We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay diner not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nick's Place

Nick's Place
Ranked #22 of 49 Restaurants in Madison
Cuisines: American, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Okay diner not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Nick's is a convenient stop between Madison and Guilford. The menu is decent and they serve breakfast lunch and dinner. There always offer specials. While the people are nice the food is always only so-so. I cannot put my finger on it but as an example the breakfast potatoes I find to always be heavy and overly spiced. I am reluctant to say it but there are multiple other choices not far that are worth considering.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place for simple things”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's a down to earth, basic place, with good food. Not gourmet or anything, but certainly better than your basic dinner, and reasonably priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LoriCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A place to come in out of the storm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Both for Irene last year and Hurricane Sandy this year where we took a good hit both times, Nicks was ready with a generator and a hot Skillet. Good hot food for under $10.00 made to order, and other choices which are a little higher. Rely nice for the family.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“We rarely make a trip to Madison, CT without breakfast at Nick 's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Nick's Place has always been a given on our family trips to visit the Grandparents in Madison. It seems as the kids grow we rarely can agree on where we are going to eat, but everyone agrees on breakfast at Nick 's.

Helpful?
1 Thank kimbe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy, but good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This place isn't fancy but they have some great food. The lobster rolls are pretty good. It is also a nice place to go out for lunch or breakfast!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryanlovestraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Place also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing