We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What has happened ??” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana

Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana
Ranked #6 of 196 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NYC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What has happened ??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I make it a point to stop at Frank Pepe's when I am in Manchester. Stopped in Tuesday and could not get waited on. Sat there for 15 minutes with no one saying anything to me. The restaurant was not busy. So I walked out.
Called in an order today. Went to pick it up and it was wrong. So again no pizza. This place has some of the best pizza but the wait staff either can't or won't take an order Too bad.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    47
    25
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“my heart belongs to Pepe's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

i have grown up knowing that in Ct., if you REALLY want good Pizza, YOU GO TO Pepe's..Simple to the point..It wasn't until I was in my twenties that i became a"regular"..I even worked for the Pepe's located in Westville(a distant cousin but NOT the ORIGINAL Wooster St Pepe's)New Haven, Ct., for a while.. All I can say is: if you are a "Chicago style pizza lover" maybe Pepe's isn't for you..Their crust is thin flavorful&the edges are incredibly crunchy, smoky,slightly burnt(in a GOOD way), their sauce leaves ABSOLUTELY nothing to be desired&they ALWAYS seem to KNOW exactly how much Mozz to drop on their pies.. My mouth just waters at the thought of chowing down on one of their incredibly sumptuous pizza's for breakfast lunch OR dinner.&that's just one of their regular ol' mozz&sauce pizza pies..If you go to Pepe's and CAN'T find something to love about their pizza's…well, maybe you're just a negative nancy, or possibly just cranky by nature because to me Pepe's IS PIZZA..'nuff said!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our special turned out more special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have eaten here twice in 3 weeks because we had family visiting from out of town and wanted them to try CT-style pizza. Since they are known for their white clam pizza pie, we ordered one of those and two other pies. One with mushrooms and bacon and one with roasted peppers, garlic, and spinach. In the best bites, the clam pizza tasted like garlic. In the worst bites, it was fishy and rubbery. I think we are done with the clam white pizza. The other two pies were good. The bacon is a true bacon, not like those glorified bacon bits in other places. The fire-roasted peppers were also really good. The pizzas are thin but large. We ordered one small and one medium, which will easily feed 4 adults with enough pizza leftover for another meal. It is much pricier than other pizza places.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TripMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Definitely Dislike this pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

sorry but this pizza was way tooooo thin for the meal and price - so think one would ask
where is the pizza? like where is the beef?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Close to the original Pepes in New Haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We ordered a regular cheese, white clam and a mushroom with Gorgonzola cheese. ALL WERE VERY GOOD and similar to the original Pepe's pizza. Service was friendly and accommodating.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UConnRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing