We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Napoleon Crimley” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lonesome Dove Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lonesome Dove Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 2 Lisbon B&B and Inns
West Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Napoleon Crimley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

My Wife and I went there on our valentine’s day, King bed was super comfortable, and we loved it!! Ruth and Leo MacDonald were the perfect Host and the friendliest B and B owners I've ever come across!!! Made us feel at home!! Such a pretty place in the Snow, wonder what winter looks like, we going this summer with our girls!! If you are looking for a quite place to relax, this place is the perfect place to be!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napoleon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penfield, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I had stayed here a few years ago and were very pleased, Therefor, this past July we made reservations for the weekend of the 19th.to attend a family wedding in the area. Then on July 14th my husband had a significant stroke. I called the next day to cancel stating the reason. We were shocked to later have our credit card still charged $300.00+! When I called, Ruth was actually rude, stating "I run a business!" She had 4 days notice and I have no doubt she was not able to fill the room. My husband was hospitalized for a month and is still in physical therapy. I would have placed this review sooner, but my days are very full. Our lives have completely changed, but family and friends have been so supportive. I believe an important part of running a business is having compassion and understanding of others situations. The Lonesome Dove lacks that. As difficult as it is to find lodging in that area, we will never return to the Lonesome Dove.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Lynette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

My Husband and I went there on our 3rd Wedding Anniversary, and We loved it!!
Ruth and Leo MacDonald where the perfect Host!! Made us feel at home!!
Such a pretty place in the fall, wonder what Winter looks like, Might have to make a trip!!

If you are looking for a quite place to relax, this place is PERFECT!!!

Thank you again Ruth and Leo for a GREAT TIME!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NancieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reggio Emilia, Italy
Level Contributor
359 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Small house in the small town of Lisbon, on the edge of the forest. You are staying in a small apartment adjoining to the main house.
The rooms are very comfortable, and bathrooms are complete with anything that might serve.
Spirits, wine and chocolate high quality are free.
The breakfast is excellent, served excellent freshly baked muffins, blueberry or plain pancakes, eggs cooked in various ways.
Surely one of the best breakfasts ever enjoyed in the U.S.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigbang56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Myself, my wife and our two teenage kids, 16 and 13, stayed at the Lonesome Dove on our two weeks holiday to the States. Everything good that has been said before is all absolutely true. I have never stayed anywhere in the world where I have felt so at home so quickly. Ruth and Leo are the nicest people I have ever stayed with. The rooms were fabulous. We had the suite and the kids had the Lily room. Alright, the décor may not be Soho boutique hotel but that’s a good thing. What you get is a slice of real America. The breakfasts are amazing, I fell in love with the French toast and pancakes and I am now in maple syrup rehab! The situation is amazing, beautiful woodland and nearby pond, with resident Heron. There are even wild turkeys roaming about. Nearby Mystic and Stonington are lovely and there are plenty of great places for to visit and eat at. We were genuinely sad at leaving and we will be returning as soon as possible. If you want to see real America, not the Disney version, stay here.

Room Tip: All are great but the suite has a little balcony overlooking the woods and a spa bath. Oh and a mass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ned878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
205 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night en route from New Jersey to Cape Cod. Needed a small detour but worth every minute and anything that gets you off Route 95 can only be good! Once away from the main roads you are immediately immersed in what Connecticut is all about and it really is worth discovering. The 'Lonesome Dove' itself is tucked peacefully away from the road in its own heavily wooded and beautifully maintained grounds where the owners have created a bird watchers paradise. The welcome from the hostess, Ruth, was second to none and she really couldn't have been more pleasant and helpful throughout our short stay. The three guest rooms appear quite adjacent to each other but are very spacious and comfortable with no intrusiveness in terms of noise. The place is steeped in old world charm and if you're desperate for TV in your room then it's not for you. Wifi however is available throughout the property, everything in terms of other facilities - including breakfast - is as it should be and, in our opinion, the only thing that let it down slightly was the lack of adequate curtains. Won't bother everyone, but for us - in late June at least - this meant a room that was very difficult to sleep in from well before five a.m. This aside the 'Lonesome Dove' represents all that is good about quality B&B and we would certainly visit again, possibly during autumn or winter when it must be particularly beautiful, but at the height of summer remember to take an eye mask.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandM29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Shore, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

I just spent 2 nights here...Its so pretty - great hostess and owner Ruth gave much attention to detail..helped a lot with attractions. Its so clean , comfy and accomodating. BIG breakfast I had eggs,bacon,blue berry pancakes juice coffee and of course a helping of fresh fruit and yogurt....You will love this place..close to Mystic, Mohegan sun, Stonington, and New London..lots to do..I will definately come back...I had the suite , big bed soooo comfy , terrace and whirlpool bath....
try it...youll like it......

Room Tip: all 3 rooms are great but for a few dollars more ask for the SUITE, which I described above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spooky728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
3.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Griswold
7.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Uncasville
6.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites- Norwich
6.3 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 5 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonesome Dove Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonesome Dove Bed and Breakfast

Property: Lonesome Dove Bed and Breakfast
Address: 332 S Burnham Hwy, Lisbon, CT 06351-3148
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonesome Dove B&B is located one 3 acres of land with pond and a stream. Birdwatchers Haven, 3 beautiful rooms with private baths and fireplaces. Full country breakfast, and many amenities to make your stay all that you wish for. Lonesome Dove is near Mohegan Sun, Foxwood, Mystic Seaport, great restaurants, shopping and much more. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing