We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
ct
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Had a great time !”
Reviewed August 19, 2009

My wife and I just spent a stress free weekend here. We had a great time, the staff, resturant, and room were all very nice. All rooms are ocean front, with a nice cont. breakfast incl . We thought the price was very reasonable for an ocean front room. I just read on some of the posts that the hotel is closing up, thats sad, you don't find many places like this anymore. We were planning on coming back again. They have live bands on the weekend in the Warf and also on the porch, bonfire on the beach so kids could make smores etc... Its the only hotel in Ct where the beach goes right up to the building. The maintenance man is the best, very friendly, I saw a man try to tip him, the maintenance man said he didn't want his money, just his friendship! ( he says "he's a maintenance man with no tools) It really is a New England beach hotel, it makes you feel at home esp rocking on the rocking chairs on the porch overlooking the ocean, its hard to find places like this anymore, Its sad to hear they may tear it down for a new expensive hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zebCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    129
    57
    23
    24
See reviews for
160
327
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I was staying for a wedding and had the opportunity of viewing quite a few of the rooms. Very quaint hotel but is quite run down and many things in the room did not work. Also usual standards in other hotels like hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and an iron all need to be obtained from reception (and dropped back once finished with). Staff were matter of fact - did their job but not a great deal of pleasantries. On the upside it's right on the beach and the outlook is lovely and all rooms have balconies out overlooking the sea. Quite pricey for the standard of the hotel but it's the location you are paying for. Generally it's charming and a bit of a wreck all wrapped up into one so you'll either love it or hate it! Apparently they are tearing it down next year and rebuilding!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kinuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2009

I've been coming to the Madison Beach hotel for over ten years. It is a great old beach hotel - not fancy, they don't fawn over you, and yes, the staff is old-school Yankee, which can seem cold to some. It is not cheap - a small room with balcony is $200+ in season - but considering it's location, an OK value. It's a great place to come and enjoy a vacation without the sort of hoopla and pretentiousness that is endemic to most beach hotels. My family comes here a few times a year exactly because it is a simple place without stuck-up Wall street types. It isn't the Hamptons, and that's just the way we like it.
Sadly, all that's about to end. In 2006 it was purchased by the super-rich Ric Duques, who will tear down the lovely old building an put up a fancy new one in 2009-2010. It's not going to be a family place anymore (unless you're the Gates or Trump family), as the prices are slated to increase substantially from their already fairly high point. Even the old gravel parking lot will be supplanted by valet parking, according to one of the employees. Clearly, Mr. Duques is building a place where he and his friends can feel comfortable. Great for the very wealthy, not so great for the vast majority of the people who are the hotel's current clientele.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sf6864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

My husband and I stayed there last weekend for a romantic getaway and that's what we got. Is it a fancy resort hotel? No. And I don't think that they advertise as such. It is a perfect little "old school" hotel, with updates. Is the room a little sandy? Yes. It sits right on the beach for God sakes. If you've stayed down the Jersey shore, you will find that this place is a lot nicer for a cheaper rate. We definitely got the relaxation that we went there for. There was even a bonfire on Saturday night with all the fixin's for s'mores!

The ONLY problem I had was the bartenders in the bar and the chef in the kitchen. The bartenders had an attitude and spoke a little condescendingly to me. Also, the chef refused to take something off of my salad, that I didn't like. So I didn't eat it and I spent $12 on it.

  • Liked — The Beach!
  • Disliked — The Bar
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RelaxedGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2008

I guess we are not up to the standards because the staff paid no attention to us . We had minor requests and we were treated like we were a bother . Room was ok. Prices were ok. Staff either did not like us or we did something wrong because we were treated like low lifes .

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank Dyhutribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Stay was mediocre. The manager would not tell me the owners name .I was unhappy about the restaurant. Service and value was below average. People don't come here for good service as I was offered options and even the options were poor.They can't even do that right. Meals are only half cooked and had to be returned to the kitchen. Rooms were dirty or at least mine was. The toilet wasn't even flushed ! the sheets were stained. Floor was gritty . Windows had a film from not being cleaned on a regular basis. Very cstly for what you get here.

  • Liked — Area was scenic
  • Disliked — low budget service for four star cost
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank augurust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2008

The room was fine. The Restaurant was terrible. Not even bad service or bad food. There was no service. We got menu's and water to drink. nice view of the sea scape.

  • Liked — location veiw
  • Disliked — dining or lack of
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArosTottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
13.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
720 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
106 reviews
16.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Guilford
60 reviews
6.3 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ & Suites Guilford
8.9 mi away
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
Water's Edge Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Westbrook
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Property: Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Address: 94 W Wharf Rd, Madison, CT 06443-2905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a curve of the Connecticut coastline,with a clear view across the widest stretch of Long Island Sound, stands the Madison Beach Hotel, Connecticut's only hotel, resturant, banquet and coference faciltily located directly on the beach. The Madison Beach Hotel is undergoing a transformation and will re-open as a world class, luxury hotel in 2011, a casually elegant boutique resort with a traditional New England beach front ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing