We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice in Winter Expensive in Summer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hammonasset Beach State Park

Hammonasset Beach State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sandy beach ideal for walking.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Nice in Winter Expensive in Summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This beach is beautiful all months of the year. One sunny days in the winter we make the drive down and it is relaxing and peaceful to walk the trails. Many lovely spots perfect for taking great pictures. Best of all, it is free

In the summer it is very expensive admission to enter. Even if you go late in the day they still charge the full entrance fee. Aside from the high cost the beach is clean and well maintained and attracts alot of families

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank NewEnglandTraveler23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    132
    28
    7
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well, it is Long Island Sound”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

For a quick getaway, Hammonassett Beach is not a bad choice. The facilites are OK, but you have to keep in mind that the beach is part of Long Island Sound.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank QUTravelHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful State Park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Don't miss this great beaches and walking areas. My dog loved it and we both got tons of exercise. A must do in Connecticut.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, CT
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We love Hammonassett Beach, it is just beautiful and very relaxing. We enjoy visiting
evan in Winter. The beach is clean, lovely natural setting, lots of birds, and fun to swim,
or just walk the grounds.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank quiltspinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nancyPsfriend
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean beach, plenty of space”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Always a great day here. A nice boardwalk for a walk and the beach is always nice. Easy to get to and always a treat. Just go already. The best strip of beach on CT shore that you can lie on without someone yelling at you. I dare you to find a better public beach in CT

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank nancyPsfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hammonasset Beach State Park also viewed

 

Been to Hammonasset Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing