We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveler rating
274
35
9
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
274
35
9
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was deliciousmystic areawonderful stayhuge bathroomgracious hostsorchard roomthe main housethe location is perfectromantic getawayquick drivenew ownerssitting areajacuzzi tubeach morningcomfy bedthe barnsoft music
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 325 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This quiet B&B offers a tranquil setting but does not fall short on a hearty breakfast. A summer morning offered the opportunity to eat out on the veranda. It was affordable and comfortable. We opted to stay in the charming house with a feel for the past and by gone days. The clean room and pleasant atmosphere makes for an easy decision to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear roadrest,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience here at Stonecroft. Regardless of where people stay here at Stonecroft, we always encourage them to visit the common areas in the 1807 house and explore its charm and history. We look forward to greeting you on your next visit.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

This was our second stay there and the first with Jim and Marcie as the hosts. They are a friendly team. The rooms were as we remember them. We stayed again in the Shubel suite which has a huge comfortable bed and a gorgeous open bathroom. This is a very quiet setting set far back from a country road.

This does not appear to be a place for kids, although the rooms did have a DVD that took movies. I suspect sounds will travel in a place made mostly of wood. Plus,There were almost no television stations, so bring a good book. There are some nice outdoor spots to read.

Our only gripe was the limited selection at breakfast. Only one hot item was offered. We are not sure what would have happened if we said no to the one item or if we had a dietary restriction. But the meal was delicious if you like the item offered.

We missed the bar that Stonecroft used to have. There is a package store nearby. It is the sort of place you might quietly sip wine outdoors. Our room did not have a refrigerator for keeping anything cool.

So this is a quiet and restful spot in a great part of Connecticut. You can get all the excitement you want at the two fabulous casinos nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Peter S,
Thank you for such a thorough review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the Shubel suite with its extra large bath and huge comfortable bed. Thanks too for mentioning how quiet it is here, as we are set far back from the road. Like most inns, we offer one hot entree for breakfast, but our kitchen will always do whatever is possible to accomodate dietary restrictions as well as personal preferences. We have considerd in-room refrigerators, but opted for one common frig in the hallway, so as not to disturb people's sleep. Thanks again for a great review!
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Stonecroft Inn was absolutely wonderful. Jim and Marcy really know how to run an Inn. We'll definitely return there ASAP. It was so quiet and restful and the breakfasts were great too. The Inn was also in a very rural area, all you can hear at night was the sound of crickets and other " night life"

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were really nice and well appointed. I really don't think anyone could be disappointed with any room you choose.The bathroom was so large it was as big as a bedroom ( almost) The whirlpool bath was really nice also. Very relaxing to just sit there and relax!!!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Robert G,
Thank you for your very kind and complimentary review. Our 6+ acres provide a quiet and restful setting with plenty of wildlife to watch and listen to. You would never guess you were so close to downtown Mystic or the casinos. We look forward to seeing you when you return "ASAP."
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Looking for a B&B close to the casinos? Close to Mystic? Close to many lovely seaside towns and wonderful dining? A place with beautiful rooms, savory breakfasts and the the most attentive innkeepers you'll meet anywhere. You've found it! We stayed for 5 nights in mid-August in Lily. Our room was immaculate, the in-room coffee was a welcome touch and the whirlpool tub so nice after a day of shopping, antiquing or visiting the nearby villages. The French doors lead to a lovely deck perfect for that first morning cup of coffee or an afternoon glass of wine. Though Jim and Marcie say they are new at this, they act as if they are seasoned pros. They have a wealth of knowledge about the area. Ask them for dining recommendations and then go there! So enjoy the hustle bustle of the surrounding areas but when "the shadows grow long" return home to Stonecroft.

Room Tip: Rooms in the "barn" are large and there's no need to go outside to get to breakfast.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoVeinncentralNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Central, NY,
Thanks for a wonderfully written review. We couldn't have said it any better if we had written it ourselves. Glad you enjoyed both the "hustle bustle" and the "serenity" to the fullest.
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here in February for our 5th anniversary. So close to the casinos and to town. Our room was beautiful and so romantic. This was our first time staying at a B & B and I would recommend to anyone who is looking for a nice, clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anista08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecroftCountryInn, Owner at Stonecroft Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Anista08,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Stonecroft. "Clean, comfortable and romantic" are the words we love to hear from our guests. Thanks for your great review!
Your InnKeepers,
Jim & Marcie Townsend

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews