. This was so rich and creamy and a single scoop here is very generous.
This was a great spot - fast, efficient service by very friendly and knowledgable staff. Just a lot of old fashioned fun that is hard to find these days!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liketotravel010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sends you back in time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

Food is good but pricey. Their specialty is the cheeseburger, so even think about getting anything else, unless it is ice cream for dessert.

Helpful?
1 Thank aflawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hartford, ct
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unique throwback”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

nothing quite like a shady glen cheeseburger or their unique take on minestrone . Cash only!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank cgct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Glen Dairy Store - East also viewed

 

Been to Shady Glen Dairy Store - East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing