We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious ice cream and burger, alittle pricey”

Shady Glen Dairy Stores
Ranked #2 of 7 Dessert in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Manchester, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious ice cream and burger, alittle pricey”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The food is pretty good at the Shady Glen in Manchester. Ice cream is made fresh and is delicious. Cheeseburger with the fried cheese is also good, but on the small side for the price. The service and atmosphere of the diner style was enjoyable. Overall, it is a place for a nice treat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Quib09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    40
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
conn
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I LIKE THE ONE IN BOLTON BETTER”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Smaller than the one in Bolton, but typically the same food. THey may even get some of the menu items prepared in Bolton and sent to Manchester.

Helpful?
Thank johnnybgood1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“What a Burger!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We discovered this old fashioned restaurant, somewhat like Friendly's, except so much better & unique. My husband saw an article in the Boston Globe & we went out to find it. Wow! Each burger is topped with four slices of American cheese! The cheese drapes over the edges & sizzle on the grill until crisp! The burger is delicious!! We had the fries & onion rings & cold slaw which were exceptional! Yum! Wish I had one right now. Very old fashioned! Ice cream is another favorite which we didn't try. YUM!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seasnowcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice old fashioned ice cream shop!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My only request would be to upgrade the quality of the beef patties. I love how they cook the cheese. The old fashioned atmosphere and the ice cream sundaes are fun!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CtUSAMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best little ice cream/sandwich shop”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Its that place you always go when you go back home. The cheeseburgers are classic and the ice cream made the Shady Glen. Service is very prompt.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank yfufamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Glen Dairy Stores also viewed

 

Been to Shady Glen Dairy Stores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing