We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grate location for a quite vacation” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beech Tree Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beech Tree Cottages
Albany, New York, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Grate location for a quite vacation”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Took the family to a 3 night vacation in CT just near the beach.
Pos: this is a quiet place. Took the big cabin so we had small kitchen and gas BBQ outside- very comfortable to use. This place have some bikes so we could use them to cycle to the beach (about 1 mile), to the national park (even closer) and to the nearby town. Just from those reason I may return back to this place.
Neg: the facility is old and could use “some” renovation: not a lot- just new floor, kitchen and color the walls (maybe some more). The hot water was running low after 2 fast showers, and the flaw was low. I did raise this on the second day but no change.
So will I return? The location is great- but I believe that if I will find the bike option in another place, for a similar price, I will prefer better facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechTree1187, General Manager at Beech Tree Cottages, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed using our complimentary bicycles to explore Madison, its beaches, and Hammonasset State Park. We hope you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We will take your decorating comments into consideration during our winter maintenance plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed in a large cottage (9) for the labor day weekend. Very comfortable, quiet and clean. Cobwebs in the fan bothered my husband a little bit, but that was the only "dirt" I saw. We really enjoyed our stay. We walked to the state park beach (beautiful) and drove to Madison and Clinton for dinners.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReadyErin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechTree1187, General Manager at Beech Tree Cottages, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your review. We will be sure to double check ceilings and fans in the future. We are glad that you enjoyed your time in the area and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

My boyfriend and I just returned from a two-night stay at Beech Tree and really enjoyed our stay. I was, at first, a little put off that there was not an on-line reservation system , but I guess it's not too uncommon for a property like a cottage, and really it wasn't a hassle to call them!
We stayed in cottage #9, the red one pictured, which was one of the large cottages so it included a small sink and fridge, toaster and microwave, and access to a gas grill shared with the cottage next door. It was a great having the option of cooking dinner one night, which we did. The cottage was very clean and homey and bigger than we had anticipated, with a nice sized living room and bedroom, and the kitchenette I mentioned.
The property was lovely, as well, though not quite as big or secluded as the pictures may make it seem. But don't get we wrong, we did not feel like we were on top of anyone else staying there and, in fact, hardly saw or heard our neighbors! The staff was helpful and nice and on our first day, even after arriving close to 3pm, we were able to get a pass to the town beaches, which were a short and scenic drive away. Hammnonsset state beach is just over a mile away and you can access it on foot by nature trail or by bike, which Beech Tree provides. Both options are free, but given the heat, we drove and paid $15 (for out of state plates) to park.
The beach itself was also beautiful! Madison town center, including Stop and Shop, was just about 2 miles away.
All in all, for $161 a night, Beech Tree was a good value in a good location. We had a good time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechTree1187, Manager at Beech Tree Cottages, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Dear Elle,

Thank you for your kind and honest review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time spent at the beach. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Enjoy the rest of you summer.

All the best,
*Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I made a reservation for my daughter and myself over the phone.. Was a little nervous to do so.... Had no idea what to expect... We couldn't have been happier. Charming, clean, spacious cottage (We stayed in the Red one pictured above).. We can not wait to return...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Noree C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Beech Tree Cottages, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
We are so delighted to hear that your stay was one to remember.

Best of Wishes,

-Elizabeth

Beech Tree Cottages
(203) 245-2676
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guilford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

My family and I just returned from a stay at Beech Tree Cottages. We stayed in cottage #8 and our stay couldn't have been more wonderful. Our cabin was spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. The bed and futon were very comfortable, with clean linens and they even provided a roll away cot for one of our children. The ceiling fans and air conditioners were a welcome relief from the heat wave. We even had a flat screen table top TV with a nice selection of channels. The grounds are nicely landscaped and the giant swing was a big hit with the kids. It is very close to Hammonassett Beach State Park which is the nicest state park in all of Connecticut.

Room Tip: Cabin #8 worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My brother and I spent a night at Beech Tree Cottages a few weeks ago each in a different cottage and found our rooms smelling of mildew. The lighting was poor, screens dirty and mirror much to high in the bathroom. We moved to another location in the area and had a much nicer experience. We would not consider this location for a future visit. We did not need any additional services. Not a happy camper...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joyce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeechTree1187, Manager at Beech Tree Cottages, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Joyce,

We appreciate your business and appologize for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay. We are so sorry that your time with us did not meet your expectations. We have taken into consideration the suggests that you posted here and noted at check-out.

Unfortunately, with an older seasonal property, maintenance issues do arise and we do our best to make improvements as often as needed. We can assure you that there are no traces of mildew in the cottages; however, the cluster of mature pine trees beside the cottage building you and your brother stayed in do create a shady atmosphere and fill the air with a woodsy scent, particularly after a rainy spell like we had in June. The window in the bathroom does contain an aluminium screen, which has oxidized over time. We plan on replacing this along with the bathroom mirror according to your comments.

We thank you for your suggestions and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

My sister and I stayed at the Beech Tree Cottages in mid-September, and overall it was a very good experience. The staff were quite friendly and welcoming and helpful. We shared the large cottage, so we each had a bed - one in the bedroom, the other on the futon in the living room. The cottage was very charming and comfortable - just like the cozy cottage we'd imagined. The kitchen was fairly well-equipped - refrigerator, microwave, sink, some dishes/utensils. Oddly, there were no knives, and it would have been helpful to have napkins (paper or cloth) or paper towels. There was an A/C unit in the bedroom. Had it been particularly hot, I think we would have been uncomfortable - I don't foresee staying here in the dead of summer - but it was fine given the weather we had. If you need it particularly dark for sleeping (or sleeping late in the mornings), this isn't the place for you - lots of light bled through windows and doors, some of which were totally uncovered. The screen door was torn, which was frustrating - we would have liked to let in some cool evening air, but we didn't want the bugs. We loved how secluded the cottage felt, and the grounds of the cottages were lovely and well-kept. The only problem with the location - we were in a cell-phone dead zone, so be forewarned! We didn't get to take advantage of being near the beach and the town of Madison (we were in town to care for a sick relative), and we assume that would add a lot of value to staying here. We loved being in the cottage and loved its simple, pretty decor (not over-the-top "country," thank goodness!), but the minor problems we identified might keep us from returning. Also, their cancellation policy is a bit draconian - 10 days advance notice. We understand that this allows them to keep their prices low - the large cottage was $140/night (not including tax) - which helps to make up for the cancellation policy (and the other problems we've identified). Overall, I'd recommend this place if you're not very particular and are looking for affordable charm and comfort. The Madison/Guilford area has a dearth of good places to stay, and the Beech Tree Cottages certainly offers a nice, more "homey" alternative to places like the Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nature4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
2.2 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
11.2 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
8.3 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Scranton Seahorse Inn
Scranton Seahorse Inn
#1 of 5 in Madison
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#2 of 5 in Madison
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
6.7 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Cottages

Property: Beech Tree Cottages
Address: 1187 Boston Post Rd, Madison, CT 06443-3334
Location: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within a three-acre landscaped estate in the beautiful shoreline community of Madison, Connecticut, Beech Tree Cottages is the perfect destination for short excursions, romantic weekends or family vacations. Originally built in the 1930s as a seaside retreat, Beech Tree Cottages was lovingly restored by the Talmadge Family and has remained family owned and operated since 2000. The cottages offer guests a unique alternative to the hotel experience at affordable prices just seconds from the beach. Walk or bike to Hammonasset Beach State Park - Connecticut's largest beach, with 2 miles of beach front to enjoy and 400 acres to explore. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing