We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Ridiculous” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercy Center at Madison

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mercy Center at Madison
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Madison
United States
Level Contributor
275 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Ridiculous”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

To get anyone to return an inquiry be it phone or email was nearly impossible. Over a dozen contacts for nothing! A drive to the property showed it delapidated and hardly able to accept guests of any sort. There must be a benefactor that just pours money into this place in spite of itself! Too bad, would have been perfect for our gathering. Hopefully at some point, someone at Mercy center will show inquiries some mercy so the surroundings can be enjoyed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AOneWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orland, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a religious setting. It is not for anyone to come and be here. What needs to be stated since all the other reviews, is that the administration has changed and the food is horrible. For what a person pays to stay here, the food is appalling. There is never enough. Last year they went through a transition so hopefully there was enough feedback to have them take an honest look at what is being served and see does it equal what a person pays to stay there and the clientele that comes there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Mercy Center is a wonderful place to relax and spend time soul-searching, resting, reading, walking, or swimming. Most guests are on religious/spiritual retreats. The rooms are simple but clean. There are no televisions or phones and most of the guests at the center spend their time there in silence. The chef prepares simple, local, nutritious meals and will accomodate allergies and vegetarian diets. Please stay away if you want to "party at the beach" because this is not the place for that.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank balucky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

Lovely beach. Extremely quiet and peaceful. Multi-cultural, multi-spiritualities.
Was Catholic; now includes myriad religions. But very peaceful, incredibly
relaxing to be there.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anonymooseCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2002

The Mercy Center is a conference and retreat center. It one of the the most spiritually peaceful places I have ever experienced in my lifetime. One can only experience it.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
1.5 mi away
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
1.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Guilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
4.9 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
12.0 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#3 of 7 in Old Saybrook
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercy Center at Madison? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercy Center at Madison

Property: Mercy Center at Madison
Address: 167 Neck Rd, Madison, CT 06443-2725
Location: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing