We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stonecroft Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
vermont
1 review
“So wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

What a beautiful inn! Innkeeper, Joan Egy, was warm and welcoming, and she did everything possible to make sure our stay was comfortable and relaxing. Our room was luxurious yet understated. The grounds are perfect for an early morning or late afternoon stroll... there's even a hammock! We felt like we were staying with family (if our families made no demands on us!). Stonecroft is perfect for a quick getaway or a longer vacation. It's located near a wide variety of attractions and activities: casinos, Olde Mystic Village, Mystic Aquarium and Seaport, etc. etc. etc.

  • Liked — The comfort and coziness of our room.
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay forever!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wdotm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    33
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
199
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2008

We have stayed at many inns across the country and we have never been so disappointed, given the hype and cost of this place. First, the room....Yes, it was clean, and there was a jacuzzi and gas fireplace, but the overall feel was sterile and generic. No charm or uniquenss in the expensive rooms in the Grange. In fact, we requested to stay in the less expensive and more charming rooms in the main house, but were told there were no vacancies, only to find out after we arrived that those rooms were empty for the weekend. Second, Joan was hardly the warm, solicitious and accommodating innkeeper one expects in an inn, especially for a member inn of Selected Registry Inns. This lack of helpfulness or courtesy started when she never returned calls when we first tried to book the room. Upon arrival we inquired about early morning coffee and a news paper and were basically told where to drive to get them. Breakfast, although tasty, was less than sumptuous (cornbread was the main course). Finally, Joan was nice enough to mail us a sweater we left in the room, but she charged us $15 even though the postage was only $2.32. After paying $275 (before taxes) for our room, you think she would have been gracious enough, just to have mailed it to us at no charge. Overall, given what we got, the room was probably twice what we should have payed--it felt more like a large motel room with an indifferent motel manager. We strongly advise against staying at this inn.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren6232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonecroftcountryinn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2011
The Crandall family took over Stonecroft Inn in November of 2008 - but my response to this reviewer is we have heard nothing but the most impressive feedback from all of the previous owner's guests - that have now become our regular guests, and friends. So come back and give Stonecroft another try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2007

My wife and I chanced across this absolutely wonderful place which is about a 5-10 minute drive from Mystic. We have stayed at many "Inns" throughout the USA and this is without doubt one of the finest. The whole ambience of the place, including the setting, is truly outstanding. We stayed in a room called the "Buttery" which was amongst the smallest/cheapest of the 10 or so rooms, located in the main house. The common rooms are wonderfully furnished with probably the biggest fireplace I have ever seen in the main room. The Innkeeper (Joan) was a real delight and made us feel very welcome. Although we were the only people there at this time of the year the place was kept in the utmost condition and I got the impession that this would have also been the case had all the rooms been full. Breakfast was exquisite. Attention to detail at Stonecroft is really quite special. We would highly recommend Stonecroft and will definitely stay there again at some point in the future. If you are visiting Mystic, ignore the hotels/motels along the main drag. There's nothing wrong with them, but you won't find anything to match Stonecroft, in my opinion.

  • Liked — Attention to detail
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruce54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2007

Upon arriving, we entered the Grange to check in, but there was no one there to greet us. We had to go search the staff out. It felt funny to have to do that and I felt like I was bothering the woman. (I later learned that this woman was not the inn keeper.) There were brochures around, but we weren't offered any personal assistance for making plans. Once settled, the rooms were large and the beds were fluffy. The fireplace was a nice touch and could be set on a timer. The bathroom was exceptionally large and had a jacuzzi tub. Everything was very clean. It was a nice touch that you didn't have to leave the inn to have dinner or breakfast, so if you just wanted to relax all weekend- you easily could...and we did. The restaurant was well-staffed and the food was outstanding. On our last day there, we met the inn keeper, who'd been out sick, so I don't want to be too hard on her. She seemed lovely and I'm sure things would have been different if she had been there herself. We'd go there again.

  • Liked — Clean and quiet
  • Disliked — No personal touches
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LexiLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2007

My wife and I just spent two nights at the Stonecroft Inn. We have been to many bed and breakfasts over the years, but this one has to rank near the top. The room we stayed in was called the Shumel, which is part of an addition to the inn called the Grange. When we arrived, Joan, the innkeeper, escorted us to our room. When we entered, the lights were down low and the gas fireplace was warming up the room. The king-size bed sleigh bed was majestic and the entire atmosphere was wonderful. The huge bathroom contained two vanities, a bidet, two-person jacuzzi, a massive walk-in shower, and towel warmer.
The breakfasts were simply elegant. Dinner in the restaurant was outstanding. We both ordered the seared tuna, and I can unequivacally say that it was the finest tuna steak I've ever had. Joan, the innkeeper, is a charm. She allowed us to tour the other rooms in the grange, and then in the main inn. All the rooms are so tastfully done. There is a different ambiance to each one. We will definitely be returning and, hopefully, within the very near future. BRAVO, Joan!!!

  • Liked — The room and the restaurant.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjk007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southington ct
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2007

Just got back from a Valentine's stay at the Stonecroft. We really enjoyed our stay. Very clean and comfortable stay in the Stonecroft room upstairs. This room may be difficult to access if you have trouble with narrow & relatively steep stairs. Otherwise, just a big fireplaced room with a large bath and king sized canopy bed. Breakfast was delicious. The restaurant on the premises was top shelf, one of the best we experienced at reasonable prices ($130 for 2 tip included). If going in winter like we did, bring rubber based shoes, since the Innkeeper does not take care of the ice on the sidewalks or parking area (only major problem we saw) at all. Also, there is no drive-up to unload luggage. Otherwise, with just those situations mentioned, the place is well worth a visit and the trip. We will stay again when visiting the casino's. Very comfy cozy in the evening. Close to the attractions. Glenn & Jane.

  • Liked — Very clean and original captains home, great food, and cozy Inn.
  • Disliked — Walk ways were not shoveled or kept up when the ice storm hit
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennklocko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2005

Just returned from Stonecroft, and what a wonderful spot. Rooms are clean and unique, and surroundings are just beautiful.

Had dinner at the Grange, and food was outstanding. This is a real find, and one we will return to -- hopefully many times.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvan-studio5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledyard
3.8 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
4.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
7.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,455 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Inn

Property: Stonecroft Country Inn
Address: 515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339-1637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country elegance for the discriminating traveler. Located less than 5 miles from Mystic and the Casinos, Stonecroft Country Inn, an 1807 sea captain's country estate, consists of a sunny Georgian colonial and more recently renovated Yellow Barn. The 1807 House has four common rooms, six fireplaces, and four historic guest rooms with private baths, three with fireplaces. The Yellow Barn offers six luxury guest suites with gas fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Voted Best of New England 2012 by the Editors of Yankee Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stonecroft Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Hotel Ledyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing