We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
337 results
Traveler rating
285
35
9
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
285
35
9
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast was delicious mystic area wonderful stay huge bathroom gracious hosts orchard room the main house the location is perfect romantic getaway quick drive new owners sitting area jacuzzi tub each morning comfy bed the barn soft music
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 337 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Jim and Marcie met us as we arrived and were very hospitable. We stayed in the 1807 house, it was well decorated. The grounds are large and beautiful. Breakfast was delicious. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skycapper13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We decided on the Stonecroft Inn to celebrate our one year anniversary. We stayed in the Nor Easter room. Everything about Stonecroft exceeded our expectations. The room was spacious, comfortable, and cozy. The bathroom was HUGE and the heated towel rack and jacuzzi tub were amazing. Our doors opened up on to the "shared porch," but the Nor Easter is the only room on that side of the building, so we had plenty of privacy. The grounds are beautiful and perfect for a mid-afternoon stroll. After dinner in Old Mystic (Captain Daniel Packer Inne-also wonderful!), Jim was nice enough to start a fire for us outside so we could finish off our bottle of wine. Jim and Marcie were gracious, friendly, and unobtrusive hosts-everything you want in a b&b. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Erin,
We are so glad that Stonecroft "exceeded your expectations." Thanks for telling everyone how great the Nor'easter room is with its "HUGE" bathroom. The outside fire in the fire pit is always a big hit with our guests. Thanks for mentioning it. Glad you enjoyed it! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This quiet B&B offers a tranquil setting but does not fall short on a hearty breakfast. A summer morning offered the opportunity to eat out on the veranda. It was affordable and comfortable. We opted to stay in the charming house with a feel for the past and by gone days. The clean room and pleasant atmosphere makes for an easy decision to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear roadrest,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience here at Stonecroft. Regardless of where people stay here at Stonecroft, we always encourage them to visit the common areas in the 1807 house and explore its charm and history. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay there and the first with Jim and Marcie as the hosts. They are a friendly team. The rooms were as we remember them. We stayed again in the Shubel suite which has a huge comfortable bed and a gorgeous open bathroom. This is a very quiet setting set far back from a country road.

This does not appear to be a place for kids, although the rooms did have a DVD that took movies. I suspect sounds will travel in a place made mostly of wood. Plus,There were almost no television stations, so bring a good book. There are some nice outdoor spots to read.

Our only gripe was the limited selection at breakfast. Only one hot item was offered. We are not sure what would have happened if we said no to the one item or if we had a dietary restriction. But the meal was delicious if you like the item offered.

We missed the bar that Stonecroft used to have. There is a package store nearby. It is the sort of place you might quietly sip wine outdoors. Our room did not have a refrigerator for keeping anything cool.

So this is a quiet and restful spot in a great part of Connecticut. You can get all the excitement you want at the two fabulous casinos nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Peter S,
Thank you for such a thorough review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Shubel suite with its extra large bath and huge comfortable bed. Thanks too for mentioning how quiet it is here, as we are set far back from the road. Like most inns, we offer one hot entree for breakfast, but our kitchen will always do whatever is possible to accomodate dietary restrictions as well as personal preferences. We have considerd in-room refrigerators, but opted for one common frig in the hallway, so as not to disturb people's sleep. Thanks again for a great review!
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Stonecroft Inn was absolutely wonderful. Jim and Marcy really know how to run an Inn. We'll definitely return there ASAP. It was so quiet and restful and the breakfasts were great too. The Inn was also in a very rural area, all you can hear at night was the sound of crickets and other " night life"

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were really nice and well appointed. I really don't think anyone could be disappointed with any room you choose.The bathroom was so large it was as big as a bedroom ( almost) The whirlpool bath was really nice also. Very relaxing to just sit there and relax!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Robert G,
Thank you for your very kind and complimentary review. Our 6+ acres provide a quiet and restful setting with plenty of wildlife to watch and listen to. You would never guess you were so close to downtown Mystic or the casinos. We look forward to seeing you when you return "ASAP."
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews