We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OKh place could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Manchester
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“OKh place could be so much better”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I'm disabled, and use canes and a rolling cart to get things to the room. I know this isn't a fancy place with a doorman to open the door, but they could spring for a few bucks on some kind of door opening system so the lone disabled individual doesn't have to struggle alone to get in the front door. Again, in the bathroom and bedroom areas were not considerately designed. There's no ledge or platform to put more than the barest minimum of items by the bathroom sink (*small* toothbrush & toothpaste), no room for hand cream or several other items.

In the bedroom the only way I could plug in my iPad near the bed was to unplug the clock (I'm sure there are others with this problem -- it would save your staff the bother of resetting the clocks all the time). Much more infuriating is that the only controls for the bedside light can be reached only by someone with 8-ft long arms made of rubber. Maybe not a big deal for someone who turns the light out, goes to sleep and doesn't wake up until there's morning light. Not me - went to bed at about 10:30, woke up at 12:15, went to bed again at 12:45, and now I'm awake again at 2:20 am. I guess if I know I have to stay at a place so badly set up, I should bring a clip-on lamp and attach it somehow to the bedside stand.

It's infuriating -- the heater is noisy, and I'm having a terrible time sleeping, even though the bed seems good and there are lots of pillows.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beadcraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not comfortable. In response to your feedback, I am asking my maintenance engineer to correct the issues you found today. Thank you again for providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at fchase@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    12
    10
    15
See reviews for
29
16
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here one night and were very happy with our selection. The room was very clean and the location is perfect for commuters. Also very close to shopping and restaurants.They offer a lower price for the same value as pricier hotels nearby, which I've also stayed at.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Britt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It's great to hear that property and associates impressed you. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Excellent service by a friendly staff. Room was very clean and cost was very good

Front desk - Rachel and Alicia were pleasant and very helpful and were quick to serve our needs.

Maintenance - Richard also very helpful and friendly. Excellent service. Gave us a great recommendation for a place to eat. Will certainly use this hotel again if in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judi123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at the Extended Stay America Hartford - Manchester. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, like you. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.

It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you in any of your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The service was very friendly. The connections to local delivery services were good. Their customer service was excellent. It was not crazy busy around the hotel and yet the travel time to restaurants, grocery stores and the mall was not very far. This was a great place to stay, eh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm so pleased to hear that our guest service was excellent during your stay. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. We value and appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Have used this as the host hotel for nearby dog show the past five years. Manager will work with you for best rates for exhibitors. Nice kitchenette to eat in or plenty of restaurants or Big Y down the street. Plenty of grass for the dogs. No shampoo or dish washing soap in rooms but they do have bar soap. Receptionist was very friendly at check in. Elevator a plus for those not on first floor. Hotel just upgraded rooms and it is very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TomW771, Manager at Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It was very kind of you to for take the time to publish such a positive review of your stay at our hotel. It's always satisfying to read positive feedback from our valued guests, especially those, like you, who come back to visit us again and again. Although some companies run extravagant advertising campaigns for their hotels, we believe that the best kind of marketing is the public praise we get from our millions of happy customers. That's why the biggest investment we make is in our customers. Our company motto is "Excellence Every Day, Every Way", and my promise to you is that we will continue to operate according to this practice; after all, that's how Extended Stay Hotels(sm) got to be the largest extended stay lodging brand in North America.
It would, of course, be our pleasure for you to repeat your experience with us in the future. Thank you once again, and feel free to reach out to us directly if we can assist you for next year’s visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Manchester - Hartford CT
0.7 mi away
Residence Inn Hartford Manchester
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hartford-Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Manchester
0.7 mi away
Courtyard Hartford Manchester
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hartford - Vernon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester

Property: Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester
Address: 340 Tolland Tpke, Manchester, CT 06042-1746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Manchester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Extended Stay, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Extended Stay America - Hartford - Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Manchester
Manchester Extended Stay
Extended Stay America Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing