We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Asian buffet within 75 miles” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Misaki Japanese Buffet

Misaki Japanese Buffet
Ranked #103 of 196 Restaurants in Manchester
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
115 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Best Asian buffet within 75 miles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Fantastic Japanese buffet, which you don't see very often. The way they pull it off is that the food is made in small quantities and refilled often so it ends up being fresher than most buffets you'll come across (and of course better). They have mostly Japanese (including Habachi and a WIDE range of creative sushi: salmon, tuna, eel, white fish, tempura, veg., in addition to more complex rolls) and also above average Chinese (plus some continental too). Superb dessert and ice cream selection as well.

There isn't station after station like you see at some other megabuffets, but frankly, that's not what you want. I'd rather have the food be fresh and made with a little care. Having said it's not huge, there are about 30/40 items for you to choose from in addition to a very solid salad bar. There's plenty of food.

Some of the reviews here are hilarious. No matter how great a buffet is, you never go right before they close. Everybody should know that.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GunnersMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    12
    3
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
218 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good Chinese Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food was very good with lots of choices, and the exceptionaly good steamed meat buns! The typical chinese food fare, delicious and satisfying! The ambience is good, comfortable seating and attentive staff! The prices are good.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Felixberto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkton, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Take Out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2012

I used the take out for lunch and was so impressed I returned for dinner. The sushi was fresh and tasty. The variety was great and the other items were diverse enough to give me the choice I like in a Buffet. They do close between lunch and dinner so check times before you show up, just to be sure they are open.

Visited May 2012
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank mtoddg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“great food, great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We go here every few months, and love it! It's a sushi buffet, but they also have a hot buffet area as well as hibachi grill area. I always go for the sushi! They have a great selelction of rolls, not just your typical California roll (which they also have). They also have 1 section of just sushi. They have fantastic salmon, buttery and fresh, tuna, crab stick, egg, all of the usual things. They also have a dessert area. Dinner is $18.95 but they have coupons on their website (http://www.misakijapanesebuffet.com/). I always eat too much there, because they have such yuumy sushi and great variety.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sgcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
218 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Excellent Buffet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

The restaurant is very nice, simple and well appointed! The service by the waite staff is very
good, very attentive ladies.The food is very goog, to excellent, if one likes sushi. The variety
of sushi must be about two dozen kinds! There were many california rolls, and vegetable sushi's to choose from. There are many other kinds of dishes that they offer, almost like the "Chinese" type. Some of our friends do not eat sushi, but they were able to eat other dishes!
The "hibachi" was very good, with alot of stuff to choose from! The Japanese salads were so
good, which includes some seaweeds-delicious! The desserts were good enough, cakes and some cookies and very good, the coconut ice cream and green tea ice creams!
We were there for lunch, and we have also had diner there , before, and the price for lunch is the
best for the money! It is also easy to find this restaurant, very close from I-84 interstate highway-east or west!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Felixberto E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Misaki Japanese Buffet also viewed

 

Been to Misaki Japanese Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing