We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lunch that more people should know about”
Review of Bantam Bistro - CLOSED

Bantam Bistro
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Description: A Unique Dining Experience Bantam Bistro proudly sources local, organic farm-stand products to incorporate only the freshest ingredients in our dishes. We strive to provide you the most flavorful dining experience. Join us at our ivory granite bar to enjoy a refreshing cocktail or fine wine offering and then dine by our glowing fireplace while savoring our artisanal menu. We will look for you at the Bantam Bistro at the Litchfield Inn.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stopped in for lunch Saturday at just about noon. We were the only patrons in sight. Very lovely room, a diverse menu, and good preparation. We look forward to trying dinner the next time we are headed out. And, we suspect that when the places on the Green are packed with tourists the next couple of weeks, this will remain a neighborhood find, where a local could get in and out in reasonable time.

Like everywhere in this part of the County the beer selection ranges from pale, to IPA, to pilsner, but as I say, this place is the same as everywhere else in town, so you can't take points off. Maybe there is no wholesale beer that isn't see through, or Guinness in these parts?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dixonconsultinginc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Hello...thank you for taking the time to write about our lovely bistro.
We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and time with us.

As for lunch we have an express lunch that gets you in and out in 30 minutes (if needed)
We also have happy hour from 4-6 Mon-Sat. Perhaps not with the beer selection as large as you hoped for, but we do have an extensive wine list.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 80 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2012

Dinner at this Bistro (at the Litchefield Inn) was excellent. The service was great. I didn't know what to expect for the food but was very pleased with what I had. Will be back.

Thank Tony201089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to write about our lovely restaurant. We're glad you had a good time and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

we at dinner and brunch here. greeter very pleasant, nice ambience. food was good. prices good. wait staff helpful and attentive.

Thank sbdpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2012

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our lovely restaurant. We're glad you had a good time and we hope you'll visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Brought a group of Seniors into the Bantam Bistro for lunch. Had a reservation and had previously made the staff aware of our time constraint due to tickets to a musical at a local area theatre.

We were seated in groups of 4 (one table of 3) and assigned one waitress for our group of 15. One table of 4 received their meal after 30 minutes of waiting, while the other 3 tables continued to wait.......and wait.......and wait. By the time (our table) I received my meal, of a caesar salad with grilled chicken, I had waited over 45 minutes and had approximately 10 minutes to eat (scoff down) my meal. The lettuce was absolutely soaked in dressing and was not topped with shaved parmesan, as stated on the menu. The grilled chicken was aside the salad and was as dry as a hockey puck. YUCK.

It's really a shame because we're always excited about a new restaurant opening in the area. The aesthetics are pleasing, but the meal was not. Unfortunately, I won't be bringing another group here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Foodie1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Hello Foodie1028,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our restaurant. We are sincerely sorry we fell short of your expectations. We take your comments and suggestions very seriously and we will certainly strive to do a better job in the future. We hope you'll give us the opportunity to make improvements and that you'll come in and try us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The food was excellent. The pork chop was prepared very well and it was delicious. The cheesecake dessert was small but packed a bundle of googness. Nothing to dislike here. All the dishes we had were fantastic. And the wait staff well trained.

Thank zlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen W, General Manager at Bantam Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Hello!
Thank you for your review about our restaurant. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience. We do our best to provide this level of service with every customer and we're glad to have achieved it with you. We hope to see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bantam Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing