We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Litchfield Saltwater Grille

Litchfield Saltwater Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
Litchfield Saltwater Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Litchfield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $44
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Saltwater Grille offers upscale seafood and NW Connecticut's best raw bar with steak house concepts. From delicious Oysters Alaska and our famous New England Clam Chowder to our signature Crab Cake and mouthwatering entrees, there are options for everyone. With five dining rooms, a sophisticated bar and lounge with fireplace, and a covered patio, there is a dining experience to suit most desires. Located just off Route 202 below the Litchfield Green, the Saltwater Grille provides an inviting, friendly dining experience. Named in Yankee Magazine's Best of New England 2014 and NY Times reviewed, Saltwater Grille is Litchfield Hills' premier seafood destination.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Very good food; service was prompt and friendly. Very comforting atmosphere and pretty outdoor seating.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyfromLitchfieldCty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
So glad to hear you enjoyed the food, service, and atmosphere! It is our hope to deliver the same excellent service for all your visits at the Saltwater Grille. Thanks for stopping by!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    33
    24
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“New & Improved!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We are seasonal Litchfield residents so a few weeks ago we were returned and decided to try out the Salt Water Grill under new management. The food and service was suburb! The chef is a genius and the service was friendly, prompt and professional. The bar service is top notch also. I highly recommend stopping by.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LupoBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us, and we will continue to strive for the excellence that you've encountered at the Saltwater Grille. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I was so excited to try it!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Five of us dined at the Saltwater Grille last night. We loved the warmth of the décor and truly loved our wonderful wait staff. They were attentive, informative and so delightful. Naturally, we were excited to taste the food as this was the first time we went after the new ownership. Unfortunately, we were not impressed. Of the five of us, only one said their dinner was really good - fish and chips. The rest of us were so disappointed as the food just missed the mark! My chicken dish, which was the special of the night, was so bland that I left most of it. The others complained of over lemon seasoning, undercooking and a serious lack of seasoning on other fish dishes, at really inflated prices, I might add!. The sides for the table were very good, though! We had cauliflower steak and roasted sweet potatoes which were delicious. So, there is hope. We all had dessert, deciding that we really needed to reward ourselves. They were good as well - mousse, key lime, chocolate cake, but again, nothing memorable.
I would love to see this restaurant succeed and I think it could if they changed the menu a bit and reeducated the chef! At those prices, it is important to raise the bar from mediocre to excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy S, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Maria -

Thank you for taking the time to post a well thought out review of our restaurant. Brook and I appreciate the frank feedback! We have already had a conversation with our chef regarding this and will endeavor to provide a better experience the next time you visit. Food quality is a big deal to us and we strive to use great ingredients. When we get this type of feedback, we take is seriously, analyze it, and look for the root cause so we don't repeat it!

We hope to have you try us again sometime.

Best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
1 review
“Food and service were excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I had a terrific meal here the other night. We had the clam chowder which we both thought was very flavorful. Our salmon was cooked to perfection. We did tell the waitress that we like our fish thoroughly cooked. She obviously communicated this to the chef because it was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyStowers, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We're so glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed yourselves so much here, Robin! We were more than happy to cook your salmon to your specifications, and it's great that you were so pleased with the results. Thanks for this wonderful review -- we hope we'll be seeing you again soon!

All the best,
Brook and Andy, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“better than before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

My wife and I thought we'd try the new Saltwater, as we had resigned ourselves never to to return to the previous Saltwater....under last ownership incompetence was widespread. Well the staff was very good--attentive & courteous. However the fare was questionable. It wasn't bad, however.....sweet potato crab cakes with an aioli sauce.......the flavors were too balanced and neutral...neither sweet potato, nor crab, nor roasted pepper aioli flavor stood out. I had swordfish special, covered in a sauce..... didn't taste one bit of fish .....only the smooth sauce. Nice but ehh!
Wife had pan seared scallops with poached Green Apples And Pears, Bacon, Blue Cheese and Drizzled With Apple-Ginger Sauce.....which flavor gets you excited: the apple & pear, or apple & ginger, or is it the Bacon & Blue cheese? or all the above? oh wife loved the rice that accompanied her $29 dish. Will return as we are locals, but we're in no rush.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JandK832013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyStowers, Owner at Litchfield Saltwater Grille, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We're happy to hear you were so much more impressed with the new management, J & K! We do our best to provide excellent service, and we're glad you agree we've been able to do that. We're somewhat disappointed you weren't blown away by your meals, but we're glad to hear you'll be back again -- we know you won't regret it. We've got a feeling you'll be even more impressed next time around!

Thanks again for the review. We hope we'll see you again soon!

All the best,
Brook and Andy, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Litchfield Saltwater Grille also viewed

 

Been to Litchfield Saltwater Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing