We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Day At The Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

When my wife and I decided to take a mental health day and get away, we opted to head for lunch at the beach. We knew of the recently built Madison Beach Hotel and decided to give it a try. In a word - Fantastic! We were treated like Royalty, We've been to many hotels where the staff just did their jobs, but this place was different. Everyone, without exception, went out of their way to make our day enjoyable. Their professionalism, their smiles and engaging personalities really allowed us to relax and enjoy ourselves - the whole purpose we took the day off. We were at the beach, and where else to have an all-seafood lunch. The clam chowder was wonderful. My wife had the Tuna Tartar appitizer, while I had the Maine steamers. We both went with the special of the day, Lobster Salad on a Tomato Starburst. The presentation was spectacular, as was all the food. It was a pleasure to send compliments to the chef. Finishing with great dessert choices of Strawberry Shortcake Sliders and Chocolate Smores Cake, everything was just delicious. Thursday nights during the summer, there are free performances on the grass between the hotel and the beach. Again, all of the enthusiastic staff encouraged us to stay and take in the concert. They truly wanted us to enjoy ourselves. This evenings performance was John Cafferty and the Beaver Brown Band. Night was clear with a star filled sky, beautiful hotel and surroundings and a great performance by John and his band. What a Perfect Day!! I can't say enough about this place. Oh - and by the way, Mental Health Day - Mission Accomplished.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (728)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 728 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

My husband and sister met this week at 5pm for a standard happy hour get together. The overall service was great, the flatbread pizza ok however in need of more toppings (counted 7 sundried tomatoes) and the beverages (wine & martini) fine. However, upon arrival, my sister inquired w/ the outdoor bellmen as to parking. They said..."valet is the only option". Come to find out it is complimentary valet parking which would have been nice to state up front, or, even post a sign so all are aware driving up to the main entrance. Barely anyone outside during what should be a peak time for a happy hour crowd. It may have something to do with the fact there is no "formal" happy hour - with a discounted f&b menu. One would think if the hotel is looking for local support, this is something that would help. Also, although there were speakers outside on the porch, no music was playing. When I inquired, the explanation was: "unfortunately we cannot synch up our sound system and therefore because we have music playing in the dining room, we're unable to have music outside". If this is so, whoever designed the sound system should be accountable for correcting this. Light jazz background music would have been nice. And, because there was a small crowd at 5pm, upon arrival, dirty used glassware should have been picked up; instead, we saw a couple tables with leftover beverages on them. So, a few tweaks will make it a more memorable experience for all!

Room Tip: N/a; did not use sleeping rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shamrock8869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This brand-new, very deluxe spa hotel looks and feels a bit like a luxury cruise ship. The very well-trained and enthusiastic staff made us feel welcome and anticipated every need and desire. The balconied room was spacious and well-fitted (nice BIG bathroom!) and the wall of French doors opened to the beach and ocean right in front of us. A few quirks need to be ironed out, including a balcony door that flings open with such force in the ocean breeze that it nearly shatters the glass on the fixed pane window, and odd furniture arrangement that made it tricky to open the closet door and the balcony door. But many niceties as well including bathrobes placed on the beds and chocolates on the nightstand, bathrooms straightened and towels replaced while we were at dinner, etc.

The restaurant is in search of an identity. On a Sunday night it was filled with families and noisy babies and toddlers and yet the menu includes $52 lobster, $44 beef or lamb dishes and $14 salad appetizers. I had the caprese salad starter (artistically presented and tasty) and the steamed mussels as my entree (overcooked, a bit tough), followed by a very creative and satisfying S'mores cake for dessert. My friend's salmon was better prepared than my disappointing mussels.

Breakfast (not included in the $375 room fee which rises to a breathtaking $525 on weekends) was a delicious $16 omelet and $5 cup of coffee. Service is very attentive but you pay for it.

The location is sort of nowhere -- nothing to walk to, not much of a town to visit, so the beach and hotel amenities are the focus. We didn't use the many spa services or exercise facilities but they are extensive. It was a great place for two friends who don't get to see each other often to meet up, relax on our balcony, dip into the ocean and lounge on the beach chairs under the umbrellas, and feel like we're getting away from it all.

Room Tip: We loved room 201, down at the end of the hall. The balcony is only connected to a neighboring room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChamoisMountKisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for a week at the Madison Beach Hotel in July. We enjoyed ourselves so much that we are returning for 5 days this August! Even though only a two hour drive from NYC, we felt as if we were very far from the hustle and bustle!

We travel quite a bit and usually stay in luxury hotels. The Madison Beach Hotel is top notch in every way, right from the beautiful and comfortable accommodations, friendly and attentive staff, and fabulous views of the ocean from every room of the hotel!

We ordered room service a few times and the food was brought to us quickly and was very good. We also dined at the restaurant and everything we ordered was excellent. Especially, enjoyed the oyster sliders!

A luxurious and perfect hotel in which I would highly recommend!

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views and a lovely terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thecmist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed two nights in July. The hotel only re-opened in May so everything is luxurious, bright and glossy. The hotel is well located by the sea and as far as I could see all rooms have a sea view and balcony. Our rooms were comfortable and well equipped. There is a small private beach but insufficient loungers and parasols for all guests. The service was friendly and efficient.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We had a large room with a nice balcony. The rooms are large with comfy beds. The area is very pretty - beach is ok. We enjoyed the dinner we had in the restaurant at the property. Room Service breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happytravelinfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Although most of the review here for the Madison Beach Hotel were of the restaurant, when I tried to post my review here back in May, it was kicked back to me by Trip Advisor because they felt it was inappropriately catagoried. It ws then reliquished to a dusty corner of Trip Advisor reviews of The Wharf restaurant with no feedback from the management there. Since there are many other restaurant centric reviews here, I am trying again.

Reviewed May 23, 2012
I was at The Wharf for lunch yesterday with relatives I have not seen for a while. The acoustics were horrible and although the restaurant was less than half full, it was unbearably noisy. You could barely have a conversation with the person next to you. We were seated at a round table with a half round banquette which was exceedingly uncomfortable. It looked like it was designed for 4 or 5 people although they seated 7 of us at this table.

I ordered the arugula pizza because the menu said it was made with smoked mozzarella and roasted red peppers. There was so little cheese on this pizza that I could not tell if it was smoked mozzarella or not. The 2 tablespoons of grated whatever cheese they used certainly didn't have the nuanced depth of flavor of a smoked cheese. Perhaps because there was so little of it, this was impossible to discern. Since there was almost no cheese and barely 1 teaspoon worth of tiny pieces of roasted red pepper, this flat bread pizza was dry, dusty & tasteless. The greens on top did not have the peppery taste of arugula. They were bland, more like baby spinach, which was just sprinkled, undressed & uncooked, on top of this $12 waste of time.

My mother had a turkey club sandwich that had dirty lettuce and turkey that tasted "fishy". While my uncle had a "caesar salad" that although it wasn't what you would expect a caesar to be, rather it is simply half of head of romaine (cut lengthwise) that is grilled. This was not at all described on the menu. When he mentioned this to our waitress, who was very nice, she said "yes, it's not a traditional caesar salad. That's what makes it great! " Although her enthusiasm is to be commended, it should really be up to the patron to decide if they are interested in a dish based on the menu description. Since everyone generally knows what to expect from a caesar salad, and order one or not based on that expectation, it seems unfair to assume that everyone will think that a grilled hunk of lettuce is a "great" interpretation of an old standby.

Since we were wanted to sit and chat a bit after lunch we sat in the lobby which appears to have been designed by someone from Oklahoma exhibiting their boring interpretation of what a New England hotel should look like. It was a rainy, slightly chilly day and although we sat in front of a gas fireplace, none of the hotel employees were willing or able to turn on the fireplace (although I asked twice), which was rather disappointing. Apparently the only person who knew how to turn on the fireplace (which is generally as simple as pushing a button on a remote control) was in a meeting. The view, however, was lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laz-Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
13.4 mi away
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
Saybrook Point Inn & Spa
#1 of 7 in Old Saybrook
759 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tower Inn & Suites
Tower Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in Guilford
62 reviews
2.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Guilford
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Pier Blue Guesthouse
Pier Blue Guesthouse
#4 of 7 in Old Saybrook
154 reviews
13.4 mi away
Quality Inn Old Saybrook - Westbrook
16.7 mi away
Omni New Haven Hotel at Yale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton

Address: 94 W Wharf Rd, Madison, CT 06443-2905
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Madison
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Madison
Price Range: $203 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along a curve of the Connecticut coastline,with a clear view across the widest stretch of Long Island Sound, stands the Madison Beach Hotel, Connecticut's only hotel, resturant, banquet and coference faciltily located directly on the beach. The Madison Beach Hotel is undergoing a transformation and will re-open as a world class, luxury hotel in 2011, a casually elegant boutique resort with a traditional New England beach front ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Madison Beach Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madison Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing