We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stonecroft Country Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Ledyard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Beautiful B&B. Very quaint and very close to Mystic which has great restaurants and shopping. The Inn keepers were very warm and friendly and the breakfast was very good! The dinning room is gorgeous (old stone, fireplace). Would highly recommend. We were there in the winter and ground was snow covered so didn't get to see the landscape much but the setting is very nice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Angie B,
Thank you for your positive review and for "highly" recommending our inn. We are glad that you enjoyed breakfast in our dining room with its stone walls and large fireplace. You certainly should come back and stay with us in warmer weather when you can enjoy the outside space and gardens as well. Hope to see you again soon.

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    33
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
25
200
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tolland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

New inn keepers since last time but you would think they've been running it for years. Everything was great and was a perfect pre-valentines getaway. We had stayed at Stonecroft a few times before and even held our wedding there 2 summers ago! We highly recommend for a smaller group.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TMandTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear TMandTM,
Thank you for your review and paying us such a nice compliment. It is encouraging to hear that we give the impression that we have been running the inn for years. Thank you as well for recommending our property as a wedding venue. We can easily accomodate small weddings in our dining room and larger tented-weddings on the grounds.
We are glad that as return guests you found Stonecroft to be "excellent - as always!"

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, CT
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Overall, this is a fantastic B&B. The room we stayed in was great, and the bathroom was bigger than most NYC studio apartments. We stayed in the grange building, and the gas fireplace pumped out tons of heat, almost too much. But on a cold winter night, it was welcome. Our room had a huge jacuzzi tub as well. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of that, but it looked like it would be a great place to relax.

Location wise, Foxwoods, Mohegan Sun, and Mystic are all very close by, yet the location of the Inn makes you feel like your in the middle of the wilderness. It's a great retreat.

Tim and Marcy are very gracious hosts, they were welcoming when we checked in, and breakfast was fantastic in the morning.

So why the comment about value? Well, I don't think the room is worth the rate they are charging. The room we stayed in had a rate of $269 for a Saturday night, from having stayed at other B&Bs in the greater Mystic area, this was certainly nicer, but not $269 nice. Value wise, I'd say it was about a $199-$229 type of room. But, if the place sells out, I guess rates can be set however Tim and Marcy choose.

So overall, great place, just be aware that there may be a better value elsewhere in the area. If you choose to stay here, you'll be in for a fantastic, relaxing stay with 2 very gracious hosts.

Room Tip: I have limited experience, but I would assume that there isn't bad room in this place.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have signs everywhere about re-using towels (as most hotels do these days), which is great, but the signs themselves are cheap plastic and look like they've been around for 15 yrs. They need replacement with something a little more fitting to the uniqueness of the property.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dsr1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear dsr1122,
Thank you for your thoughtful review of our inn and for highlighting some of our amenities, including our large bathrooms, jacuzzi tubs, gas fireplaces and our great location. We are glad that you found Stonecroft to be a "fantastic, relaxing stay."
Regarding your question of "value," we wanted to add that the $269. you paid was inclusive of CT lodging tax and that the base room rate is $235, which is much closer to the value you placed on the room. Thanks again for your feedback and such a positive review.

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited the Mystic area and stayed at Stonecroft for our 20th anniversary. It was a very relaxing visit for us. It's just far enough out to be quiet and feel you are out in the country (you are), yet close to all the area attractions and fine restaurants. We stayed in one of the Grange Suites which was a huge but cozy room with fireplace and two person jacuzzi. The bathroom alone was larger than most inns guest rooms. The innkeepers, Jim and Marcie, went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and offered suggestions of where to dine and what to see. I would definitely recommend this inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyinmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastport New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for a weekend at Stonecroft Inn again in November and had a wonderful and relaxing time . near to great restaurants and other major attraction it is wonderful .. Jim and Marcie do a wonderful job in making guests feel welcome and relaxed . We will be back

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Jim and Marcie met us as we arrived and were very hospitable. We stayed in the 1807 house, it was well decorated. The grounds are large and beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skycapper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We decided on the Stonecroft Inn to celebrate our one year anniversary. We stayed in the Nor Easter room. Everything about Stonecroft exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, comfortable, and cozy. The bathroom was HUGE and the heated towel rack and jacuzzi tub were amazing. Our doors opened up on to the "shared porch," but the Nor Easter is the only room on that side of the building, so we had plenty of privacy. The grounds are beautiful and perfect for a mid-afternoon stroll. After dinner in Old Mystic (Captain Daniel Packer Inne-also wonderful!), Jim was nice enough to start a fire for us outside so we could finish off our bottle of wine. Jim and Marcie were gracious, friendly, and unobtrusive hosts-everything you want in a b&b. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Erin,
We are so glad that Stonecroft "exceeded your expectations." Thanks for telling everyone how great the Nor'easter room is with its "HUGE" bathroom. The outside fire in the fire pit is always a big hit with our guests. Thanks for mentioning it. Glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledyard
3.8 mi away
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
The Fox Tower at Foxwoods
#1 of 4 in Mashantucket
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Preston Casino Area
4.7 mi away
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
Bellissimo Grande Hotel
#1 of 5 in North Stonington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mystic
7.2 mi away
Mohegan Sun
Mohegan Sun
#1 of 4 in Uncasville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
5.2 mi away
Inn at Mystic
Inn at Mystic
#4 of 13 in Mystic
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecroft Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecroft Country Inn

Property: Stonecroft Country Inn
Address: 515 Pumpkin Hill Rd, Ledyard, CT 06339-1637
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Connecticut > Mystic Country > Ledyard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ledyard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet country elegance for the discriminating traveler. Located less than 5 miles from Mystic and the Casinos, Stonecroft Country Inn, an 1807 sea captain's country estate, consists of a sunny Georgian colonial and more recently renovated Yellow Barn. The 1807 House has four common rooms, six fireplaces, and four historic guest rooms with private baths, three with fireplaces. The Yellow Barn offers six luxury guest suites with gas fireplaces and whirlpool tubs. Voted Best of New England 2012 by the Editors of Yankee Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stonecroft Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecroft Country Hotel Ledyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing