We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”
Review of Bantam Bistro - CLOSED

Bantam Bistro
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: A Unique Dining Experience Bantam Bistro proudly sources local, organic farm-stand products to incorporate only the freshest ingredients in our dishes. We strive to provide you the most flavorful dining experience. Join us at our ivory granite bar to enjoy a refreshing cocktail or fine wine offering and then dine by our glowing fireplace while savoring our artisanal menu. We will look for you at the Bantam Bistro at the Litchfield Inn.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went here for dinner because we were staying at the inn. I had the lobster dinner, it was very good. I added a side salad, it was good but had way to much dressing. Husband had the filet minion. It was cooked perfectly, but was small, I don't think it was 8oz. Strawberry daiquiri was nice but expensive. Server was friendly but appeared to be a little over worked and was trying her best to keep up. We would eat here again.

Helpful?
Thank Theglassrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie A, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback and we will definitely review our shortcomings and assure you that your next visit at the Bistro will be much better. We appreciate your comments and look forward to have you again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    22
    11
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went to the Bantam Bistro on a Wednesday night. We were pleased to learn of their seniors special- 50 percent off a main course. We had the fried calamari and artichoke and spinach dip as appetizers. For main course two of us had the burgers - which were excellent. As was the fried Char, steak, roast chicken and the sausage small meal. The five of us were each impressed with the food and would definitely return! A nice touch- the chef brings out the main course. The server was very pleasant and accommodating. We sat outside and it was very pleasant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mexstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie A, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. It is indeed a pleasure to see our guest leave happy and assure to be back. It is encouraging for all of us and we look forward to have you again and surprise you with the best.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
1 review
“Mother's Day Brunch”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

It's a beautiful place. But we were very disappointed with this year's brunch. Went with same family members as last year and enjoyed it. This time, the 2 women greeting people were extremely disorganized. Although we had a reservation, we had to wait for 35 mins. to be seated. There were tables waiting to be cleared and I was told one would be prepared right away (this after waiting 15 mins.). I had to ask a second time (20 mins. later) if we could please be seated. One of the ladies scurried around to find a staff person to do this. Then the food was disappointing. Many dishes were cold. There were only 3 different desserts. We ate what was acceptable and left the rest. The whole time we were there, no one came to our table. There seemed to be very few staff on the floor. Yet, we had to pay the 20% gratuity. For what? We were 2 adults, 1 child and 1 senior, which we had clearly stated. Yet the bill we were presented with showed an adult charge of $37.95 for each of us. The same thing happened last year! My son went to the desk to have this corrected. We left there saying "Never again!" I have to mention that we went there for a regular Sun. brunch in the fall and were very unhappy, so should have known better. But the menu online looked so good for Mother's Day. If only it was as good as it sounded.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie A, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Sorry to read about your experience at the Bistro on Mother's Day. With the volume of guests it was not possible to restrict the assumed time for a sitting and the girls at the reception desk were trying to accommodate the arrivals. We had made enough provisions for early arrivals and late departures but borrowing little extra time from guest was the only option available. As requested the staff was making special arrangements for your family to be close to the buffet. As for the food was concerned the buffet was a combination of cold & hot platters and it is quite sad that the menu did not impress you. We do not intend to justify any of the inconvenience but can only apologize and assure you best of our services in future.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Happy hour that can't be beat”
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We went here for happy hour to find one of the best priced menus we've ever seen. $2 draft beers (any kind) $4 glasses of wine (huge glasses), etc. The food menu is also very reasonably priced with $6 sliders (including cheese, side of fries, you name it), $7 flat bread pizzas (not our favorite), plus many more options at an average of $5 or $6. We tried the beef skewers as well... nice presentation but had to send them back because the meat was just way too tough.

The staff is extremely friendly and everyone there knows each other. It's a big local spot for those who have found the great deals. Happy hour runs 7 days a week from 4-6pm with an extra hour outside on the patio if it's open. Tuesday night is also burger night where any type of burger is $5.95, you can't beat that. We'll be back for the burgers and beer.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie A, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thanks for your feedback. Please keep looking for more offers.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Connecticut
2 reviews
“great find close by”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was our second visit..and certainly won't be the last..everything was terrific...so far beyond our expectations..Jessi was so attentive and the same goes for Olivia our server this time and Darlene last time...and the best chef , William...you must try the boneless ribs...the best thing I ever ate..The steaks are great too!...everything was wonderful..can't wait to go back again..

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank malverne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie A, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback. It is indeed very encouraging for the team to give the best of the services. Chef is honored to read your review. Our creative team will continue to be at their best as always. We look forward to have you again with us.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bantam Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing