We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stonecroft Country Inn
Nearby Hotels
Abbey's Lantern Hill Inn(Ledyard)(Great Value!)
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Mystic Groton(Mystic)(Great Value!)
$179
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Pequot Tower(Mashantucket)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Two Trees Inn(Mashantucket)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
254
35
9
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
254
35
9
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was deliciousgas fireplacedowntown mysticorchard roomhuge bathroomfresh fruitnew ownersgracious hostsfrench doorswhirlpool tubwonderful staythe location is perfectromantic getawaybed and breakfastthe main houseeach morningquick drive
Filter
Updating list...
199 - 204 of 304 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

New inn keepers since last time but you would think they've been running it for years. Everything was great and was a perfect pre-valentines getaway. We had stayed at Stonecroft a few times before and even held our wedding there 2 summers ago! We highly recommend for a smaller group.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank TMandTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear TMandTM,
Thank you for your review and paying us such a nice compliment. It is encouraging to hear that we give the impression that we have been running the inn for years. Thank you as well for recommending our property as a wedding venue. We can easily accomodate small weddings in our dining room and larger tented-weddings on the grounds.
We are glad that as return guests you found Stonecroft to be "excellent - as always!"

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Overall, this is a fantastic B&B. The room we stayed in was great, and the bathroom was bigger than most NYC studio apartments. We stayed in the grange building, and the gas fireplace pumped out tons of heat, almost too much. But on a cold winter night, it was welcome. Our room had a huge jacuzzi tub as well. We didn't get a chance to take advantage of that, but it looked like it would be a great place to relax.

Location wise, Foxwoods, Mohegan Sun, and Mystic are all very close by, yet the location of the Inn makes you feel like your in the middle of the wilderness. It's a great retreat.

Tim and Marcy are very gracious hosts, they were welcoming when we checked in, and breakfast was fantastic in the morning.

So why the comment about value? Well, I don't think the room is worth the rate they are charging. The room we stayed in had a rate of $269 for a Saturday night, from having stayed at other B&Bs in the greater Mystic area, this was certainly nicer, but not $269 nice. Value wise, I'd say it was about a $199-$229 type of room. But, if the place sells out, I guess rates can be set however Tim and Marcy choose.

So overall, great place, just be aware that there may be a better value elsewhere in the area. If you choose to stay here, you'll be in for a fantastic, relaxing stay with 2 very gracious hosts.

Room Tip: I have limited experience, but I would assume that there isn't bad room in this place.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsr1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear dsr1122,
Thank you for your thoughtful review of our inn and for highlighting some of our amenities, including our large bathrooms, jacuzzi tubs, gas fireplaces and our great location. We are glad that you found Stonecroft to be a "fantastic, relaxing stay."
Regarding your question of "value," we wanted to add that the $269. you paid was inclusive of CT lodging tax and that the base room rate is $235, which is much closer to the value you placed on the room. Thanks again for your feedback and such a positive review.

Your Innkeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We visited the Mystic area and stayed at Stonecroft for our 20th anniversary. It was a very relaxing visit for us. It's just far enough out to be quiet and feel you are out in the country (you are), yet close to all the area attractions and fine restaurants. We stayed in one of the Grange Suites which was a huge but cozy room with fireplace and two person jacuzzi. The bathroom alone was larger than most inns guest rooms. The innkeepers, Jim and Marcie, went out of their way to make us feel welcomed and offered suggestions of where to dine and what to see. I would definitely recommend this inn.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyinmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed for a weekend at Stonecroft Inn again in November and had a wonderful and relaxing time . near to great restaurants and other major attraction it is wonderful .. Jim and Marcie do a wonderful job in making guests feel welcome and relaxed . We will be back

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Jim and Marcie met us as we arrived and were very hospitable. We stayed in the 1807 house, it was well decorated. The grounds are large and beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skycapper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews