We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Network Had it Right!!!”

Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana
Ranked #6 of 196 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food Network Had it Right!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

Food Network touted Frank Pepe's White Clam Pizza as the best in Connecticut. All I can say is amen! A thin crust oven baked pizza topped with olive oil, cheese and clams is simple but totally delicious. A large though pricey ($25) is more than enough to feed four hungry people. Also enjoyed an Italian soda which was recommended by our waitress. We ate at the location in suburban Hartford which is strip mall modern, attractive and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The iconic original location is in New Haven and was opened in 1925. Next trip we hope to visit there and experience both the venue and some of the best pizza around.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terpfan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    47
    28
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Superb pizza with decent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

Pepe's pizza is a growing phenomenon, because of one thing...the way they do pizza. They have perfected the technique of making a truly delicious pie by using a very high temperature - with their coal-fired brick oven - for a shorter cooking period. The result is a tasty seasoned flavor with a crust that has a perfect chewy/crunch. The edges are slightly burned and everything is cooked to perfection.

The pizza makers construct the pizzas right at the counter, and you can watch them at any time, which is something that my children love to do. You can see with your own eyes, the quality ingredients that they are using, and how they put the ingredients together on the pizzas.

Our family favorite is the Summer Pizza, available only in the summer months: a white pie made with fresh tomatoes, basil, olive oil, garlic, and mozzarella cheese. If they do not make your pizza correctly, they will quickly make you another one. Satisfaction guaranteed.

The restaurant itself, is nothing fantastic. The tables are basic white, and there are a lot of booths - around 18-20. They keep the place clean, which is more important to us than the decor - which consists of historical pictures of the restaurant's founder Frank Pepe, as well as some famous people photographed eating the pizza.

My one complaint about Pepe's has nothing to do with the pizza. The women's restroom only has one stall in it, for the entire restaurant. It is clean in there, however, there is usually a bit of a line for all of the women to wait to use the restroom. Not earth shattering. It's clean, so I can live with it.

The pizza is pricey, but well worth the cost. We drive 45 minutes to go to Pepe's on occasion, and we love it. You will LOVE this pizza.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tennismother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The best pizza around!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

Originally from New Haven and relocating to the Northeast corner of the state, there are not too many places to get decent pizza. We were thrilled when Pepe's came to Manchester because with a 20 minute drive we can have the pizza we are accustomed to. Sometimes we think it is even better than New Haven. We have never had a bad pizza in Manchester and the waitstaff is really great. Also, the wait time is always short, if there is a wait at all, which is more than I can say for Wooster St.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ammorello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Believe the hype”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2010

Traveled to Connecticut recently to visit the wife's family. After seeing it on the Travel Channel numerous times, I hit Pepe's for lunch on Christmas Eve. If you are unfamiliar with the area, check the website for directions as it is tucked away in a Lazy Boy plaza on the backside of a larger mall-shopping area. I forgot the boring, suburban atmosphere as soon as the pie was placed in front of me. Just burned thin crust, sweet sauce and some of the best spicy, sliced link sausage I've ever had. A day later all other food sounds unappealing. I'll be back every time I'm in the state.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hucksterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You can get good pizza at Frank Pepe!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2010

Last weekend we had bee to Frank Pepe. One can get the best pizza over here. The service is also very good. The waitress was very understanding and cordial to us. Over here they just ask us directly what we want, unlike other restaurants where they ask waht appetizer,waht desert at the end, This aspect is what i really liked as we can just order what we want. It is that simple as they dont carry such fattening appetizers like others. We go...we eat...we come out.......it's really that simple!!!. On the whole if one needs good tasty pizza....go to Frank Pepe!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deejey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana also viewed

 

Been to Frank Pepe's Pizzeria Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing