We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“December weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Litchfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Litchfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield
Boston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“December weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

In town for a wedding.
Great rooms, pristine clean, Inn does not have much authentic charm but it is spacious, immaculate and the continental breakfast was generous. really nice people who work there and the cookies and warm cider on arrival was a nice touch.

Room Tip: ask for second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemaebiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look to keep improving and hopefully we will see you at the Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    74
    25
    21
    20
See reviews for
63
90
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

We enjoyed a stay at the Litchfield Inn during Thanksgiving weekend. With too many people and not enough bedrooms at my in-laws' house, we opted to stay at the Litchfield Inn. We were in one of the renovated rooms and found it to be very comfortable and nicely appointed. Since it was a family-focused holiday, we didn't actually spend much time at the Inn. The beds were comfortable. We did enjoy the breakfast, which had something for everybody: cold cereal and milk, oatmeal, pastries, fruit, granola bars, etc... We'd gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DoctorScottFromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We're so glad to hear you had a good holiday and enjoyed your time at the Inn (and your breakfast). Hopefully we will be seeing you before next holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Litchfeild Inn is a perfect spot for a weekend or long weekend visit to Litchfeild County. I've tried a number of B&B's in the area, as that is most available lodging, but have found them to be just adequate. The Inn is much more comfortable, still cozy and friendly and has a very good restaurant for lunch and dinner. The only shortcoming for us was the prefunctory breakfast buffet. While a good value (gratis), it isn't up to the standards of the Inn or the restaurant.

Room Tip: long corridors -
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to review our Inn. We are working at improving everyday. We're are very glad to hear however that your enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will be seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had one of the renovated rooms, and it was lovely. There was a nice complementary breakfast as well. The only negative was the housekeeping. There was an old coffee pod left in the coffee machine, and there was a bag of water (melted ice) in the ice container. It made me wonder what other stuff was not properly attended to before our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jroth314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello JRoth,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our lovely inn. We're pleased that you liked the room and breakfast. Please know that we read all the reviews and take them very seriously and do our best to always improve our service. We hope the next time you join us that your stay will be perfect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor Locks
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nestled in the northwest corner of Connecticut this is a grand place. I was here for the CT Society of
Santas convention and the Inn couldn’t have been more accommodating. The staff was very helpful and attentive to our request. Many from our group spent 1 or 2 nights. All were delighted with their room. It was neat and clean and offered an ole New England experience. The food was some of the very best I’ve ever had. A roast beef dinner buffet couldn’t be beat. A baked ham and mac and cheese lunch was comfort food at its best on a cold November day. I understand the Inn is under new management and rooms are being renovated and plans are in place for a swimming pool ~ Yippee! It’s easy to find and the CT Northwest corner offers much to visitors looking for some New England village charm.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deardianne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello and thank you for the wonderful review. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us, and others about your experience with us. We're pleased you had a great time and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The Litchfield Inn has just finished renovating the entire Inn and Restaurant and it shows. I stayed in a deluxe room with two queen sized beds with so many pillows and soft comfy blankets that I didn't want to get out of bed! The tv was large with a great selection of channels, the refrigerator was an apt sized one-- which was great to hold all the beverages, cheese, and left overs comfortably. The robes, well my husband didn't want to take it off-- he even kiddingly asked the girl at the front desk if he could take it home!
The only downside was that people in the halls talking or closing their doors echoed and it sounded like the room was being broken into, or that the people talking, were in our room. Other than that, Bravo, on a beautiful place. I would definitely be going back if I need to get away from it all. The surrounding area where the Inn is is very quaint and people are so laid back and informative.
The continental breakfast that is served each morning is very filling. There were delicious muffins, small bagels, coffee, tea and juice! If you don't want to venture out, there is a coffee maker in the room that can also brew tea!
We had dinner at the Bantam Bistro our first night there and the food was very good. They have a new chef and this was only his second night cooking there. I had salmon that was to die for. Not over cooked, and the veggies served with it were very tasty. I had a hummus trio for an appetizer that I shared. yummy with fresh mint in one of the hummus trios and garlic in the other. My red and gold beet salad with goat cheese and baby greens was perfect!
Please give the Inn and the Bistro a try, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerriWine0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Hello Terri,
Thank you so very much for the glowing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and shared your experience. We look forward to you coming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

You've probably read about the extensive renovations that the Inn has been in the middle of....we were lucky enough to stay in one of the renovated rooms which were really nice on the surface....but there were enough of the details that were "off" to keep this from being a 4 or 5 star experience.

We showed up a little early and were told they'd have the room ready in about an hour. Almost 3 hours later we come back and told the room is not quite ready yet. We WERE early so no biggie...it becomes ready soon after.

The ameneties were great....except the boxes of soap were empty (!). The boxes were there, just empty. How do you put them all in a nice stack and not notice that? The hair net for showering was great....but the clean one in the package was nicer than the used one on hanging on the back of the bathroom door.

The shower knob came completely off.....you had to hold it on and twist to get it to work again.

There were 2 TVs in the room...but just one remote and it took quite a while to get the cable box to respond.

Dinner at their bistro was...dissapointing. The calamari was as chewy and rubbery as a tire (taken off the bill) and my wife's burger was raw in the middle. THey brought it back saying "the chef made you a new one"....but it was the same burger my wife had cut in half initially...just cooked longer. No issue with the re-cook but don't tell me it's a new one if it's not.

Breakfast was standard "continental" fare....breads and cereal.

This place is JUST on the cusp of being a great inn....they just need to round the rough edges that are absolutely within their reach (ability) to resolve.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Litchfield Inn, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are doing everything possible to keep the comments in mind while renovating and improving the Inn. We are changing things and getting better and we hope you'll come back soon and see how we've improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield
8.8 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
20.0 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 1 in Salisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
16.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
The Cornwall Inn
The Cornwall Inn
#1 of 1 in Cornwall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
7.3 mi away
Days Inn Torrington
Days Inn Torrington
#1 of 4 in Torrington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
18.6 mi away
Blackberry River Inn
Blackberry River Inn
#2 of 4 in Norfolk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Litchfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Litchfield Inn

Property: Litchfield Inn
Address: 432 Bantam Rd, P. O. Box 798, Litchfield, CT 06759-3201
Location: United States > Connecticut > Litchfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Litchfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Litchfield Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Litchfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Litchfield Hotel Litchfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing