We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rude and Food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tollgate Hill Inn and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tollgate Hill Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 2 Litchfield B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rude and Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Extraordinarily rude and unhelpful woman at desk that said she was the daughter of the owner! Room was o.k. and clean. Breakfast was help yourself and not good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iirreell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    7
    21
    17
See reviews for
22
52
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Well, for starters, be careful you don't miss the driveway to get into this place, and be very careful at night as the driveway is not marked at the entrance with lighting, but is at their main sign which sits a little back from the road. Anyway, that's inconsequential but worth mentioning.
We went in October 2011 for just one night, which is one positive for this place as other hotels in the area wanted two nights minimum, but we also chose this place because it has a tavern/restaurant on site and according to their website is open from noon until 8pm. This wasn't the case however as it's only open on certain days, weekends I believe, so that was disappointing considering that you'll have to truck it back to the flavorless cuisines of Litchfield for your dining (that's not fair to say, I bet Litchfield has some great food, but we chose to eat below $$$, which LItchfield is not famous for).
Back to the hotel, no one was at the front desk upon arrival but they did arrive shortly thereafter, and all seemed fine. We got to our room, looked around at the mishmash of furniture and decorations, and tried to come to ease with the odd little place we were staying at. However, after almost settling in for the night, discovered that the plumbing was not doing it's job and contacted the front desk, but no one there again. This time, a phone number left on the desk to call, so placed the call, explained the problem, they requested to validate, I accepted, they validated plumbing did not work, we asked for another room, and then that's where we thought we would have to pee elsewhere for the night. The front desk person couldn't get in touch with the manager who would normally make that decision and as it turned out, no rooms were available. After about 30 minutes of uncertainty, a room did become available and we moved, checking the plumbing first, then noticing the totally different, almost antique, decorations of this room versus the previous. Oh, and the bed changed from Tempur-Pedic to old, hard spring mattress with this new room. We got the feeling that they furnish these rooms with differing items as they can afford them. Oh bother, no biggie.
Finally, time for the free breakfast the next morning. It was actually alright for a continental breakfast, however, there was no one there to restock, the staff was all gone. Fortunately we arrived before all the food may have disappeared.
And double finally, check-out time. Again, no one around, just a sign at the front desk to leave your keys here. Very odd.
Overall impression is that this is a cute place from the outside, and I can see if you have kids that they would really enjoy it, and I can also see that if you went in the summer that it would give you a better lodge/camp experience than in the late season, but for the price we paid, I think next time we will look elsewhere, maybe even one of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SvenskPojken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Litchfield hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
boston, ma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We recently stayed at the Tollgate for 2 weekend nights, as we were attending a wedding nearby. Alicia and the front desk staff were pleasant and accommodating, giving directions, suggesting sights to visit and helping with hair stylist locations. Continental breakfast was fine, with fresh fruit, coffee cakes, cereal and bagel.
We stayed in the old tavern, above the restaurant. Narrow stairways, some general creaking and a lingering smell of smoke are to be expected in a building 265 years old. However, a room with torn wallpaper and ripped sitting chairs does not convey a warm atmosphere. Any guest should expect more.

Room Tip: We saw a room in the main building. Better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
186 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We recently held a corporate event in town. Our crew stayed at the Tollgate Hill Inn and enjoyed the accommodations. They said that their rooms were very nice and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorpPlanner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have stayed at the Tollgate Hill Inn a few times and have enjoyed it every time. It is a very cozy and historic bed and breakfast. The locations is perfectly nestled in the Litchfield hills. A wonderful location for hiking, taking in the fall foliage, antiquing, wine tasting, photography and dining. The inn keeper is very friendly and helpful. The rooms have real fire burning fireplaces. The continental breakfast is good (especially when they have quiche!) and usually has toast, fruit, cereal, coffee, juice and hard boiled eggs. The rooms are comfortable with a bed and breakfast feel. Many rooms have their own balcony, feel very private and I have never had a problem with noise. The times I have eaten at the Tavern have all been delicious. I have no complaints! (I think they negative reviews here were expecting modern/luxury from a historic bed and breakfast, if that's what you want - keep looking)

Room Tip: I enjoy the fireplace suites in the newer building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucinda88420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Where to start? My wife and I took a trip down to CT for a friends wedding and after viewing the Tollgate's website (http://www.tollgatehill.com/) and seeing the pictures (the pictures were almost definitely taken with a fisheye lens to make the rooms look much bigger) of the quaint rooms in historic buildings I was sold. We arrived to a gravel driveway in poor shape, just because the structures are historic doesn't mean the grounds can't be kept in proper shape. I went in to register and was shown to my room by the inn keeper. She was very nice and helpful and showed me to Suite 9 in the school house building. I was a little surprised when the main door into the house didn't close automatically which we were making sure to do entering and exiting, however the other people staying in the same building weren't as diligent which meant there were bugs everywhere in the hallway. The doors are very old in the rooms though they do have updated locks. The room was very dirty unfortunately. I've stayed in various historic inns around the New England area and this was by far the worst room. The price was extremely high for the quality of the room. The shades on the windows were either broken or did not function. The wallpaper was peeling off the wall. The furniture was nearly as old as the building and stained (I felt gross just sitting on them) all over. The bathroom was the worst part. The toilet looks as though it was cracked at some point and basically caulked back together. There were mold stains all over the ceiling and the bathroom was infested with daddy-long legs. Most times the faucet didn't work when the cold water was on, just with hot...and the water was HOT! Another fun point was when the power went out and the giant industrial generator outside of our window was running for 45 minutes around 8pm at night. I did not talk to one person staying on the property that was happy with the inn in any way, shape, or form. The continental breakfast wasn't bad, they offered fruit, toasts and bagels, coffee, and tea. The locations was actually perfect, which is the only redeeming quality of this place...all-in-all i wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Room located in the main building - large and good size for two adults and a child. Wood floors, canopy bed. It was a very dark room. Floor an table lamps only and not enough light. Smoke detector was non-functional and hanging by the wires from the ceiling. Bathroom light bulbs were burned out. TV is quite old (we did not watch it during our stay). Sheets were worn thin and had some tears here and there. Couches were clean looking but smelled like dogs. Large burn in the bar covered by a towel. Bathroom was clean. Expected better quality of furnishings for the price of the room. The entire property seems neglected. I grew up in this area and remember the times when this place was a very fancy inn. Those days seem to have passed.

Room Tip: Look at your room before you commit to staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emeryclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Litchfield
4.2 mi away
Litchfield Inn
Litchfield Inn
#1 of 1 in Litchfield
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Mayflower Grace
The Mayflower Grace
#1 of 1 in Washington
4.5 of 5 stars 203 reviews
15.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol, Connecticut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Yankee Pedlar Inn
Yankee Pedlar Inn
#3 of 4 in Torrington
3.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Torrington
Days Inn Torrington
#1 of 4 in Torrington
3.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
6.1 mi away
Winvian
Winvian
#1 of 1 in Morris
4.5 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tollgate Hill Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tollgate Hill Inn and Restaurant

Property: Tollgate Hill Inn and Restaurant
Address: 571 Torrington Rd, Litchfield, CT 06759-2608
Location: United States > Connecticut > Litchfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Litchfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tollgate Hill Inn and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Countryside Inn housed in building dating from 1745, guest rooms with individual decor; fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Tollgate Hill Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tollgate Hill Inn And Restaurant Hotel Litchfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing