We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing and enchanting stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonecroft Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing and enchanting stay!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at the Stonecroft over Memorial Day weekend. Our room was the delightful Sarah's suite in the barn. It had rustic yet luxurious charm and a private deck, which made it very difficult to leave! The garden was lovely and perfect for a stroll and we found the whole experience to be very romantic and relaxing. Although the Inn was full for the weekend, it felt completely private. Thanks to Jim and Marcie for their hospitality!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear ACHNYC,
Thanks for your wonderful review. We are glad to hear that you found your whole experience here to be romantic and relaxing. That's exactly what we are aiming for here at Stonecroft. Thank you too for mentioning the sense of privacy you found here. Our 6+ acres and spacious rooms allow us to provide that as well. We look forward to seeing you on a future visit.

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    33
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
200
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Wonderful escape from the hustle and bustle of NYC. Jim and Marcie were very gracious hosts, and ensured we were well taken care of. Rooms were large and clean, and the grounds had plenty of outdoor space to relax in, if the crowds in Mystic aren't your thing. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohammed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Mohammed B,
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are glad that you were able to find space to relax while you were here and we look forward to seeing you on a return visit.

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We have stayed at the Stonecroft at least 3 times . EVERY time we have stayed we have enjiyed it more . We again thank the Owners and Innkeepers for a wonderful exprience I cannot tell you how much iI recommend thie place . Great Breakfasts Comfortable rooms and near everything !!! Go you will enjoy it as much as we do , We return because it is a restful weekend getaway .. THANKS TO JIM AND MARCIE !!!!

Room Tip: We have stayed at the Briar Rose . The other 2 rooms upstairs in the Grange . ALL great !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Charles G,
Perhaps the highest compliment you can pay an innkeeper is to be a return guest. You have paid us that compliment at least 3 times now and we are grateful. Thank you! See you next time.

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I just returned from a wonderful 2 night stay, for my 18th anniversary, at the Stonecroft Country Inn. The rooms are beautiful and spacious, the bathroom was huge, the included breakfasts were delicious, and the attentativeness of the staff was uncomparable. Fantastic personal service. We also loved sitting and having drinks on our private balcony (which most rooms had).

The grounds contain both a 200+ year old inn (gorgeous) and the rebuilt barn (on the original foundation). There are gardens to walk through, an outdoor firepit, and so many other great amenities. This is a great place for a group gathering, wedding, etc.

Overall a beautiful, quiet slice of solitude in Connecticut.

I would recommend this location to everyone.

- Sean & Suzanne, Little Silver, NJ

Room Tip: Less traffic in upstairs suites. The Barn features "new" rooms and amenities while the Ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Sean P,
It was a delight to have you stay with us for your 18th anniversary. Thank you for your superlative remarks regarding our service and attentiveness. We are truly grateful so many of our guests recognize and appreciate our efforts. Thanks for your review.

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Loved the inn! 1 night stay at the Briar Rose Room & it was absolutely lovely! The decor was very tastefully done, everything was spotless clean, the bathroom was huge (liked the jacuzzi very much!). The Inn surroundings were very tranquil and beautiful.
The hosts were extremely friendly. Personal greeting by both inn keepers. The dining room is beautiful and enjoyed a nice freshly made breakfast in the am (also personally served by the innkeeper).
The a/c wasn't working too well, room temp stayed at 80 degrees despite the a/c being turned on as soon as we checked in at around 3pm... but we didnt mind it too much (after this brutally cold winter, it was nothing we couldn't put up with - we didn't even bring it to the inn keepers attention).
I would definately return again for a longer stay.

Room Tip: Briar Rose was lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Diana D,
Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you enjoyed the Briar Rose, but apologize for the lack of a/c in your room. Next time you stay with us please let us know if the a/c isn't working properly, so we can fix it and make it right. We don't want anyone to roast (or freeze) while staying with us. :).
We look forward to your next visit with us.

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My girlfriends surprised me with a stay at this inn over the weekend for my bachelorette party and we rented out the whole guest house to stay in after a night on the town. It was a very unique place and very comfortable. The beds were huge and the bedding was luxurious. The best part was making coffee in the morning and sitting out on the stone patio in our robes. The grounds were gorgeous and the breakfast was delicious as well. Stay here if you're looking for somewhere relaxing. :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 309emilyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Emily B,
Thanks for your kind review. It was a pleasure hosting you and your girlfriends in our 1807 House. The four rooms in the 1807 House can comfortably accomodate up to 10 people and is perfect for girl getaway weekends or other groups. We are glad that you discovered the early morning coffee and the private stone patio at the 1807 House. Best wishes with your upcoming wedding!

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had a great time, the innkeepers were *so* friendly & hospitable, they made a great breakfast for us every day whenever we wanted to come down. We stayed in the Shubel room with hot tub and fireplace. We'd give 6 stars if we could. Nice location, about 10 minutes from Mystic, 15 minutes from casinos.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Joseph C,
Wow! 6 stars?! Really? What can we say? Thanks for your wonderful review. We are so happy we could make your stay with us pleasant and comfortable. To read your comments makes us think that we made a good choice in coming to Connecticut and choosing Stonecroft Country Inn. Together, with all our staff, we thank you!

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledyard
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
4.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
770 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
1,404 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Mystic
Hyatt Place Mystic
#3 of 13 in Mystic
1,024 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
Hyatt Place Mohegan Sun
#2 of 4 in Uncasville
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Inn

Property: Stonecroft Country Inn
Address: 515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339-1637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country elegance for the discriminating traveler. Located less than 5 miles from Mystic and the Casinos, Stonecroft Country Inn, an 1807 sea captain's country estate, consists of a sunny Georgian colonial and more recently renovated Yellow Barn. The 1807 House has four common rooms, six fireplaces, and four historic guest rooms with private baths, three with fireplaces. The Yellow Barn offers six luxury guest suites with gas fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Voted Best of New England 2012 by the Editors of Yankee Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stonecroft Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Hotel Ledyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing