We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scranton Seahorse Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Madison B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a lovely weekend stay here recently. Our room was spacious, clean, relaxing, with a very comfortable bed. And the inn itself has a wonderful welcoming feel and is decorated with great seasonal style. (During October, Halloween was definitely the theme for all the businesses in Madison!) I can imagine that the Scranton Seahorse Inn would be stunning during the Christmas season! Michael is an excellent host and served delicious breakfasts. Indeed, his breakfasts were certainly a highlight of the weekend. If I could make one suggestion, it would be to have a box of kleenex in the room or bathroom -we did miss this. (If there was kleenex, we couldn't find it.) The location is great - adjacent to some lovely shops in Madison. Overall, an excellent stay!

Room Tip: We had a very spacious room with a jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We love getting the inn ready for all holidays but fall and Halloween happen to be our favorite. So happy to hear you enjoyed it. We do put kleenex is every room but if we missed yours we apologize. Hope to see you in the future. Our Christmas tree is spectacular!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 261 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

This place will exceed every expectation! Our stay included having our wedding at the Inn. Michael made sure our day and stay was fabulous. We enjoyed the special breakfast each morning and the pleasant conversation. Michael knows the area and is willing to share fresh ideas on anything you ask of him. The Inn was nicely decorated and cared for by Michael and his Mom:) we have stayed at Bed and Breakfasts in many locations and this is the best.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desiree V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

It was a very special moment for us to have been a part of your wedding and we are so grateful you chose us to be your hosts for the week. Thank you again and we'll see you for your 1st anniversary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our second visit was as good as the first. Area chain hotels seem to get poor reviews from hygiene to food to services but 5-star here. Mike provides an inviting, seasonally decorated "home" to all from being gay-friendly to accommodating large dogs. A few steps from the charming downtown Main St. with its upscale shops and easy access to I-95 we really feel welcome here. Saving the best for last: with his culinary background you'll love his copious and tantalizing breakfasts. Great coffee, unique teas, apple pancakes with cider-maple syrup reduction, peppered bacon, tasty coffee cakes, hot fruits, and quiches - maybe you won't need lunch. The Seahorse offers many room styles and ours had marvelous sheets on a very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Look at photos on line & ask questions. Very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bebenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

We loved seeing you again and thanks for always being so complimentary of breakfast - it's a source of inspiration! We also love the diversity our guests bring with them and it always makes for a great breakfast conversation. We'll see you at Christmas. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We've stayed here twice now, as we have family in Madison. This is such a lovely inn with charming rooms and many amenities. I love the 24 hour coffee and tea, and delicious breakfast. Our hosts were warm and knowledgeable, and very accommodating. It is also right by the town, so there is no need to drive once you're at the Inn. We will continue to stay here each month when we visit Madison.

Room Tip: We've stayed in a different room each time and have loved both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makingheadlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SSImadison, Owner at Scranton Seahorse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you so much for your business and taking the time to write such nice things. We love having you here and enjoy hosting you during your visits. Hope to see you at the inn again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were just passing through Connecticut during a recent road trip and found this place by chance. Our hosts Michael and Olive were most charming and welcoming and the property is very pretty, clean and spacious. The room was lovely, the bed super comfortable (my partner found the mattress a bit too soft for his taste however, but perfect for me), full private bathroom right in our room was spotless, linens were fresh. Breakfast was excellent and copious. Self-serve coffee and beverages were available at all times. It is very well located too, on a not-too-busy road that combines residences and businesses, including a very interesting dinner option a few doors down across the street (Elizabeth's Cafe). From the Inn, were able to walk to a small public beach (about 5-minute walk) set in a residential area where we met friendly locals having a sunset picnic. Being a light sleeper, I also appreciated the fact that the place was very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palomazzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights in mid-June while visiting with some friends who live in the area. We stayed in the "Ocean Dreams" room, and it is exactly as depicted on the property web-site, except pictures cannot capture the true charm of the room and the attention to detail in decorating the room/bathroom. Our room/bathroom were spotlessly clean. Our bed was wonderfully comfortable, had silky soft linens, and the bathroom jacuzzi was very nice. The Seahorse is a historic inn (built in 1833), so it is a little "quirky"; in some spots the original floors are a tad uneven, some gaps beneath interior doors, low "headroom" when going up the stairs, etc. Never mind these ....... that is one of several things that make this place interesting, unique, and NOT fitting with the cookie-cutter mold of chain hotels. Also, there are many interesting design elements in the home which you just don't see anymore. The Inn-Keeper, Michael, is a charming host, friendly, helpful, willing to chat a bit, and offers excellent recommendations of things to see and do in the area, and dining advice. Plus, his breakfasts are excellent with a "buy fresh/buy local" use of local produce & meats. Madison is a cute little "village" with some beautiful, old properties and a small but cute shopping district. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nittfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I just stayed here for our first anniversary. The food was magazine-worthy and the host and inn keeper, Michael, was an awesome host. The inn itself was so cozy and homey and we loved the feeling of visiting a friend's house rather than staying in some plain old hotel. We stayed in the Madison Getaway room and loved the jacuzzi tub! :) We only wished it was colder outside so we could've tried out the fireplace. Just another reason to come back!!

Thanks for a wonderful stay, Michael!!

Room Tip: The Madison Getaway room has a fireplace and a 2-person jacuzzi tub which we loved!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindusmaximus86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
1.0 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
12.6 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
748 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Guilford
62 reviews
9.7 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
151 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tidewater Inn
Tidewater Inn
#2 of 5 in Madison
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scranton Seahorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scranton Seahorse Inn

Address: 818 Boston Post Rd, Madison, CT 06443-3156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Price Range: $159 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scranton Seahorse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful Greek Revival built in 1833 is perfectly located in the center of Madison. Park your car and walk to the beaches, restaurants, movie theater and boutiques. Our inn is available for small parties, weddings, business meetings and luncheons. Call the inn to discuss plans for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Scranton Seahorse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scranton Seahorse Hotel Madison

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing