We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like it used to be”
Review of Cristy's Madison

Cristy's Madison
Ranked #8 of 49 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not like it used to be”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here years ago and was really nice. Not so anymore. We ate outside because it was a lovely night. Didn't know that the outside seating is also where all the smokers go from the bar. Smelled horrible. Food was not much better. French fries were served cold. Macaroni salad was so stale it was edible. Burgers were ok. Much better placed to go in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scouts4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    69
    10
    8
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Newly renovated local spot”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

This place has the chance to soar along the shoreline. It had become a dark, old, dingy drinking hole. No more~it has been cleaned up~resided, painted, brightened up with pretty lighting & the floors have been refinished. Stopped in for a light meal with a friend~the lobster bisque was so good~the grilled cheese on wheat was also great~served on yummy bread from Brooklyn. We were told the menu~which was limited, will be broadened in a few weeks when they have their grand re-opening. So nice to be able to walk to this spot!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dreijunge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Atmosphere”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I returned to the Dolly Madison after having experience there the best hamburger (1/2 pounder) of my life last month. This time I ordered the scrod plate and a tuna melt which were just excellent. The scrod was so juicy and the tuna melt was just the perfect blend of tuna and cheese that I had to stop and complement the chef. I choose to sit at the bar this time and found it very easy to engage in conversation with the bartender and the other patrons. It reminded me of the bar on the Cheers TV program that aired a few years ago. I look forward to visiting the Dolly Madison again on my next Connecticut shoreline drive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank 201fred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, hospitality and personal attention”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food was very good, large portions and an extensive menu ( most entries under $20.00). We had a variety of dishes and all were served hot and together. The service was excellent, we never felt rushed. The atmosphere was warm and cozy (a fireplace even!). All in all, we had a wonderful evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
13 Thank Al S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I love this Place”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

My husband and I first came here for a Valentine’s Day meal Four years ago and have been coming back ever since. The food is delicious and there is plenty of it. You will never go home hungry that’s for sure. I'm a Vegetarian and they always accommodate me and go that extra mile.

The bar itself has a real friendly atmosphere. There always seems to be a nice mixture of locals and newbies. If you are new, then the Manager Dave goes out of his way to make you feel welcome. He did when we first went.

It's our local now!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
14 Thank HGBPink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cristy's Madison also viewed

 

Been to Cristy's Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing