We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ooh la la!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Bouchee

Bar Bouchee
Ranked #1 of 49 Restaurants in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
ambermom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Ooh la la!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

What great food! Bar Bouchée is a real gem.
We ate at the bar and were charmed by Fernando, the personable and efficient bartender, as well as by our fellow diners, who chatted amiably and convinced me that the chicken was so good that I had to order it. They were absolutely right. The steak was flavorful and cooked to order; the lobster bisque was savory; the desserts were to die for. You really cannot go wrong at this busy, packed little place, but expect to have to make reservations well in advance.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ambermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    48
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
nancyPsfriend
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“really?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We arrived for our reservation and waited a 1/2 hour (which is fine)... about an hour into our dinner (we were a party of 4) our waitress came over and said that they were expecting another party of 4 to arrive and if we were ready to order dessert because they needed the table. Are you serious? You would think in this day and age you would be smarter than that. i mean it's not like the union league guy is cooking, you have a kid from Aspen in Saybrook cooking back there and I think he has done a pretty good job, but seriously if this is restaurant policy to skoot the parties along and bluntly suggest that we speed thru dinner so the restaurant can reload. we won't be back. Elizabeth's does a better job next store. bye bye

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank nancyPsfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best resturant is CT......best restaurant in U. S !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I get so excited when Madison Cinema is showing a great movie because we can eat at Bar Bouchee. They have France right there in that little restaurant, they have captured it so well in every aspect except for the maitre d' who is a little too nice ! Being European I consider myself qualified to make these statements. Also, we are strict vegetarians so know that french restaurants generally do not have the best options other that the usual 'omelette and frites', however, a couple of appetizers and a glass of bubbly were wonderfully satisfying. The freshest ingredients, delicately prepared and beautifully presented. When went in on a whim, could hardly get in the door but Claude found us a table, I think we were lucky but certainly recommend booking ahead. It is busy but certainly not too noisy and it all adds to the atmosphere and ambiance of this exceptional restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bateson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Bar Bouchee is hands down the best restaurant on the CT shoreline. The bar keep, Fernando is a "social chemist" as he makes all his own mixes with fresh ingredients. Claud is a blast. Tables are much too close, but it is a bar where you are supposed to interact with other people. Not romantic. Great wine. The best pan seared chicken in the entire world - that is not an exaggeration!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank doansteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, CT
Level Contributor
626 reviews
456 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Easily the best restaurant on the shoreline”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Bar Bouchee never, ever fails to please. The food, service and ambience are consistently superb. Fernando, the charming bartender is great at his trade and is pleasant as well. Claude, the maitre d' is gracious and warm and welcoming no matter how hectic and busy the restaurant is (and it is always full--call well ahead for reservations--days ahead). The relatively short menu changes periodically but represents typical Lyonnaise bistro fare--their fish dishes are always fresh and delcious, there is always a great risotto, chicken and lamb dishes are terrific. Actually we have never had anything here that wasn't great. The only drawback here, well--two actually: it is almost always crowded and often hard to get a reservation at the last minute, and the seating on fairly high stool-like chairs at elevated tables which may be hard for some older people to navigate. Overall, Bar Bouchee is consistently the best restaurant on the Connecticut shoreline--truly wonderful meals every single time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank v0yageur22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Bouchee also viewed

 

Been to Bar Bouchee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing